Ratings based on 535 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Nice hotel in good part of Kyoto

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: The location and the staff.
Location: The Sanjo shopping arcade is nearby; The Museum of Kyoto is only a 5 minute walk away.
Staff are so friendly and helpful. We had a king size bed and it was HUGE. The room was very comfortable. The carpet was a bit tired looking but that's not a big deal. We can't speak Japanese so it was nice to have CNN in English to watch if we felt like it. The location is in a really nice part of the city, close to lots of good restaurants and shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Excellent hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The hotel in general and location
Cons: The staff language communication in english
Location: Excellent
A big room for three adults with two restrooms and a nice/friendly service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great Hotel, Central Kyoto

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Family room
A luxury hotel with great family rooms. Plenty of room for a family of four, four beds, two bathrooms (one is 1/2). Great way to stay in first class hotel at budget rates for a family! Full concierge service, white glove hotel staff, the typical very cool Japanese bathrooms (our full bath was a bit small). The half-bath was lovely. The Japanese Monterey chain themes each of its hotels (all over the country) to reflect regions of the world. They Kyoto Hotel tries (unsuccessfully) to capture Edinburgh, Scotland. However, it does have a very cool reproduction of the St. Simon Zelotes Chapel, which as far as I can figure out is in London, not Scotland. The chapel is actually a free standing structure (interior and exterior) housed within a huge atrium of the hotel. Pretty cool. 1 block to the Karasuma-Oike Subway stop and walkable to Gion and surroundings. The Starbucks across the street is set with picture window views of the Rokkakadu-do shrine; a lovely small shrine in a courtyard surrounded by tall buildings. Makes for a nice breakfast. Skip the hotel's it's $22 pp.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs work.

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Pretentious
Cons: Guest service.
Location: Location is great. Close to both major subway lines, major sites and excellent restaurants.
Of the five hotels I booked for my Japan/Hong Kong vacation, Hotel Monterey was the most disappointing. I found it extremely irritating, and quite unbelievable, that the Japanese kaiseki restaurant "Zueintei" couldn't accommodate a single diner for lunch or dinner in a restaurant that was clearly not busy during off peak hours. I attempted to eat on two occasions, once at 5pm and the next day at 2 pm for lunch. Since walking in wouldn't work I attempted to make a reservation by calling the restaurant but they wouldn't answer the phone. I've worked in restaurants all my life, even in five star hotels, and I've never felt more shunned by a restaurant in my life. I think it's especially bad given that I was a guest of the hotel. Also, beware that the cup of coffee placed beside the complimentary tea and kettle in the rooms is NOT complimentary. I understand the concept of a mini bar and the coffee is clearly placed in a way that makes the guest think it's free of charge. This is dishonest. Shame on you Hotel Monterey!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from Bountiful, UT

Economical stay in the heart of Kyoto

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: The room was very comfortable. We paid for what I thought was a queen bed and ended up with the widest king bed I have ever seen.
Location: As far as location, I would prefer to stay closer to Kyoto Station as there seemed to be more going on there. It was a good central location.
The price of the room was the best feature. The hotel is located in the center of Kyoto so it is easy to get around using the Karasuma-Line subway and bus system. We opted for a taxi to see sights not close to a train or subway line. The breakfast offers both traditional Japanese and Western food. The Western breakfast was a little weak and over-priced. We spent most of our mornings at a bakery in the subway station or a cafe down the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is in the middle of Kyoto so it is half way to everything. It is also very close to the Nijo castle and tje gyon district. However, the room is small, has no drawers to put clothes and the AC is noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by K&L 2014 from Sydney, Australia

room is too small for the price

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room is too small for two adults with large size luggage. It is sort of close walking distance to the shopping area but really rely on subway to get to-and-from sightseeing locations.
3 out of 5
by love Kyoto from LA

pricey for small room and poor amenities.

Posted May 26, 2014
Good location for transportation, shops, restaurants, etc. Staff helpful and courteous. Small room, no dresser or other storage. OK for a single occupant with one bag and one nighter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Two stops on the subway from Kyoto Station (~1.5 -2 miles) at the edge of the central business/tourist district, Gion district ~20 min walk from hotel on main streets. Other sites accessible by buses 2-3 blocks away. Many restaurants and coffee shops around. Staff helpful, almost always someone around who spoke enough english to make recommendations. Hotel facilities very nice and clean, not the most comfortable beds I've ever had. Would definitely recommend and will definitely keep it in mind for future Kyoto trips.