Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by masixole from cape town

Very nice hotel close to the mall

Posted May 14, 2014
Had a very comfortable stay. Staff very helpful and very welcoming.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2014 by Masixole, Hotel Management
Dear Masixole, Thank you very much for taking the time out to write a highly positive review on The Gateway Hotel following on from your recent stay with us. We always value feedback from our clients, both positive and negative, and it is encouraging to receiving such a high rating from you. Again, thank you and we do hope we will see you back staying with us in the future. Regards, Carol Macnab Marketing Co-ordinator
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ms. Lady from New York, NY

Shopping heaven

Posted Mar 18, 2014
The hotel is clean and safe. It is conveniently located within walking distance to the Gareway Mall for great shopping and fine dining. If you love to shop and dine, this place is for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Masixole, Hotel Management
Dear Ms Lady We thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at the Three Cities Gateway Hotel. Guest feedback is extremely important to us and we are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that the hotel was to your satisfaction. Again, thank you for your time and we do hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Gateway Hotel in the future. Regards, Carol Macnab Marketing Co-ordinator Three Cities Gateway Hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roland from Lilongwe, Malawi

Great Location

Posted Feb 24, 2014
The rooms are clean, Beds very comfortable. Aircon worked great but tv channels selection was very limited and the free Internet did not work very well. The location of the hotel being joined to the gateway shopping centre is great as you have a few hundred shops and restaurants outside your door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Joe from Brisbane

Modern and functional in convenient location

Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Horel was great, modern, functional, clean and very conveniently located alongside the excellent Gateway Mall. Central located on Umhlanga Ridge, but beach is not close enough to walk to. If you don't have a car for the 5 minute drive down to the beach, the hotel provides a convenient shuttle service with flexible times. Breakfast restaurant is very good. Hs a nice roof top bar/pool/relaxation area. There are numerous restaurants and activities in adjacent mall, including Barnyard theatre, two cinema complexes and water park. Access to mall is by is convenient internal walkway.Hotel deserves more than it's official 3 star rating
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2014 by Sanjeev, Hotel Management
Dear Joe on Hotels.com, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on The Gateway Hotel following your recent stay. Guest Feedback is extremely important to us and it is very encouraging to receive not only a 4-star rating from you but also such positive comments about the hotel. Again, thank you Regards Carol Macnab Marketing Co-ordinator Three Cities Gateway Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by ndfuk from Scotland

Nice Hotel

Posted May 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Selected The Gateway Hotel for it's location and this was as expected, very well. Could do with some attention to paintwork in rooms and general hygiene in bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great Location for shopping and restaurants

Posted Apr 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall great, normally stay at the Protea hotel down the st but this was slightly cheaper rates but with internet and parking included which made it a better deal for the time I was near. Hotel does not provide room service but there areso many restaurants within Gateway Shopping Centre it was never an issue.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not soo good if you like your privacy.

Posted Apr 10, 2013
Pros: close to gateway mall durban less than 2mins walk.
Cons: card activated lifts that didn't work half the time
For a hotel so close to a mall and hence with many tourist travellers; i was disappointed my deluxe room came with glass doors on the side by side shower and toilet. all in full view of the bed / open area. privacy is paramount especially in deluxe rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by G from Sydney

Great customer service

Posted Apr 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and were very impressed with their customer service. The location of the hotel is perfect for those who like to shop, but also only a 10 minute walk down to the shops and a cheap taxi ride back to the hotel if you head out for drinks and dinner. The surrounding area is lovely - lots of shops, the beach, restaurants and bars. The rooms are nice and spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

wow

Posted Dec 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
A grea stay and abeautiful hotel.. will definately stay here again ad again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Somia from London, UK

Great location

Posted Dec 8, 2012
The hotel is in a fantastic location, with direct access to the Gateway Theatre of Shopping (lots of shops, restaurants, 18 screen cinema). In fact that area of Umhlanga is the safest most upmarket area of Durban. You can walk freely outside on your own day and evening which you may not be able to do in other areas. The hotel was very trendy. The only downside was the open plan bathroom in the room (albeit toilet and shower were in cubicles ) Fine for a sole occupant in the room, but could be tricky if you are sharing the room with another. Hence an overall rating of 4 not 5.