Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the capsule experience I was hoping for...

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: Free WiFi and being able to leave your luggage there. The location is quite convenient once you find your bearings.
Cons: Breakfast, breakfast, breakfast. Ear plugs should be included in your room pack so you don't have to traipse down to reception when you can't sleep!
Location: Convenient for the Hankyu railway, subway and Nishiki Market street.
I caught a bus to Karasuma from another part of Kyoto and what should have been a 5 minute walk to find the place took over half an hour with heavy bags. When I asked some local people they had not heard of it and it was difficult for them to try and find (One lady searched on her smartphone and another on a PC from a hotel reception). At the time I booked there were no regular beds left so I had to book a business room with breakfast. The capsule was not a capsule but quite spacious. They provided toiletries, pyjamas and slippers. There was a drawer under the bed with a combination lock which was useful for keeping valuables in. The door was a flimsy concertina curtain which did very little in blocking out any noises. The breakfast selection was abysmal - a few bread products and a grill oven to do your own toast, margarine, some boiled eggs, a very small bowl of yoghurt that was not topped up and two tiny bowls of conserve, one empty and the other with about a dessert spoon left in. The coffee was disgusting and it wasn't clear if this was included in the breakfast or if you had to pay extra (it was included). The staff were professional enough and kept my luggage for me as I had arrived before check-in, and kept my luggage for me after check-out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Daren H from Osaka

Kyoto made easy

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Great location, subway, bus and train almost all outside the front door, clean room, staff are good, i would book again without even thinking about it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Adam from Calgary

Good budget hotel

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Hotel is clean and modern. And the location is excellent. Very close to subway and main shopping street. Only negative is that there is only a curtain instead of a door so you can here ppl around you very easily. I was woken up a few times due to ppl being loud through the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Milad from US

Amazingly clean, comfortable, central, and quiet

Posted Mar 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Amazing experience at a capsule hotel - very quiet, extremely clean, and centrally located in Karasuma District. The only thing to complain about is that the breakfast is very basic and you are probably better served to just grab some food at the nearby convenience stores.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by josh from Chicago

Spotless

Posted Mar 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean and spotless. Unlike many of the hotels of similar in Japan, they don't require you to check in and out each day if you are staying multiple nights. Just a block from Shijo station with very easy access to the sights. My only complaint about this place is the breakfast. I would spend the few extra dollars in your booking to include breakfast as it's just toast and a toaster.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Will

Perfect for solo traveller

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Pros: clean, secure, service desk speaks fluent english. close to transport and food.
Cons: lock on the curtain aka 'door'
Location: bar downstairs, close to transport (2 rail systems) food is close also as is shopping
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

clean modern & helpful staff

Posted Nov 7, 2013
clean. spacious. great location. helpful staff. 24hrs front desk. individual showers not public bath.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

clean hotel in central location

Posted Nov 1, 2013
clean hotel, they provide cabin clothes, shower gear (shampoo, face cleaner etc), friendly helpful staff, 24hrs reception, they stored my bag in the morning til check in time, helped make a reservation for me for ninja temple in Kanazawa. next to subway or 25min walk from JR kyoto station. women are on a separate floor. modern facilities locker was available under bed, safety deposit boxes in reception and shower rooms have lockers with key you can use.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Tin from Singapore

Great experience on cabin bed

Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room is clean. Staff service is friendly. Individual room has air con control which is nice. Didn't use the TV although it's hang on the cabin door. Hotel is easily reachable by walking from Kyoto station. I was there on Sept first week 2013. Not so many people so it is quiet in the morning not so noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by TC from USA

Awesome Place To Stay

Posted Sep 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
As long as you know what you are expecting from this place, you should be fine. It is a capsule hotel where you have to check in at 4 PM and checkout at 10 AM even if you're staying more than a night. The hot tubs are awesome to get in after a long day is walking. The location of the place is right in the center of Shinjuki. Would stay here again and again!!!