Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ray from Taiwan

unclean

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Both room and passageway are unclean, especially passageway have unpleasant odor. Compared with other guesthouses, there are better options in Kyoto.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by jojo from adelaide

location is great

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Book a bunk bed room but regreted. room was small and window facing another concrete wall with 30cm away. Clean could match most Japanes hotel standard. Paid $70 for both of us, did not experience the shower room cos next door is lavatory. Recommened to go public bath- sento instead
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Ben from Omaha, NE

Great Hostel/Backpacker Hotel in downtown Kyoto

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Cheap, clean rooms and showers.
Cons: Hours and number of washing machines could be increased.
Location: You're in Kyoto (the old capital of Japan). Literally hundreds of sites, temples, and shrines to visit Food okay, but try exploring beyond downtown
Stayed here for night, trying to live on cheap during trip through Japan. Hostel was well kept and clean. Staff friendly and speaks English.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ploypink from Bangkok, Thailand

Best hostel right in the city center.

Posted May 7, 2014
The hostel was very clean and the staffs were so helpful. It has easy access to few different train/subway stations. One small minus point is the air-con in the room i stayed in (2E) didn't work properly. I just opened the window as it was about 13-14 c' outside which was fine, but it would be way too hot during summer time. Overall, it is still the best hostel i've ever stayed in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Vanessa from New Zealand

Handy location!

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Clean, tidy and cosy. Hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. Close proximity to everything you need. Felt safe and secure too.
Cons: Not much really - a great stay for the price!
Location: Lots of the major shrines and temples are within walking distance. Heaps of eating places, shops around. Convenience store next door. Close to train.
A great wee place to stay to check out the major tourist sites in Kyoto. Literally just around the corner from the train station in Shimogyo-ku - very easy to find. Very tidy and cosy, staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were small and quite dark but were clean and okay for a few nights. Toilets and showers were clean and no wait. Close to lots of shops, landmarks and food places. Plenty to do around the area and has lots of shrines and temples within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Cath from Singapore

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Near shopping area, easy to get food & easy access to buy stop. Small room but cozy & clean, overall a comfortable room. Clean shower space & they provide shower gel & shampoo. I personally find the shower gel smell good. The only disadvantage is water in the shower too samll. Ladies guest with long hair did not care to pick up their dropped hair in the wash basin. Children running around the room corridor & we can clearly hear the noise in our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by TravelAficionado from Los Angeles

Superb value

Posted Dec 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hostels aren't for everybody, so understand this before you commit to staying at one for several days. Khaosan guesthouse is, however, as good as a hostel as you can get, for these reasons: private shower closets, private toilet rooms, and free computer stations. I stayed in a private room with two beds so I cannot comment on the dormitory experience. The only negative aspects of this hostel are related to the other guests who are staying there. For instance, somebody stole my yogurt cup from the fridge. And there were a couple of international travelers next door who spoke really loudly (the walls are very, very thin). Also, having Toto toilets with bidets and butt cleaners are a terrible idea for hostels, because hostels attract international guests who will not know how to properly use them. I can't tell you how gross it is to walk into a toilet closet and find bidet water sprayed all over the toilet seat and toilet seat cover and the floor, because somebody didn't use it right and didn't clean up after themselves. Still, if not for the other guests, this hostel is really an outstanding value for the area, and for Kyoto in general. Easy access to public transportation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lee from KL, Malaysia

location

Posted Nov 30, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: bed
Location: Shopping & foods
guest house located very center, very convenience to excess public transport, nearby many restaurant, for foods is no problem. shopping mall are nearby, walking distance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2013