Ratings based on 295 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spacious Guest Rooms for a hotel in Japan

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: SPACIOUS, well-equipped rooms. Location: walking distance to imperial palace and the main subway line. Easy availability of taxis.
Location: Walking distance to Kyoto Imperial Palace, and close to the multitude of temples for which Kyoto is renowned.
We chose this hotel for its location near the Kyoto Imperial Palace, where we had booked an English-language tour. When we checked in, we were pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms! Seen from the outside, this hotel is not a modern architectural marvel with strange, bold angles and weird shapes. It is a traditional, rectangular building with rectangular rooms. That is its advantage in a world of hotels boasting wondrous architectural shapes, where rooms are forced into strange configurations to fit into the equally strange shapes of the building itself. The rectangular rooms of the Brighton are SPACIOUS and comfortable. The couch built into the room is firm, comfortable, and practical. The room had a work table/desk big enough for two people to use simultaneously. The bathroom is luxurious. Internet, both wired and wi-fi, was reliable and fast. We dined in the Japanese restaurant in the hotel. This restaurant features "kaiseki" style traditional Kyoto cuisine as well as other dishes you might expect in a high-end Japanese restaurant. While not for everybody, the "kaiseki" style food is great every once in a while, and the restaurant came through with flying colors. It also came through for my wife, who requires an MSG-free diet. The staff took particular care to point out dishes that could be prepared MSG-free, and the chef made sure that was the case. We did not have a chance to try the French restaurant in the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California girl in Tokyo

Nice hotel centrally located

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: The location was great. A nice, quiet area of Kyoto away from all the noise and crowds of the more touristy areas.
Cons: The mattress was too firm for me.
Location: I loved the location. Its central location made it easy to get around the important districts of the city.
I had a good time at this hotel. The shuttle service to and from the subway was reliable. Hotel staff was really nice and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Milwaukee, WI

Brighton Hotel Kyoto a gem for business travelers

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, size of rooms, level of luxery quite good for the price
Cons: nothing I can think of
Location: Near Kyoto University and shrines - although I was there for work!
Check in was terrific - was accompanied to the room something I do not normally prefer, however the individual who accompanied me was informative, sincere, and not just going through the motions. She advised me of all the room and hotel ameneties and was genuinely interested in my having a pleasant stay. Dinner was quite nice - options were explained (in English) and the food was good. You're normally pressing your luck in Japan when you need to have a rush breakfast - which I did on my final morning prior to heading to the Train Station - however the staff was accomodating as I needed to grab a roll, coffee, and pay ASAP, and I was able to do so w/o raising an eyebrow. Concierge and front desk very helpful. The rooms are clean, large, and quite luxerious for the price. Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Location: Location very quiet, had to walk quite a ways to eat anywhere else and dining options pretty expensive.
Nice hotel, accommodating staff had large room for Family of four.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 横浜

京都御所西側

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: サービスは良かったです。 フロントに電話すると、必ず名前で対応してくれました。
Cons: 電気ポットが古く、使い勝手が悪い。 アメニティに化粧水等あると助かる。 一人1本の500ccの水がサービスで欲しい。
3連休でどこもホテルがいっぱいでしたが、早めの手配でワンランク上の滞在を楽しみました。 残念だったのは、部屋が玄関上の2階だったので、窓を開けないと眠れない自分としては、送迎シャトルの発着や、宴会終了後のお客が玄関付近で騒がしいかった。。。やむを得ないことですが。 朝食付でなかったのが残念でした。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Posted Oct 25, 2014
The staff are super friendly and helpful. The shuttle to and from the hotel is nice as the hotel is in a more residential part of town. (Make sure you leave via exit 1 from the station to get to where the shuttle picks up) The room was big and clean and this hotel had the biggest tub I've ever seen in Japan. Highly recommend! We ate at the hotel the first night and found it was fine food, but a little spendy. There is a great little izakaya a 5 minute walk from the hotel and a FANTASTIC sake tasting bar about 15 minutes walk away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Great Staff at a Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: The staff, the room, the bathroom especially.
Cons: Some other locations are more convenient.
Location: It is in a quiet location.
The service was outstanding and the room was very nice. The only thing I might change is the location, as it is a little off the beaten path.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by うぐいすfrom 東京

満足できました

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
全体として、快適な、行き届いたホテルで、リラックスでき、納得、満足の滞在でした。 施設は、和、の雰囲気を、適度に出していて、好感が持てました。 また利用したいと考えています。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stephenfrom Canberra

A very fine hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the Brighton for seven nights of a six week holiday in Japan. It is a top class hotel . We were given a very spatious and well furnished room , service was excellent and welcoming and the restaurants were very good although a little pricey. Location was a little out of the way but the hotel helped to compensate by providing a free shuttle bus to the nearest subway and a very useful guide to nearby eating options that we found particularly helpful We did not find the location a constraint as taxis in Kyoto are plentiful and relatively inexpensive. I recommend the Brighton very highly.