Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Johann from Calgary, Canada

A nice hotel but not very well located

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Service was excellent
Cons: A kettle and cups to enable guests to make coffee in the rooms.
Location: Location not very central, near restaurants (other than within the hotel) or close to main tourist areas. At least a 20min walk from Gion area.
STAR RATINGS: Location: xxx Door service: xxxxx Front counter service: xxxxx Restaurant service: xxxxx Hotel foyer appearance. xxxxx Room appearance: xxxxx Room practicalities: xxxx Room facilities: xxxx Room cleanliness: xxxxx Bathroom appearance: xxxx Breakfast buffet available selection: xxxx Breakfast quality: xxxx Summary: An excellent hotel, but slightly on the expensive side for not being located very well. If we had to do it again, we would likely have tried for a hotel closer to the Gion area. In the absence of such availability, we would visit this hotel again. All in all a pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lucy from Knoxville TN

Great location!

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff would be tops on our list. Also, we were pleasantly surprised at how close some of the shrines we wanted to visit were.
Cons: We tried to eat at the totally empty restaurant downstairs one evening and were not treated well because we did not have a reservation.
Location: Great location. Two top tourist attractions are next door and across the street. Easy to get around by taxi, bus, or walking.
We loved this hotel. It was in a great location for many of the things that we wanted to do! The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We loved relaxing in the bar downstairs after a busy day around the city! We tried the shiatsu massages one day, and they were great!! Good restaurants if you don't want to venture out for meals sometimes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amy from London

Fantastic hotel perfectly located

Posted May 25, 2014
The Hyatt Regency is fantastically located in Southern Higashiyama only a 10min taxi ride from Kyoto station and in easy walking distance of all of the main sights in northern and southern Higashiyama. There are always taxis outside of the hotel so should you wish to travel anywhere by taxi they are always on hand. The room was beautiful, of a great size with a fantastic bathroom/wet room. You could not ask for more. Extremely quiet and thoroughly relaxing. Staff at the hotel could not do more to help or make you feel more welcome. With restaurant reservations and the loan of hair straighteners (life saver!) they has everything covered. We ate in each of the 3 restaurants whilst staying at the hotel and each as wonderful as they other. We would struggle to find anything at all to say negatively about this hotel and would most definitely stay here again if in Kyoto.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Victor from Melbourne/Shanghai

Quiet location close to Kyoto Station

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: Perfect location
Cons: concierge service, as described above, and improved coffee making skills
Location: Located next to the famous Sanjusangendo Temple and across the road from the Kyoto Museum
Perfect location. 5 minutes by bus (bus stop just outside the hotel) and/or taxi to Kyoto Station and yet situated in a quiet neighbourhood on the edge of the Higashiyama District. Close to Gion District too. Hotel provides free taxi shuttle service from the Kyoto Station. Very pleasant twin bed room overlooking the garden. Availed myself of room service breakfast delivered on the dot and very satisfactory. Variable concierge service ranging from excellent (by a female head concierge(?), don't know her name), to perfunctory by her colleague. Had pizza for dinner one night in the hotel restaurant, excellent quality from the stone oven. Had to turn back the coffee though. Asked for a ristretto (strong single espresso, the coffee didn't have the proper crema (and I know my coffee, would never stoop to buying coffee at Starbucks)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jay from Seattle

Terrific service, great location

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: National museum, river walk, Kiyomizu-dera temple
Was there with my family. Left passports locked in room safe and boarded shuttle to Kansai airport. Hotel staff promptly obtained them and brought to the airport by taxi. I will stay at Hyatt Regency Kyoto every time I return to Kyoto.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by june from perth wa

Lovely hotel but not central

Posted Apr 20, 2014
The design is in keeping with the Kyoto style but modernised. The staff is amazing especially the concierge service. You'll have to taxi from hotel to the train station but it's reasonable in costs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Katya from Hilton Head Island

Wonderful hotel in Kyoto

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Design is simple, but very warm.
Cons: N/a
Location: Best choice in Kyoto, unless you want to stay in the Japaneese style Ryokan. Everything is a short taxi drive or walking distance.
Very nice hotel, very good example of Hyatt, beautiful design and friendly staff. Best choice in Kyoto, unless you want to stay in the Japaneese style Ryokan. Everything is a short taxi drive or walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Natalie

Serene and peaceful

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Stunning, perfect in it's simplicity. Nothing bad to say about this hotel. Staff are top class!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by San from Fremantle

Lovely Hotel, Great and conveniant location

Posted Jan 25, 2014
Pros: Great conveniant location - easy access to public transport - very helpfull staff that gave good helpfull advice inrelation the sights&getting there
Cons: Breakfast buffet maybe a little limited however overall a excellant hotel and a great enjoyable stay.
Location: The Hotel is only a short taxi or bus ride from the main train station. The area is in the middle of the temple district&is easy to access these sites