Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

love the hotel

Posted Dec 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is very clean and we'll located in the shopping shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to the action

Posted Dec 12, 2013
Pros: Location
Great hotel, a bit small on rooms but who long do you ever spend in them. Location is brilliant right in the centre of Kyoto
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Inexpensive and clean

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Pros: Great location. Walk to shops, food and Gion.
Cons: It was way to hot at night as the airconitioning was shut off.
Inexpensive and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gina from Calif

Perfect location

Posted Nov 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
One can walk everywhere in the heart of Kyoto, or are close to easy use trains. The Fushimi inari Shrine and Sanjusangendo, Gion, so manythings to see and you can get help on how to get there from the English speaking hotel staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Williams from Reno, NV

A great hotel in Kyoto

Posted Nov 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our room was beautiful and had wonderful amenities. We actually found every hotel in Japan (we stayed in American brands only) to be large, very comfortable and included everything you might need like toothbrushes, razor, brush and comb, q-tips and best of all are those toilets that wash you. The location of the Kyoto stay was close to shopping and dining . A wonderful french bakery for breakfast around the corner and even a McDonalds and Burger King and KFC nearby for quick snacks. Even in American hotels we found English to be a struggle for the Japanese, but they are so polite and helpful that you forget you're not at home. The only complaint with the Best Western in Kyoto is that internet is only available in the lobby and the lobby is very small, so internet was not a convenient option. For visiting the sites, we used taxis instead of the bus and it was much easier and quicker. Almost anywhere around the city for ten or eleven dollars (USD) each way. One last thing, the hotel is not widely known by taxi drivers and is not on a street with cars, so bring the address and a small map to show the drivers. They let you off on a corner in front of shopping and you walk about 100 yards to the hotel next to a Dr Martins shoe store.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location, small Hotel

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: staff and location
Cons: wifi in room safe deposit box
Location: near Niski market and no 5 bus, easy to get anywhere. Walked to Gion
Staff very helpful Location off main street down a little road about 50 meters Room exceptional clean but very small and probably too much furniture in room Fridge in room Tea and kettle Big clean bath heated toilet seat! No safe box in room No windows to look out just a screen which let in light but then l was hardly in room
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Reesa from Edinburgh

Best Western Kyoto

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Cons: The ventilation system!!! Individual controls in each room please.
Lovely clean modern hotel with excellent staff. Our biggest complaint was the ventilation of the rooms. We visited in November 2013 and were amazed that the heating/cooling system is controlled centrally. We were initially on the top floor with a larger room. But due to sheer heat of the room, we had to move rooms. The staff were very helpful, they had tried to cool the room with fans but with no success. I can't imagine what it would be like to stay here in the summer! Other than this I cant fault the hotel. The location is excellent also.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Stephen from Hong Kong

Good Hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good location, clean hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Exceeded my Expectations

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was pleasantly surprised by Best Western Hotel Kyoto. First, the location is perfect...right in the middle of downtown Kyoto, close to shops, markets, restaurants, and subway/bus stations. Second, the hotel itself is extremely clean and well decorated. The bed was extremely comfortable and the comforter and pillows were down. The bathroom was very clean and the shower/tub, sink and toilet seemed to be brand new. The rooms were small for US standards but average for Japan standards. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms they have, and it was still larger than other hotels in Japan that we previously stayed in. Lastly, the service was great. They spoke English, were polite and accommodating. They even lent us umbrellas when it rained. I would stay there again if I ever return to Kyoto.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Hudson from Atlanta, USA

Posted Oct 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Above average lodging in a fantastic location. Could use better restaurant facilities but overall we would not hesitate to stay there again.