Ratings based on 512 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from Bountiful, UT

Economical stay in the heart of Kyoto

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: The room was very comfortable. We paid for what I thought was a queen bed and ended up with the widest king bed I have ever seen.
Location: As far as location, I would prefer to stay closer to Kyoto Station as there seemed to be more going on there. It was a good central location.
The price of the room was the best feature. The hotel is located in the center of Kyoto so it is easy to get around using the Karasuma-Line subway and bus system. We opted for a taxi to see sights not close to a train or subway line. The breakfast offers both traditional Japanese and Western food. The Western breakfast was a little weak and over-priced. We spent most of our mornings at a bakery in the subway station or a cafe down the street.
3 out of 5
by love Kyoto from LA

pricey for small room and poor amenities.

Posted May 26, 2014
Good location for transportation, shops, restaurants, etc. Staff helpful and courteous. Small room, no dresser or other storage. OK for a single occupant with one bag and one nighter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best I've stayed in Japan

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: THE BED
Compared to the micro-rooms we had in Tokyo, this room was heaven!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cass from M

Good location and perfectly clean

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Room was small but tgat is to be expected in Japan. Bed was massive - probably could have done with a normal size bed so we had a place to put suitcases. Room and bathroom were absolutely spotless and cleaned to a high standard. Good location close to great eating places and department stores. 30 min walk to main train station, taxi cost $10 so pretty good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Very good hotel in a good location

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Location: This street is right on the North-South subway line, and close to the East-West line.
A very nice hotel, with excellent staff and service. Being located near a stop on the subway line makes it easy to get around. Only about a 15-20 min ride to get to the conference centre, there's a tunnel connecting the conference centre to the subway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by figureskater from Edmonton, AB, Canada

Best hotel we had in Japan!

Posted Mar 28, 2014
My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights and used Kyoto as a base for also exploring Hiroshima and Osaka. Check-in was a breeze as staff spoke excellent English. The room was spacious by Japanese standards and very clean. The bed and pillows were comfortable and walls sound proof. No complaints at all about this hotel! The best part was the easy access it provided to Kyoto station. A 5 minute train ride and you can easily access other parts of the country from there. When arriving from Kyoto station, take exit 5 and you will need to turn right on street level. The hotel is a quick 2 blocks down. Very close to Nishiki food market which has great eating and souvenirs. There are also 3 Starbucks within blocks of the hotel, a Fresco supermarket and a Family Mart across the street. You could not ask for a better location or more comfortable stay while in Kyoto. Free wi-fi in the room worked great. Also, their bath tubs are amazing! Nothing quite like having a hot soak in your room after a day of walking around seeing temples!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jono from sydney

Nice area. Easily accessible.

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Pros: Clean. Very good service, courteous.
Location: Close to nishiki markets, Kawaramachi cho, Gion, Pontocho.lots of shops and department stores nearby. Train station is only a few minutes say.
We stayed for 5 nights in kyoto Monterey hotel. Hotel staff were great and very helpful. I had organised to visit kokedera and that temple requires a pre booking as they will send you an admission postcard which was delivered to the hotel before our arrival in kyoto. When we checked in, the concierge had already printed out a map, timetable and suggestions to go pet to this temple. Very impressed. The only thing was the actual timetable was an older timetable so not correct. The hotel was also very helpful to organise baggage shipping to our next destination. They gave us an upgrade to our double room, and bed was enormous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by B from singapore

Excellent hotel for short stay 3-4 days

Posted Feb 6, 2014
It is near the kyoto train station and some subway station nearby. The hotel is set against a very European style of architecture where things are a little rustic and antiquated. There is also spa and onsen bath at the very top of the hotel that you can try for a very reasonable price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MILTCHALIEV

Excellent service, comfortable stay, good location

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Absolutely loved this hotel, the rooms were lovely and very clean. Beds were very cosy to sleep in. Definitely coming back to stay here! Best service we have ever received in Japan!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Cons: Staff at reception and lobby are not that helpful
Location: location is good
Very good location and we enjoyed our stay.