Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2013
Pros: Spacious room
Cons: The style of the hotel is quite outdated
Location: Hotel is located close to south beach.
We spent just 1 night in this hotel as we found an attractive offer on expedia. For that price including breakfast, the hotel was quite a attractive. However for the regular price, we wouldn't have preferred to stay in this hotel. The style of the hotel is quite outdated (e.g. the breakfast room is in 'Titanic style'). Further it was quite windy and in our room at the 14th floor this gave quite some noice. Finally the personel at the frotn desk was quite 'inflexible'. The staff in the breakfast was however more than cooperative and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by HANKfrom BOCA RATON, FLORIDA

HISTORIC DOWNTOWN HOTEL THAT IS A GREAT VALUE.

Posted Sep 5, 2013
Cons: THE LIGHTING IN THE ROOMS WAS A LITTLE DIM BUT WORKABLE.
THIS IS AN OLDER 150 YEAR OLD HOTEL THAT IS IN THE MIDDLE OF DOWNTOWN DURBAN. IT IS A WONDERFUL VALUE FOR THE MONEY. A LOT OF TOURISTS SEEM TO STAY IN THE NORTHERN SUBURBS OF DURBAN HOWEVER THEY ARE MISSING OUT ON THE VALUE OF THIS HOTEL BY STAYING DOWNTOWN. IT HAS A PARKING GARAGE ATTACHED BY A COVERED WALKWAY AT A COST OF AROUND 3.50 US DOLLARS A NIGHT. BREAKFAST IS SERVED IN THE HISTORIC DINING ROOM WHERE QUEEN ELIZABETH DINED IN 1999 OR 1999 AND THE BUFFET WAS EXCELLENT ( AND INCLUDED WITH THE ROOM RATE WE GOT). THE ROOMS ARE CLEAN AND HAVE EVERYTHING YOU COULD WANT INCLUDING FREE INTERNET. IT IS RIGHT ACROSS THE STREET FROM CITY HALL AND THE DOWNTOWN SHOPPING AREAS ARE ON THE SAME STREET AS THE HOTEL. UNLESS YOU WANT TO BE ON THE BEACH DON'T OVERLOOK THIS HOTEL
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mr n Mrs Mossfrom Bolton, UK

Royal Hotel is still a Quality Choice

Posted May 5, 2013
Pros: Style, price, room and food quality and service
Cons: Pool.
Location: Central
The Hotel suited our needs very well. We stayed for 9 nights B n B using the central location to visit all the tourist spots holidaymakers like us need. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves in Durban and the Hotel was, in the main excellent for us. Room 10/10 Like most areas in Central Durban times have changed and with it the tourist hot spots. The hotel has had to change it's vocation in order to compete with the other hotels in the area. We paid £300 for 2 people for 9 nights and with the amount and quality of the food at breakfast we didn't need a midday meal. Food: 10/10. On a few occasions we wanted to use the Pool and unfortunately this was being refurbed. We did finally use the pool and saw that some parts of this area were below acceptable standards. Maybe the Leisure facilities are low on the priority list. Pool: 6/10. Staff and Customer service: 10/10. The Hotel has charm, history and unquestionable style. The Queen stayed there for 2 weeks in 1999, but the country, city and Hotel have changed. It's likely the Queen wouldn't stay there now
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Walter F.from München

Alles OK

Posted Mar 4, 2013
Das Hotel liegt sehr günstig, viele Sehenswürdigkeiten sind zu Fuß zu erreichen, auch der Strand, an dem immer was los ist. Die Atmosphäre ist gut, die Einrichtung zweckmäßig. Wenn ich wieder einmal nach Durban komme, würde ich dieses Hotel wieder wählen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Colinfrom Johannesburg, South Africa

Best for the Business Traveller

Posted Feb 2, 2013
Pros: The Royal Grill famous in its day
Cons: it was so quite
Location: see hotel experience
The last time I stayed here was in 1979 and it had a real vibe in those days but now it is a bit jaded and quite it is best for the business traveller due to its location not good for the beach junkie but food is excellent and value wise an all round good experience
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

DO NOT STAY HERE, NO USABLE INTERNET SERVICE.

Posted Sep 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
The Internet service was virtually unbearable. My room would connect with 3-4 bars, but drop the connection about every 3-5 minutes, with uploads speeds EXTREMELY SLOW. 2 of my friends in other rooms on different floors experienced the same for 4 days. I spoke to the front desk 3 times, and they finally admitted that Internet service was very poor in the rooms, and suggested I try the lounge adjacent to the front desk. I did, and the Internet would drop off every few minutes the same as in the rooms. I don't believe there was any real concern about this quality of Internet service. The front desk told my friend in another room that they called the service people in Johan., but the service did not improve our entire stay of 4 days. I tried 2 different computers, always cutting out every few minutes and only download at aprox 50-10kbps. This quality of Internet service, or complete lack of, makes doing any business or email on the Internet completely impossible. I would NEVER stay at this hotel again due to this one detail of which no attention was given to resolve. Completely unacceptable in the modern business world. You have been warned!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Vila Velha-ES

Hotel Royal, Durban

Posted Mar 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
O hotel é bem localizado, próximo às principais atrações de Durban. O pessoal da recepção foi bem receptivo, embora não tenham conseguido antecipar nosso check-in. Também não conseguiram nos oferecer um café da manhã mais cedo, embora o tivessem prometido.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Dublin, Ireland

Be aware!

Posted Nov 20, 2011
Location: The Royal has good conference suites, rooms are spacious and breakout rooms are available in the immediate. There is also good circulation space. The internet access is problematic. From a relaxation point of view, the swimming pool was empty during our stay and very unexpectedly there was an additional charge to use the small gym.
The Royal has a wonderful staff, friendly and helpful. It has very good conference amenities. There are wonderful views of Durban from the bedrooms on the upper floors. Visitors should be aware that many areas of Durban are unsafe for visitors.This means that it is advisable to restrict sightseeing on foot to the immediate hotel environs. However, it is very easy to get taxis to places of interest or join one of the many organised tour to places such as the Drakensberg mountains of the Valley of the Thousand Hills. Although the hotel advertises wi-fi internet connections in all rooms, the reality is that connection is only possible on the ground and first floors. The internet connection is not reliable and download speeds are very slow. Be aware that time-keeping is not reliable. In particular, if you rely on the airport shuttle bus to get to the airport - go an hour early. We had to take a taxi when the shuttle didn't show at the expected time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

A bit overpriced

Posted Jul 15, 2009
We arrived shortly after the hotel reopened after an electrical fire. Some of the eating establishments were not yet open, so I have no advice on this. It was clean and the service was very good, but it was a bit over priced for the condition of the hotel. It was also not safe after dark and we were sent to eat somewhere and were rescued by a local woman who spotted our trouble. She walked us to safety, but gave us very good advice about what not to do in the future. The hotel should have been more prepared to give advice on what to do about eating arrangements if they knew they were going to be closed.