Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Carlos from California

Very nice hotel and convenient to subway

Posted Jan 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
While the hotel looks vintage that is not necessarily a bad thing. It has a very relaxing ambience and while not in the center of Kyoto it is steps from a subway station. The room was comfortable, clean, and quiet. Hotel beds, including this one, are always too firm for my tastes which makes for a not so good night's sleep but that is just a general hotel trend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better pillow and beds

Posted Nov 12, 2013
The comfort of the beds and the pillow quality should be improved. It's currently uncomfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dave B from London, ontario

Very isolated

Posted Oct 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great setting in isolated woods, half hour from city centre, deer feeding in woods outside hotel room, everything very expensive for family vacation, good for business conferences.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jeff from Seattle

Excellent hotel in tranquil setting

Posted Oct 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Couldn't have been more pleased. The highlight of our trip was renting electric bikes from the hotel and riding in the surrounding environs. Such fun!! The breakfast was also top-notch. Steps from the efficient and easy-to-use Kyoto subway. Will definitely stay here again. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sky from China

Nice Stay

Posted Oct 10, 2013
The room was relatively big for Japan. Shame it doesnt have a swimming pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

5 star hotel but a little lacking

Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Looks and feels like a 5-star hotel. Acceptable but without much flavor. Remote location at end of subway line. Directions hotel/subway are clear and well-marked to get from subway to hotel (about a 10-minute walk through a tunnel/park setting). (I thought the directions based on Google Maps could have been confusing.) Grocery store nearby – leave subway by a different exit to find it. I think the hotel exit is #4 and the grocery is #3. This hotel lacks nothing except a central location in Kyoto but you should try for a generous discount on the pricing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dee from Australia

Nice hotel but long way out of Kyoto

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Nice quiet location but not very exciting as too far away from central Kyoto and sights. No complimentary water tea or coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Fonsi from California

Peaceful and comfort

Posted Sep 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
I love this hotel!. A little bit far from city but within walking distance from subway. If you like a peaceful moment when you sleep away from city noices,this is the hotel to stay. Room was very clean and spacious. Hotel staff was very courteous and polite. The day I was ready to leave to tokyo to cath my flight to the US, over night, we got hit by typhoon Man-yi hit and hotel staff told us that no trains were operation to Tokyo and kep us informed of any changes. Also, they told us, that it was ok to stay another night.. The only small problem like other people mention is that make sure that you arrive at the hotel after 2pm which is the starting checking time otherwise,they'll make you wait in the lobby until then. The rest of it was great. Definetly will stay there again.