Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good experience but once is enough

Posted Jan 30, 2015 on Hotels.com
Location is not close to main street, need to walk around 5-10 minutes to get the train or bus. There is no lift in the house, you need to carry the luggage upstair yourself. Room is clean but small, there is almost no space left after we opened our bed blankets (two) and our luggage. Some equipment may be old, we found the door lock is hard to lock from inside, but the staff fixed it in the second day. The kitchen is shared and the equipment is consummate. Staff is nice and polite. They would try to answer all your enquiry, and even could sell you the one-day bus pass. The reception is not in the same house, staff would take you there while checking in, and you need to get there youself while checking out. We took a plan with shared toilet and bathroom. Both were clean but I still recommend the plan with private ones as we found someone smoked inside the toilet. Overall, it is good to experience the tranditional japanese culture.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by YAFANGfrom Taiwan

很棒的日式房子~

Posted Dec 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
住日式房子是很好的體驗經驗,雖然隔音差了一點,但是整體來說感覺很棒喔。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ka Yinfrom Hong Kong

Warm hostel

Posted Dec 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Katefrom Cronulla, Australia

Modern Kyoto living with a touch of tradition!

Posted Dec 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our apartment was very clean & right in the heart of a lovely quiet neighbourhood just a short walk from a main street. They offered traditional futons & tatami mat floors as well as the usual modern kitchen & bathroom luxuries. Staff were very friendly & helpful in showing us the different building locations as reception & lounge room area were up the street from our apartment building. Short taxi ride (or longer walk) to the Gion district & Kyoto tower in the opposite direction. We would definitely recommend this to others!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Good value ryokan

Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very clean hotel, great location and good value to experience staying in a Ryokan in Kyoto.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Stephanefrom Hong Kong

Traditional hotel/hostel in traditional Japan

Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Traditional Japanese style hotel. I liked it, the tatami was quite smelly but I guess it is normal. If you are in a upstair room, you have to use a ladder to access your room. For one night, it was fine and felt very Japanese like room. Staff was nice but one of the receptionist (the one that could speak English the best was quite unpleasant and it felt like we were bothering her. Neighbourhood was nice and it's a 10 min walk from the main station. I dont regret going there for a night (perhaps a second one) but not sure I would go again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

nice but dusty

Posted Nov 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had an ensuite Japanese room, which was effectively an apartment with a tiny kitchen, tiny bathroom and big balcony. The room was clean, but the air was stuffy (the curtains and futon must be dusty). The internet access was bad and intermittent, good enough for sending emails, but not for surfing. The staff was helpful and we enjoyed having our own little apartment in Kyoto.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Stephaniefrom HKSAR

Great Minshuku Experience

Posted Oct 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Although the location was a bit tricky, we enjoyed our stay. The staff have good English and were friendly. The rooms were decent with a good shower and tub.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

有特色的榻榻米

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
周边都是民宿,这家也像是民宿改的。走进巷子里,很幽静,两边都是独门独幢的民宅,这家酒店(其实更准确的说是旅馆)住的房间和前台不再一幢楼里,但很近,巷子里走走就到了,很有归属感的住处。出行的话可以在前台租自行车,自己感觉京都玩玩最好的交通工具是自行车,还可以在前台借到和服穿
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2014 on Hotels.com