Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Tommy from HK

Excellent room and services

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
nice breakfast and nice place to live. the host is nice and provide everything we need. the room is clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely

Posted May 6, 2014
A great guest house. Friendly staff and I would recommend the delicious Japanese breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by L C from Malibu CA

Adjacent to important shrines

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a guest house, not a hotel. The owners are cordial and provide you with all the necessary instructions for the shared bathrooms, breakfast options, and getting around. The shared bathrooms are very clean, but the walls between rooms are quite thin so you can hear other guests. The rooms are decorated with traditional art and mats, so they are great for taking photos. Our room was quite spacious. The Japanese futon beds were comfortable but the pillows were not. It was an authentic Japanese experience, and is great if you are wanting to step out of your comfort zone. The daily tea service was a nice touch. Walking distance to most major sights in Kyoto, but tucked away off the street and hard to find upon arrival.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Best place we stayed in Japan

Posted Apr 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Spent 2 nights here and wish we'd been staying longer. Fantastic location (just down the road from Kiyomizudera and close to Gion) and amazing hospitality (e.g. special vegetarian options made for breakfast, tea and a snack provided on a tray whenever we came home). We stayed in the Japanese-style room which was beautiful and very peaceful. Would definitely stay again and would recommend to anyone visiting Kyoto.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Russell from Emerald

we stayed for 5 nights

Posted Apr 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Attentive hosts and great variety of genuine Japanese breakfasts . Only a short walk to Kiomisudera. Highly recommended family stay. See the other review too
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Russell from Emerald

quiet spot near kiomisudera .genuine home experien

Posted Apr 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very attentive hosts and very convenient for kiomisudera attractions. Bus 206 or taxi from Kyoto station.Very genuine and attentive hosts. Very clean and very good value breakfasts with thoughtful variation .
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, well situated homely guest house

Posted Jan 22, 2014
Pros: Made to feel welcome.
Cons: A guest refrigerator is provided, but the availability of a small urn for guests to make tea or coffee themselves at any time would be welcome.
The guest house is well situated in a quiet area near Kiyomizudera Temple and not far (2 bus stops) from the central area of Gion. However, travelers on a tight schedule might prefer closer to a rail or subway station. The owners, an older couple, are very attentive, although with limited English. To overcome that, printed material about the guest house arrangements is provided to avoid confusion. The rooms are simple, but comfortable. The Japanese breakfast (available from 8am) is substantial and beautifully prepared. Refreshments are brought to the room on return from the day's sightseeing. The shared bathroom facilities are excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by deezee from venice, ca

nice visit

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Pros: Great location for our needs. Nice owners.
Cons: Directions to find the location could be better.
Location: Just down the road from shops and temples. Delightful.
Very kind guest shop owners who brought us tea and cookies each evening. The guest house is very hard to find, and thankfully I was traveling with a Japanese speaker with a mobile phone. We had to call and have them meet us on the street. Once there, it's a wonderful location, quiet, and comfortable. We felt very welcomed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lorenzo from Boston, MA, USA

The room was more sparse than depicted.

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Location: Great location for visiting Kiyomizu and the wonderful neighborhoods in eastern Kyoto. Visitors should follow the maps to visit areas beyond Kiyomizu.
The hosts were gracious and helpful, though the room was rather sparse. Excellent location for visiting Kiyomizu Temple and the other wonderful sites in eastern Kyoto.