Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Posted Oct 25, 2014
The staff are super friendly and helpful. The shuttle to and from the hotel is nice as the hotel is in a more residential part of town. (Make sure you leave via exit 1 from the station to get to where the shuttle picks up) The room was big and clean and this hotel had the biggest tub I've ever seen in Japan. Highly recommend! We ate at the hotel the first night and found it was fine food, but a little spendy. There is a great little izakaya a 5 minute walk from the hotel and a FANTASTIC sake tasting bar about 15 minutes walk away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Great Staff at a Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: The staff, the room, the bathroom especially.
Cons: Some other locations are more convenient.
Location: It is in a quiet location.
The service was outstanding and the room was very nice. The only thing I might change is the location, as it is a little off the beaten path.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by MJfrom UK

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
amazing experience, extremely friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington DC

Beautiful hotel with excellent staff

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The staff were very attentive and efficient without being intrusive. The rooms were beautiful and immaculately kept. Great attention to detail.
Cons: Pool season could be longer (pool opened at the end of June, though it was 33C when we were there in late June).
Location: We rented bikes and went for a short ride, and easily found the kinds of places we look for - those frequented by locals, not just for tourists.
This was, to my mind, a luxury hotel. We were initially a bit nervous when we booked due to some reviewers complaints about its location. It's not on the river. It's not in the wildly expensive tourist or business parts of town. For our purposes, it was great. Outstanding and thoughtful service, a real treat at the end of a long trip. A fellow reviewer recommended a coffee shop for a quick pleasant and inexpensive breakfast - it's just up the street to the right as you leave the hotel from the main lobby, at the corner, with the red awning that says "Coffee Shop" It's not affiliated with the hotel in any way, but it's good and for under 2000 yen for a family of four for breakfast, it's far more economical than 3000 yen per person for the hotel restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Janisfrom Michigan

I would return in a heartbeat

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was worried about the distance from the Kyoto Station, but the area around the hotel was wonderful and we discovered wonderful place s to walk to and also to eat at. The Imperial Palace has a wonderful garden and having a shuttle right at the entrance of the subway was extravagant. We loved it all.The staff was MORE than helpful and made us feel special. Our rooms were the best we had on our 5 city stay. thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dameanfrom louisville

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Love the place. Attentive staff with wonderful services. Although a little far from anywhere, but the bus shuttle will drops you at the subway from which you could get to everywhere. Very highly recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Love this hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff was very helpful and attentive. Bed's were great. Rooms stylish and really clean. They folded my son's clothes that were thrown on the floor! I will stay again without question.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel but no breakfast included in the price and expensive if you wanted to pay for the restaurant. Nice location near the imperial palace but also quite far from downtown Kyoto
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff make up for location

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Location: Imperial Palace. Everything else was a taxi ride
Brighton was not the most convenient location for touring Kyoto . However we found that Kyoto was more spread out to get to for touring anyway. Therefore a different location might not have been any different. The staff at Brighton made up for the inconvenience of location.