Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Rustic and elegant

Posted Sep 8, 2014
This is a lovely resort close to Austin Texas. The grounds have nice walking trails. The pool is new and lovely. The rooms are roomy and comfortable. The food is excellent and interesting. The staff is great, and ask at every meal if you have any dietary restrictions. There are some wineries nearby and outlet stores. We enjoyed our stay and plan to return next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Marcos

Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek

Posted Jun 28, 2014
The Inn is a fine place for a brief escape--though just 15 minutes from San Marcos (and about the same from Austin), it offers natural beauty, attention to detail, good meals, and hospitality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was great. Cookies were over cooked but everything else was exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Brooke from Brooklyn

The absolute best retreat for city dwellers!

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Gorgeous! Unpretentious! Relaxed environment but thoughtful details like complimentary cookies, sodas, delicious breakfast and dinner, hidden hammocks along the trails... It goes on. Come here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ian from Austin

Made up for what could have been huge problem

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
45 minutes before my wedding ceremony, I got a phone call that the room we had booked for our wedding night was having problems with the AC unit, and we wouldn't be able to stay there. However, they had taken the time to book us a room at another local bed and breakfast, and it couldn't have been a more seamless transaction. So although I haven't had a chance to actually stay here, the customer service was top notch and they made a big surprise into something very easy to handle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

No other signs of civilization!

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was perfect! We had rooms next door to each other and spent time on the porch in the rocking chairs looking out over miles of land without seeing other signs of civilization and only hearing the birds singing! A great getaway for anyone for any occasion! Fire pit for s'mores, spa for relaxing, pool for a dip, spa for a massage, garden for pretty flowers, staff to take care of you, dinner and breakfast included, library for reading or DVD selection, fireplace in the room, shower for two in one of the rooms, whirlpool tub for two in the other room, and rocking chairs on the porch to enjoy the view... Planning more trips here for girlfriends, friends, couples, romance, and maybe even business because any excuse to come to Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek is a good excuse! Simply perfect! Just bring a bottle of wine and your swimsuit, they provide the bathrobe!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jen from Tx

Beautiful hill country gem

Posted Apr 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
This place was a beautiful find! The room was recently updated. Staff was very accommodating. Plenty of areas to relax and unwind, such as pool with a view, hammock, or several swings on trees. Fire place in our room and rocking chairs on our porch was my favorite touch! They serve breakfast and dinner included, good good! We Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rachael from San Antonio

Incredible

Posted Mar 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary getaway. It was quiet and romantic. We were seeing a show in Austin so it was a little out of the way but completely worth it. We informed the staff that we would be gone for dinner the first night since we would be in Austin. We didn't return until midnight but found our dinner saved in little containers in the fridge. A picnic basket was left with silverware to help us carry it up. We expected a normal hotel meal. Boy was I ever wrong. The food was sooo good. We sat on our beds and devoured it. After that we decided we wouldn't do our normal thing of skipping breakfast in the morning. Breakfast was every bit as incredible. The staff were friendly and the fireplace and giant claw foot tub made our stay comfy and cosy. Will definitely be staying here again. The only negative was the steep climb to our room. We stayed in the Shlemmer room, which was the only one so high. Loved our stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by EmilyA from Houston

No better spot

Posted Feb 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stay here as often as I can. I absolutely live the hotel's Hill Country chic style and Amy and staff are so lovely. The food is wonderful and you never have to worry about a thing, they take care of it all. Best place in the Hill Country, bar none.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Amazing and Peaceful

Posted Aug 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is one of those times I sort of don't want to write a review since I want to keep it to myself. This place was relaxing, peaceful and a great place to unplug and recharge. It is out of the way by itself, which is a little surprising since you are passing subdivisions and gas stations only five miles from the turn-off. You go a mile onto the property and when you are there it feels like it is the only thing for miles and miles. The property is quaint and relaxing, the food is wonderful, and the staff is friendly. It is definitely on my "return list" and I might even make it an annual event.