Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Fantastic service but rooms slightly undersized

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Staff/ service. Cleanliness / attention to detail.
Cons: Wait staff language skills in the Japanese restaurant in particular was underwhelming. Led to some food-related issues.
Location: Very close to some beautiful shrines and temples. Otherwise a short cab ride to major attractions in Tokyo.
Overall, like most of my limited experience in Japanese hotels the staff was wonderfully friendly and accommodating. The hotel was very sleek, modern, clean, etc. Food at the main grill was wonderful, though I don't recommend the pricey tapas style Japanese restaurant below.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota, Florida

Great location and accommodation

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: The comfortable space and furniture in the room AND the extremely helpful hotel staff.
Location: The location was very convenient to public transportation and to the sights of Kyoto.
We were so pleased with our experience at the Hyatt Regency Kyoto Hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and gave us lots of good tips on restaurants, transportation options and sights to visit. The room was very comfortable and had plenty of room to work and relax. We ate at the Italian restaurant and at the breakfast restaurant - the food was excellent, although the coffee was overpriced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from the Hudson Valley, NY

RealIy. . . I 'd Like to Live This Way Forever.

Posted Aug 30, 2014
This hotel was made for me. The easy elegance of this place is just how I imagine heaven would be. Great design; hip, but not trying too hard to please. My kind of place. It rated an easy Five Stars, but there was a down-side. Our "Non-smoking" room, due to an unsympathetic A/C system, I suppose, smelled like a bar at 3am. Maybe I'm just getting soft & pampered. . . or maybe Hyatt could segregate the Smokers from the Non-smokers a bit better??? And, the view from our window was un-remarkable. I know I'm in Kyoto, but the view could have been Hoboken or Desmoine; not living up to the grace and comfort of rest of the place. I'd suggest a little Zen garden something or a grove of bamboo. You know, that's why we come to Kyoto. The food in the hotel restaurants was, mostly, excellent and the breakfast buffet was as good as you have any right to expect. The staff was aggressively wonderful. And, then, there's the bathroom. . . Be informed: your bathroom probably won't have a lock on it. In fact it won't even have a DOOR. Some people (like our teenage daughter), will find this alarming. Personally, I loved it: a smart & playful use of space and frosted glass. Top fixtures & surfaces, too. Does one need more? Although not centrally-located, the Hyatt is next door to Sanjusangen-do, which is worthy of your close attention, and across the street from the National Museum (unfortunately closed for renovations until September 13, 2014).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and excellent service.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
The staff were excellent - both at reception/front-desk and in providing room service. Hotel overall was wonderful. Breakfast was not included in our room charge and was pricey. Breakfast service was not the best as it was quite crowded when we went there. A shopping mart, Japanese restaurant and McDonalds are within conveniently located within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Kyoto in June 2014

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: The room is correct: 2 full beds and a nice bathroom
Cons: The breakfast, I would like to have more fresh fruits.
The hotel is a little bit far from the center of Kyoto, but there were two beautiful temples nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Texas, USA

Good location, Hard bed

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The room was very nice and the breakfast buffet was great.
Cons: The beds were hard and a pool would have been great.
Location: It's next door to the sajusangento temple and across the street from the museum.
The hotel is in a quiet part of the city, next door to the sajusangento temple and across the street from the museum. The train station is a 30 min. walk from the hotel. The room was very nice, with a great bathroom, however the bed was hard, which made sleeping difficult.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cupertino, CA

Elegant Hotel Near Train Station

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Elegant lobby and rooms; great bathrooms with spa-like decor; friendly and professional staff; great location.
Cons: In addition to tea bags, would be nice to also have coffee in the room Would also be helpful if hotel lobby could have an ATM
Location: Not much nearby, but easy walk to subway
Inviting, warm and elegant hotel in the graceful city of Kyoto. Spent 3 nights in this lovely hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Victor from Taiwan

Mr

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent service. Good value & location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Fantastic service...found my camera.

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
I am very thankful to the wonderful staff here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Johann from Calgary, Canada

A nice hotel but not very well located

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Service was excellent
Cons: A kettle and cups to enable guests to make coffee in the rooms.
Location: Location not very central, near restaurants (other than within the hotel) or close to main tourist areas. At least a 20min walk from Gion area.
STAR RATINGS: Location: xxx Door service: xxxxx Front counter service: xxxxx Restaurant service: xxxxx Hotel foyer appearance. xxxxx Room appearance: xxxxx Room practicalities: xxxx Room facilities: xxxx Room cleanliness: xxxxx Bathroom appearance: xxxx Breakfast buffet available selection: xxxx Breakfast quality: xxxx Summary: An excellent hotel, but slightly on the expensive side for not being located very well. If we had to do it again, we would likely have tried for a hotel closer to the Gion area. In the absence of such availability, we would visit this hotel again. All in all a pleasant stay.