Ratings based on 568 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Connected to the amazing train station

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Hotel was very nice -- rooms, multiple restaurants in the hotel itself, staff. Kyoto Station is an architectural wonder. Almost felt like we were in a sci-fi futuristic setting. The station is half-open to the outside (a symbolic gate to the city). Imagine a giant upside-down triangle (actually a trapezoid is more exact) Escalators go up the 2 slanted sides -- a series of them ascending 15 floors. On one side you pass by a Café du Monde (yes, as in New Orleans)/donut/ice cream shop. Continuing up you pass a vast set of stairs that can be used as theater-style seating. They have LED lights underneath the seats that are lit at night in constantly changing patterns. At the top you reach a sky garden --a small park that overlooks the city. The hotel is on the opposite leg of the triangle. Exiting the tracks you go up one flight of escalators and are at the hotel entrance. Kyoto has a vast bus network and the station is the central connection point. The hotel is a fabulous base camp for sightseeing and is luxurious as well. Not cheap, but you get a lot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fayetteville, AR

Possibly the best hotel in Kyoto

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Just about everything.
Cons: The restaurants in the hotel are expensive, but fortunately, you have lots of options outside the hotel.
Location: Great location, attached to the main Kyoto train station so you have quick access to all the train lines and the main bus station is right outside.
Everything about this hotel is great. Easy check-in, super friendly staff, probably the largest rooms you'll find in Kyoto, and very clean. Right in the train station, but you'll never hear the trains. Gives you great access to the whole city and beyond through the trains or main bus station right outside. Many things walkable from this location as well. Tons of food and shopping located in and under the train station and also in nearby buildings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow, Scotland

Central location

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Not a lot
Location: It's central location in Kyoto meant that just about everything could be accessed easily. We also managed to catch the Start of the Gion festival.
Absolutely nothing negative in our stay. Couldn't be any closer to the station and a bus terminus on the doorstep. Hotel itself is lovely and the staff all spoke English and were really helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Great stay at Granvia Kyoto

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Everything was perfect. Service and food was excellent.
Location: It was perfect for our trip. Very convenient to Kyoto JR line train station just upstairs. Central to all the places and sights we saw.
We stayed at Granvia Kyoto for 8 days with 13 family and close friends. More expensive but worth it to us than the Sakura Terrace hotel nearby where 10 other close friends chose to stay which they enjoyed. We would definitely go back to Granvia on our next visit to Japan to see our son ho lives there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Nice Hotel. Great Location above Kyoto Station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Very nice experience- only if next room didn't make that much noise for three nights, it would be perfect!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Menlo Park, CA

Great location with nice and helpful staff!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Location - extremely convenient! Staff was so nice and helpful.
Location: Located in Kyoto Station with restaurants and stores right there.
BEST location in Kyoto - you can go to all the places in Kyoto from here by bus, train, or cab. The Kyoto Station building is a mini city in itself with shopping and dining! Hotel staff were very gracious and SUPER helpful. We had adjoining non-smoking standard king and standard twin rooms that were very comfortable. Loved the amenities provided. Concierge was very helpful with their suggestions and instructions/directions. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Kyoto.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Modern hotel located in same complex as central train station. Arrived at Osaka Airport, walked straight onto train, travelled to Kyoto, walked straight into hotel reception. Hotel has numerous restaurants to choose from, including cafes and food halls around the station building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mario from Mexico City

Very convenient, right on the railway station.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
The tepanyaki restaurant is fantastic. But expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pamela from Saratoga, CA

Awesome location and really comfortable hotel

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: It would have been really nice to have a lounge where there are plugs for laptops.
Location: Central location. Take a bus or train or subway really easily to any location you can think of. Get a JR pass :)
Ahhhh, Kyoto Station, I will miss you!! This is the perfect location for a vacation and the hotel is wonderful. The concierge staff is extremely helpful and speaks fairly good English. They went out of their way to answer questions, make reservations for us, and were just really pleasant. The room was big enough (not huge) and the view was gorgeous. Someone mentioned in another review to ask to get a room close to the elevators. Yes, do that :) I forgot to ask but just got lucky. The breakfast buffet is really good!! A bit pricey but worth it. Don't forget to explore the entire station while you are there. It was like an onion. You keep peeling off layers and layers and finding more good stuff. I already miss it...