Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, well situated homely guest house

Posted Jan 22, 2014
Pros: Made to feel welcome.
Cons: A guest refrigerator is provided, but the availability of a small urn for guests to make tea or coffee themselves at any time would be welcome.
The guest house is well situated in a quiet area near Kiyomizudera Temple and not far (2 bus stops) from the central area of Gion. However, travelers on a tight schedule might prefer closer to a rail or subway station. The owners, an older couple, are very attentive, although with limited English. To overcome that, printed material about the guest house arrangements is provided to avoid confusion. The rooms are simple, but comfortable. The Japanese breakfast (available from 8am) is substantial and beautifully prepared. Refreshments are brought to the room on return from the day's sightseeing. The shared bathroom facilities are excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by deezee from venice, ca

nice visit

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Pros: Great location for our needs. Nice owners.
Cons: Directions to find the location could be better.
Location: Just down the road from shops and temples. Delightful.
Very kind guest shop owners who brought us tea and cookies each evening. The guest house is very hard to find, and thankfully I was traveling with a Japanese speaker with a mobile phone. We had to call and have them meet us on the street. Once there, it's a wonderful location, quiet, and comfortable. We felt very welcomed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lorenzo from Boston, MA, USA

The room was more sparse than depicted.

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Location: Great location for visiting Kiyomizu and the wonderful neighborhoods in eastern Kyoto. Visitors should follow the maps to visit areas beyond Kiyomizu.
The hosts were gracious and helpful, though the room was rather sparse. Excellent location for visiting Kiyomizu Temple and the other wonderful sites in eastern Kyoto.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by BRETT from CHYHA

Posted May 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
VERY CLEAN ROOM LITTLE ENGLISH SPOKEN BY HOSTS WHO WERE VERY NICE
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tony

The best guest house in Kyoto.

Posted May 13, 2013
Pros: The owners hospitality, good location.
Location: Walking distance to the Kiyomizu Temple, shops and restaurants.
Attended by a very loving staff, super clean rooms and bathrooms, and very good breakfast.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Gunner from NYC

Complicated and convoluted place to stay

Posted May 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Felt more like staying in a youth hostel. Tiny rooms and even smaller windows. The rooms are spartan and the house rules (curfew at 11 pm) are inconvenient to say the least. Toilet is outside and the bathroom is on another floor. If it would not have been for somebody among us to be fluent in Japanese, it would have been even more of a headache.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jing from Canada

Good place to stay

Posted May 3, 2013
Pros: Nice Japanese house, clean room, quite.
Cons: Hard to find, no English sign outside the door.
Location: Good location.
Nice experience living in a traditional Japan house. Convenient location, close to bus stops and famous temples. Need to share bathroom, but bathrooms are clean, there also 2 sinks in the second floor, I don't feel any inconvenience. The couple who own the place are nice, though speak little English, they prepare English note to answer possible questions like the house rules and how to get to the nearby temples and convenient stores. I think it's good enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Kyoto's Best Accommodation

Posted Apr 29, 2013
Our 4 night stay at the Yamamoto bed and breakfast was a wonderful experience. Our lovely hosts were fantastic and made us very welcome. Our lack of japanese did not present a big problem. Breakfasts there are a must. The B&B is located in a lovely area of Kyoto and close to a lot of sites
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robin from London, UK

Hidden Gem near Kiyomizu-Dera

Posted Dec 26, 2012
Guest House Yamato is a Hidden Gem Near Kiyomizu-Dera, with a wonderful and unexpected secret garden viewed at breakfast through the wall-to-ceiling picture windows. The owners are welcoming and cook a wonderful Japanese breakfast. Real value for money compared to an impersonal business hotel. Highly recommended.