Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by W/G from Vancouver, Canada

Close to Kyoto

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Location: Otsu does seem extremely quite and dark at night time. *Otsu is apparently a resort town, but we did not explore the surroundings.
Located above the Subway Exit. We were visiting during the Cherry Blossom Season, so we were unable to book a reservation at a hotel in Kyoto. Otsu is a short 2 Train stops away from Kyoto Station, and the trains leave frequently, until around midnight. The room was fine, but not exceptional. Since the Train tracks are located to the North of the building, you can hear the train sounds. The trains stop between 12-4:00AM, but promptly start up again. If you are staying here, it is best to be located on the South-facing side, to hopefully cut down on this sound. The restaurant food on the Main level is pretty good; we tried the Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner. The only oddity was the continual use of the music loop from the Carpenter's Best Hits recordings. This is the only music that they play throughout the day, and the music has stuck in my memory for 2 Weeks. Any other recordings, or no music would be preferred. The staff is nice, but speaks very little English. There is no Wi-fi available which leaves the small,old computer that is in proximity to reception. This keyboard is the most frustrating that we have ever encountered, because it often switches between english and Japanese, and so a quick message turns into an exercise in self-control. Otherwise, it was a good visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location! Very close to the subways.

Posted Apr 20, 2014
The hotel staff was very friendly and although they didn't speak much English, they really tried to understand us and we were able to communicate enough. To get to the JR trains you need to walk through a short tunnel around the hotel which is not that inconvenient. It's about a short 2-3 block walk. There is a 7 eleven right outside the train station. The hotel room is a good size and you get a refrigerator in the room. Great location because it's close to the stations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Zorica from Vancouver, Canada

Nice hotel in nice area

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Excellent position, clean rooms, friendly staff.
I've stayed in the Tetora Otsu for 5 nights in April and had really pleasant experience. Hotel is clean, right at the train station but quiet and comfortable. It takes only 10 minutes to reach Kyoto by the train that is covered by rail pass. Staff is friendly and despite their lack of English knowledge they've been trying hard to help and meet all our needs. They've kept apologizing for not understanding the English which was so nice of them considering that we should feel bad about not speaking their language.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel which was very reasonably priced.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
The hotel staff were very friendly, even with limited English. The only thing to be improved that I could think of would be to provide free wifi in the room, rather than through a LAN Ethernet port.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by JS from Korea

Clean & Comfy...but not "plugged in".

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Good: We found the hotel staff to be very kind (although not too helpful -- there were no English speakers and we do not speak Japanese). Our room was clean and cozy, and the hotel was quiet. It was very convenient to be literally ABOVE the train station -- but we found that the JR line closed too early for our New Years' festivities (we had to wait 45 minutes on a very cold train platform at 2:30am on New Years). The Bad: We were not aware that the hotel did not have WIFI...or any means of acquiring internet for our devices (they did offer an ethernet cord...not helpful for using tablet or smartphones).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Al from New York City

Very convenient, clean room

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel Tetora offers a very good deal: great location by the JR Otsu station, clean, large rooms, and friendly helpful staff. Just a few things disrupted my stay there: 1) No WIFI--this is not acceptable; 2) the vending machine room was dirty. Also, if you are a foreigner using a JR Rail Pass, you will not be able to use the easy entrance to the train station, you will have to go all the way around to show the JR staff member your pass in order to get in/out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ram from New Zealand

Great service

Posted Oct 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Despite their language limitation, the staff manning the front counter went out of their way to help us find information about places we intended to visit by providing us with maps and train details.