Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Karyn from New Zealand

Great hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2014
We stayed here 4 nights in mid january. Great hotel which at first didn't seem like a great location - but once we got our bearings was perfect - easy access to trains and buses to any of the tourist destinations. Onsen was fantastic! cleanliness of onsen, rooms etc was impeccable. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends. Breakfast was included and arrived in a box at a time of your choice - we weren't too fussed on the breakfasts. Great to have a microwave to heat meals from great supermarket across the street. Could do with some cutlery and plates in the room, although reception was happy to hand out plastic cutlery and paper plates on request. overall a great hotel. Would be good to have wi fi in the rooms - but was comfortable in reception to use wi fi. Good laundry facilities
3 out of 5
by Martin from Yokohama, Japan

Not quite as we expected

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: The baths and I was genuinely quite comfortable in the beds.
Cons: The SERVICE. The staff could learn to smile. On the one time we asked for some help, it felt like such a chore for them.
Location: If you want a break from Japanese food, there is a good italian / pizza restaurant close by. Otherwise head to Gion for the authentic food.
Going to keep it short and sweet (because I feel lazy tonight): 1. Small rooms. 2. Make your own bed (yes, I know its Japanese, but other ryokan I've stayed at had the staff come in and prepare the beds). 3. Miserable staff - probably the least friendly Nihonjing I've met in 1.5 years of living here. 4. God awful breakfast, we'd seen this in other reviews, and now we agree. We refused breakfast for our remaining stay after the first night. 5. GOOD NEWS, the baths are, as my girlfriend says: "perfect, lovely, just bliss". 6. Fairly central location. Easy to travel around. 7. The foyer was like a car boot sale, with clothing rails and odd bits scattered about, bringing down the whole vibe. This can only lead me to concluding the manager is clueless! If I was heading back to Kyoto tomorrow..... I'd probably look elsewhere for my accomodation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jess from Melbourne, Australia

Great location, the room we had was perfect.

Posted Jan 19, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and Location.
Cons: The breakfast offerings.
Location: Its a short walk to Teramachi Street shopping, department stores, trains and castles.
Once we found our hotel in the pouring rain at night, the staff quickly welcomed us into a great room with a mix of Western and Japanese culture. The location was perfect for exploring the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by PandaCookie from Sydney

10 min walk from JR line, 5 min walk for bus

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Pros: The folding couches that we used for beds...
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Seems to be in the middle of nowhere but since I am not a local I probably missed lots of things. It is 10 mins away from JR line which was great...
Didn't use any of the facilities myself so I won't say anything about them... The included breakfast was quite terrible but can still pass as a meal... The elevator gets stopped at another level or 2 by staff every time you use it but they refuse to ride with you (guess it is a hotel policy that says "staff shall not ride the elevator with customers" or something) Overall, if this is just a place to crash at the end of the day, it's perfect... Wouldn't stay there again though...
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Simon from Sydney

spacious room and great food

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room is spacious. Good service and the choice of breadfast is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lance from Aus

Awesome hotel in a convenient location

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, clean, friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are interesting and big for Japanese standards. Couldn't ask for more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Japanese rooms are nice

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: Location is good staff is great Room service is great Japanese style room was very clean
Cons: Breakfast isnt very good but overall nothing else needs improvment
Location is good near JRline, kyoto city buses for site seeing, kyoto subway, kyoto buses to get everywhere Staff is great Room service is great Japanese style room was very clean Great place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Good size rooms

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
We found the rooms to be large and comfortable. The hotel is pretty close to the subway (if not the JR station) and overall was a good stay. Was a little taken aback when one of the first things we were told at check-in is that we were expected to set up the room and make up our own beds - not sure why they don't do that but wasn't a huge hassle. Didn't really get any value out of the continental breakfast and asked them not to worry by the 3rd day and also didn't have the best results from dining options recommended in the hotel local guide (maybe just unlucky) but staff tried hard to help out when they could. Overall a good option for value and size/comfort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location. Very clean and well located

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Great city! Loved it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by omar from MEL

Great for traditional japanese rooms

Posted Dec 29, 2013
The traditional rooms we stayed in we're excellent, with ample comfortable bedding and fresh linens everyday. Modern western style bathroom and close proximity to public transport are great for tourists looking to experience traditional japanese style accommodation in comfort and convenience. Only downside is not very central to the heart of the entertainment district for those looking for nightlife. Taxis can get expensive. Make sure you pronounce it "Vill-aaaj" to the taxi driver or he won't understand! Else hotel is very close to Shin Omiya station.