Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tye

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Convenient Ryokan Experience

Posted Jul 18, 2011 on Hotels.com
Hotel Iroha Ryokan is a modern style hotel/ryokan, not the traditional wooden house style establishment. The room was very spacious, the hot baths large and well set up and the staff were most helpful and friendly. We did not have meals at the ryokan but we enjoyed a special treat of meeting and chatting with a maiko in the hotel bar for the cost of a drink. This was a special event and a great experience. The position is very central to all that Kyoto has to offer and value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from California

Great Ryokan

Posted Jan 22, 2011
This ryokan is a great place for people who have never stayed Japanese style before. It was very clean and extremely convenient for sightseeing in Kyoto. Just two issues - being a person with no sense of direction, a map that lists details such as "turn right at the XXX coffee shop and continue one block" would have made it easier to find from the subway station. I found that kind of map much more helpful when finding other ryokan in Japan. Also, there were some staff who were downright rude and others who were very helpful. I never knew what I would encounter when I had to ask a question. Overall, though, I would recommend staying here as it was very reasonable, and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2010 on Hotels.com
The room and the bath area downstairs were very clean. The room was pretty large, with nice Japanese touches. The only minor minus was the very bright halogen lamp, which clashed with the toned-down, minimalistic, tatami-and-cots decor. Overall, a good experience, and the hotel is very conveniently located, right next to a major bus station, a metro stop, and a walking distance from the sights of South Higashiyama.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from South Korea

Great location!

Posted Aug 18, 2010
The hotel is in a great location and at a great price. My boyfriend and I loved the traditional Ryokan experience and would recommend the hotel to anyone. Although, we only ate breakfast at the hotel once it was very delicious and worth the extra cash.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Branch, New Jersey

Would not recommend it

Posted Jul 22, 2010
I was looking for a ryokan because I saw them featured in travel books and I read that Kyoto has many more than Tokyo. When I looked up ryokans a few days ahead of time, this was the only one available save for one other which was more than twice as expensive. So we booked this one. From the travel books, I expected a warm greeting, a tour of the facility including the onsen, and some explanation of the yukata. None of this happened. We were not impressed with the welcoming service. The halls were dormitory like. The room albeit traditional, was old. We figured out the yukata and the onsen, and the onsen was fine, but the overall experience was not relaxing nor culturally enriching. Lastly, a traditional breakfast was to be served with local specialties, but we had eggs, ham, toast and salad. There remained much to be desired......
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and musty

Posted Jul 27, 2009 on Hotels.com
While the rooms are in fact cute - the building is old and the lobby is in need of repair. We had a cute room on the 6th floor but it was an old building in need of work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Aspen

Great hotel price and location

Posted Feb 23, 2009 on Hotels.com
Great hotel great location I saw this same hotel at other sites for triple the price I paid at hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from ASPEN

GREAT PRICE FOR A JAPANESE STYLE ROOM

Posted Feb 13, 2009 on Hotels.com
GREAT PRICE AND LOCATION FOR A JAPANESE STYLE ROOM...I SAW THIS SAME HOTEL ROOM PRICED FOR AROUND $300.00 MORE PER NIGHT THAN I PAID THE ONLY DIFFERENCE WAS AT THAT PRICE IT INCLUDED BREAKFAST. RIGHT NEXT TO THE SUBWAY STOP AND WALKING DISTANCE TO GION GEISHA DISTRICT.