Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Beautiful hotel with excellent staff

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The staff were very attentive and efficient without being intrusive. The rooms were beautiful and immaculately kept. Great attention to detail.
Cons: Pool season could be longer (pool opened at the end of June, though it was 33C when we were there in late June).
Location: We rented bikes and went for a short ride, and easily found the kinds of places we look for - those frequented by locals, not just for tourists.
This was, to my mind, a luxury hotel. We were initially a bit nervous when we booked due to some reviewers complaints about its location. It's not on the river. It's not in the wildly expensive tourist or business parts of town. For our purposes, it was great. Outstanding and thoughtful service, a real treat at the end of a long trip. A fellow reviewer recommended a coffee shop for a quick pleasant and inexpensive breakfast - it's just up the street to the right as you leave the hotel from the main lobby, at the corner, with the red awning that says "Coffee Shop" It's not affiliated with the hotel in any way, but it's good and for under 2000 yen for a family of four for breakfast, it's far more economical than 3000 yen per person for the hotel restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Damean from louisville

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Love the place. Attentive staff with wonderful services. Although a little far from anywhere, but the bus shuttle will drops you at the subway from which you could get to everywhere. Very highly recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Love this hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff was very helpful and attentive. Bed's were great. Rooms stylish and really clean. They folded my son's clothes that were thrown on the floor! I will stay again without question.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel but no breakfast included in the price and expensive if you wanted to pay for the restaurant. Nice location near the imperial palace but also quite far from downtown Kyoto
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff make up for location

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Location: Imperial Palace. Everything else was a taxi ride
Brighton was not the most convenient location for touring Kyoto . However we found that Kyoto was more spread out to get to for touring anyway. Therefore a different location might not have been any different. The staff at Brighton made up for the inconvenience of location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent!

Posted May 24, 2014
Taxi divers know how good this hotel is. Japanese tourists may not know but this may be a good thing for a visitor from abroad like me. K.Hamada
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Peter Stewart from Brisbane Australia

Third stay at Brighton Kyoto

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
The service & friendliness of staff is the best of any hotel I've stayed anywhere in the world. So Japanese,with so much care given even to arranging cakes for display. We don't just overnight to Europe here from Australia but plan a few days so beautiful is the city, & comforting the thought of a Brighton break. Peter Stewart
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel a bit outdated

Posted May 8, 2014
Nice, clean room but quite outdated except the bathroom which was rather new. Staff was very friendly. Overall, a rather pricey hotel. The hotel is close to the Imperial Palace so not in the heart of Kyoto. Taking the shuttle bus to the subway station was an easy few minutes ride.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from London

great location, traditional Japanese hospitality

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: Staff service was out of this world
Cons: Breakfast buffet. Storage space for clothes in the room (virtually no drawers and tiny little hanger space)
Location: Imperial Palace Gardens
Rooms are simple but well equipped with a great tea-set to do your own Japanese tea ceremony. The concierge and front staff are excellent and will do anything. We lost some personal property at a museum and the staff helped us recover it. They also gave us the location of a local coin-op laundry and a fabulous list of restaurants in town. The bus into town operates every 20 minutes and is a great savings. Location is perfect next to the Imperial Palace Gardens on a quiet street. The Japanese restaurant was delicious. One small complaint could be the breakfast buffet, which was lacking in variety and quality.