Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by HANK from BOCA RATON, FLORIDA

HISTORIC DOWNTOWN HOTEL THAT IS A GREAT VALUE.

Posted Sep 5, 2013
Cons: THE LIGHTING IN THE ROOMS WAS A LITTLE DIM BUT WORKABLE.
THIS IS AN OLDER 150 YEAR OLD HOTEL THAT IS IN THE MIDDLE OF DOWNTOWN DURBAN. IT IS A WONDERFUL VALUE FOR THE MONEY. A LOT OF TOURISTS SEEM TO STAY IN THE NORTHERN SUBURBS OF DURBAN HOWEVER THEY ARE MISSING OUT ON THE VALUE OF THIS HOTEL BY STAYING DOWNTOWN. IT HAS A PARKING GARAGE ATTACHED BY A COVERED WALKWAY AT A COST OF AROUND 3.50 US DOLLARS A NIGHT. BREAKFAST IS SERVED IN THE HISTORIC DINING ROOM WHERE QUEEN ELIZABETH DINED IN 1999 OR 1999 AND THE BUFFET WAS EXCELLENT ( AND INCLUDED WITH THE ROOM RATE WE GOT). THE ROOMS ARE CLEAN AND HAVE EVERYTHING YOU COULD WANT INCLUDING FREE INTERNET. IT IS RIGHT ACROSS THE STREET FROM CITY HALL AND THE DOWNTOWN SHOPPING AREAS ARE ON THE SAME STREET AS THE HOTEL. UNLESS YOU WANT TO BE ON THE BEACH DON'T OVERLOOK THIS HOTEL
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mr n Mrs Moss from Bolton, UK

Royal Hotel is still a Quality Choice

Posted May 5, 2013
Pros: Style, price, room and food quality and service
Cons: Pool.
Location: Central
The Hotel suited our needs very well. We stayed for 9 nights B n B using the central location to visit all the tourist spots holidaymakers like us need. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves in Durban and the Hotel was, in the main excellent for us. Room 10/10 Like most areas in Central Durban times have changed and with it the tourist hot spots. The hotel has had to change it's vocation in order to compete with the other hotels in the area. We paid £300 for 2 people for 9 nights and with the amount and quality of the food at breakfast we didn't need a midday meal. Food: 10/10. On a few occasions we wanted to use the Pool and unfortunately this was being refurbed. We did finally use the pool and saw that some parts of this area were below acceptable standards. Maybe the Leisure facilities are low on the priority list. Pool: 6/10. Staff and Customer service: 10/10. The Hotel has charm, history and unquestionable style. The Queen stayed there for 2 weeks in 1999, but the country, city and Hotel have changed. It's likely the Queen wouldn't stay there now
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Colin from Johannesburg, South Africa

Best for the Business Traveller

Posted Feb 2, 2013
Pros: The Royal Grill famous in its day
Cons: it was so quite
Location: see hotel experience
The last time I stayed here was in 1979 and it had a real vibe in those days but now it is a bit jaded and quite it is best for the business traveller due to its location not good for the beach junkie but food is excellent and value wise an all round good experience
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

DO NOT STAY HERE, NO USABLE INTERNET SERVICE.

Posted Sep 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
The Internet service was virtually unbearable. My room would connect with 3-4 bars, but drop the connection about every 3-5 minutes, with uploads speeds EXTREMELY SLOW. 2 of my friends in other rooms on different floors experienced the same for 4 days. I spoke to the front desk 3 times, and they finally admitted that Internet service was very poor in the rooms, and suggested I try the lounge adjacent to the front desk. I did, and the Internet would drop off every few minutes the same as in the rooms. I don't believe there was any real concern about this quality of Internet service. The front desk told my friend in another room that they called the service people in Johan., but the service did not improve our entire stay of 4 days. I tried 2 different computers, always cutting out every few minutes and only download at aprox 50-10kbps. This quality of Internet service, or complete lack of, makes doing any business or email on the Internet completely impossible. I would NEVER stay at this hotel again due to this one detail of which no attention was given to resolve. Completely unacceptable in the modern business world. You have been warned!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Dublin, Ireland

Be aware!

Posted Nov 20, 2011
Location: The Royal has good conference suites, rooms are spacious and breakout rooms are available in the immediate. There is also good circulation space. The internet access is problematic. From a relaxation point of view, the swimming pool was empty during our stay and very unexpectedly there was an additional charge to use the small gym.
The Royal has a wonderful staff, friendly and helpful. It has very good conference amenities. There are wonderful views of Durban from the bedrooms on the upper floors. Visitors should be aware that many areas of Durban are unsafe for visitors.This means that it is advisable to restrict sightseeing on foot to the immediate hotel environs. However, it is very easy to get taxis to places of interest or join one of the many organised tour to places such as the Drakensberg mountains of the Valley of the Thousand Hills. Although the hotel advertises wi-fi internet connections in all rooms, the reality is that connection is only possible on the ground and first floors. The internet connection is not reliable and download speeds are very slow. Be aware that time-keeping is not reliable. In particular, if you rely on the airport shuttle bus to get to the airport - go an hour early. We had to take a taxi when the shuttle didn't show at the expected time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

A bit overpriced

Posted Jul 15, 2009
We arrived shortly after the hotel reopened after an electrical fire. Some of the eating establishments were not yet open, so I have no advice on this. It was clean and the service was very good, but it was a bit over priced for the condition of the hotel. It was also not safe after dark and we were sent to eat somewhere and were rescued by a local woman who spotted our trouble. She walked us to safety, but gave us very good advice about what not to do in the future. The hotel should have been more prepared to give advice on what to do about eating arrangements if they knew they were going to be closed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Middle of a Ghetto

Posted Jul 5, 2008
Hotel standards are poor. all bars closed except 1. No Movie facilities. No Internet facilities. Very dissapointed to see a fine old hotel going to pieces!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Perth, Scotland

Very Good Hotel

Posted Jun 18, 2007
The service level at the hotel was excellent, with friendly staff. The food in the main restaurent was excellent as was the view at breakfast over the harbour from the roof top lounge. The internet access was not always available, but if you're on holiday - that doesn't matter. I will stay there again the next time I'm in Durban
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was an okay hotel

Posted May 18, 2005
When we first arrived there was no one to help us with our bags- plus the receptionist at the front desk did not direct us to the correct elevator for our floor. The shower in the room leaked all over the floor and there was no place to put your shampoos, etc. The beds were great and as we stayed the more comfortable we got. I would have like to have known that blow dryers were available to me to use sooner then I did- why don't you just have one in the room? The food at the breakfast buffet was not very good- the food would get could and didn't seem as fresh if you were late to breakfast.