Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cosy, modern get away for the business traveller

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Funky decor and character
Location: Dinner on Florida
Convenient, fair rates and ambience .needed a quick get away close enough for a 7h30 meeting in central Durban
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Zac from Arlington, VA

Excellent Place to Stay

Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed at The Concierge for four nights in early July 2014. I had a wonderful experience! My room was extremely clean, the staff bent over backwards to make sure I got to do all the things I wanted to do around town, and they picked me up from and dropped me off at the airport. On two occasions they even ordered me pizza because the restaurant was closed and I didn't want to be out by myself after dark (I was traveling alone). The breakfast was very, very good as well. The Concierge sits back off of a main road, so it was sometimes difficult for taxis to find, but that was really the only difficulty (if you can even call it that) during my stay. I would gladly recommend this hotel to friends and family if they were going to Durban.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gary

A Nice Alternative

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Interesting room design with a very nice shower and dependable internet. The staff are uniform ally nice. The breakfast, while having limited choices, is of quality with all four of the set breakfasts are quite good.
3 out of 5
by T.O.Adventurer from Toronto, Canada

Overhyped

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Pros: Freedom Cafe for an excellent breakfast and the rainforest shower
Cons: Soundproofing for the rooms. Staff with more local knowledge.
Location: Located on a little side street. About a 10 minute walk to Florida Road and a good choice of restaurants. You'll need a car or taxi to go elsewhere.
Heard glowing reviews about the Concierge but found they need to focus more on basic hotel details and less effort on trying to be hip and trendy. The rooms are organized in pods and you can hear everything going on in the rooms of your pod, so not good if you have noisy neighbours. If your room faces the courtyard, you hear everyone coming and going in the shared parking lot. Although almost all locations in SA have security fencing, for some reason, this loud, chain-link fence felt more confining than others. The room itself was comfortable with interesting design and the rainforest shower was great, although the open concept bathroom could be problematic to some. The inroom safe didn't work (not a huge deal but annoying). The night staff didn't seem very knowledgeable about the area and he had no idea about how long it would take/cost to get to the airport. I ended up finding a car service that was faster&cheaper than the taxi option. He seemed surprised this service existed---odd for someone working in the hospitality industry. All in all, it was an ok stay but didn't live up to the hype and I would investigate other options in Durban.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it!

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Cool cimfortable rooms rooms, loved the shower, great people, amazing breakfast served until 4pm...yes 4PM!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shaul from USA

A must stay hotel in Durban!!!

Posted Jul 26, 2013
Pros: Everything!
Stayed at the hotel instead of being at the convention hotel and was thrilled with the decision. Probably the best food you'll eat in Durban, nicest staff you'll meet in Durban, and the cutest rooms you've stayed at in general. FANTASTIC!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JMM from NJ

Hip, relaxing, boutique hotel escape

Posted Apr 3, 2013
Pros: Felt like home, relaxing, cool, comfortable.
Location: Off the beaten path, close to some restaurants, a taxi ride away from central Durban
This is a lovely, hip, boutique hotel down a tiny road that feels private and personal. If you want a full business service hotel, this is not the place for you. But if you want to relax in a lovely room and feel the rest of the world melt away, it's perfect. Rooms are spacious and well-appointed with lovely "rainfall" showers and some tubs. The snacks tray reminded me of the W hotels - lots of great snacks and curio items for purchase. Meals are served in a tiny, sun-filled restaurant planted in the middle of the courtyard. Food is tasty and straightforward. And they make great lattes - always good to find. You are just down the road from Florida street, which has a restaurant row. If you want to explore more of the city, you'll definitely need a taxi or car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

boutique hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2013
Pros: the interior design
Cons: the waitrons at breakfast were slow, but the food was great
Location: perfect for a night life
The rooms are gorgeous, the location is perfect and I would definately come back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Refreshingly unique

Posted Jan 11, 2013
A perfect stay. Tasteful and very unique rooms. The verandah was beautiful and the waterfall showers were very refreshing. The included breakfast is the best in Durbs, and it is only 5-10 minute walk to the "nightlife" along Florida Rd. Excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New York

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2010
This hotel is great. I stayed here during the world cup, and enjoyed it a lot. It is very small, and does not really look like a hotel, (it probably used to be someones house). But my room was ample and with very stylish decoration. The service was amazing. Its quite romantic, perfect for couples. My only complaint is that the bathroom is separated from the bedroom with a curtain which can make it a little uncomfortable.