Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by larry from hawaii

new hotel two blocks from train station

Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Was a very good hotel; new, two blocks from Kyoto station, led us to discover the area around the train station that we didn't know before. On the east side, opposite of main entrance. Definitely our choice next time we are in Kyoto.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Got hotel for sightseeing

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Close to Kyoto station - about a 3 minute walk. Bus stop around the corner. Kujo subway station about 5 minutes away. Easy to get around to all temples and other tourist areas such as Gion. Nice hotel, cafe downstairs which serves breakfast every morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ric from sydney

Nice hotel close to station

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Excellent hotel with friendly staff. Clean rooms with all facilities needed to enjoy your night in comfort
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by PK from Los Angeles

Close to Kyoto station, easy 10 mins walk

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Location, comfort, ambiance, cleanliness, nice staff
Cons: maybe they can have a shuttle from the station :) would be nice to have after a long journey
Location: Kyoto station, easy access to tourist attraction, a quick walk to a nice river with a walk way beside it
The hotel has really good ambiance, the rooms are not as big as you would like it to be but for Japanese standards they are really spacious, i didn't feel cramped or claustrophobic in the room. nice neighborhood. easy access to the metro , so easy to get to the tourist spots. Has a laundry room which was very handy for me. I would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by John from Singapore

Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi

Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good and clean hotel. 10 min walk to Kyoto station. Room may be a bit small but worth that is normal at this price. Staff are very helpful. Would recommend anyone travelling on budget,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, avergae room

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: The hotel is 5 min walking distance from Kyoto station and various restaurants
I showed up in the evening and was told they ran out of non-smoking rooms. The staff informed me that the smoking room has been treated and should be fine. But the smell of smoke was obvious the moment I walked into the room. The hotel is normal size for Japanese standard, cleaniness is also standarded.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Johnson

Got a smoking room - could not be re-accomodated

Posted Mar 23, 2014
For some reason, a smoking room was booked for my trip through this hotel. I am a non-smoker and the hotel was not able to move me to a non-smoking room. In the end, I was very miserable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pilsoo from Seoul

Almost nice

Posted Feb 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
I spent great time in kyoto with this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carl from California

Convenient and Practical

Posted Dec 17, 2013
Pros: Close the train station. Clean. Fairly up to date, new in decor.
Cons: Japanese should build bigger elevators into their hotels regardless of the hotel's target market.
Location: Kyoto is like the Venice of Asia, less the waterways of course. It's drowning in history - temples and historic sites.
First, let's be clear that Japanese hotels are seldom ever as large as US hotels unless you're at a Hyatt or Shangri-La, etc. and even then the rooms still have the potential to feel smaller. With this hotel we're talking strictly no non-sense. The check-out process is via a kiosk though there are people at a desk to check you in. Otherwise the lobby and building are very clean, well kept and fairly up to date. Your room will likely be tiny with a double bed that barely fits two and a shower stall; it'd be a small bath if you were "Mini-me", from Austin Powers. That's pretty much it. No nonsense. It's close the main train station, 5 minute walk. You start your day early and see Kyoto and end your day whenever. Period. You want a taste of "Japan" then find a ryokan (or traditional inn). There are plenty of fantastic ones around Kyoto. I recommend the Momijiya; service was excellent though the way up to the main building for the annex by the river could be improved. Expect to pay close to $400 per night though.