Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Danny & Yvette from Anaheim,CA

Worst location ever for a hotel!!!

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: The large rooms were nice. But the hotel location is awful.
Cons: The food options at this hotel are highly disappointing. The restaurants are VERY expensive. I would consider their pricing to be exorbitant.
Location: You can walk to the Imperial Palace. Nothing else is close by.
Do NOT book your stay at the Kyoto Brighton! Don't do it. Please do yourself a favor and book a different hotel when you are planning your visit to Kyoto. This hotel has to be in the absolutely worst location possible for a hotel. The location is extremely inconvenient. I am not sure why so many people have provided four and five star ratings for this particular hotel in the past. I can only assume that these travelers are happy with sub par customer service along with over priced food along with having to take a taxi to every single destination and wasting precious time on their vacation. You'll be lucky if you are greeted by the staff each morning when you are there. Most of the time, they are looking down at the floor and will seem to ignore you. If you are still considering staying at this hotel after reading this review, please take a look at a map of Kyoto. This hotel is quite far from any other attractions other than the Imperial Palace. You will NOT be within walking distance of anything. I am not trying to make a joke. Why would you think the hotel needs to provide a shuttle for the hotel guests? The shuttle is on time which is a great part of that service. The shuttle bus actually drops you off at a location where you would still need to walk approximately four blocks to get to the streets with the shopping and the restaurants. You're going to eventually wonder to yourself why you didn't just take a taxi directly from the hotel to your destination.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by adam from australia

great hotel with very helpful staff

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: nothing
Location: temples food culture kyoto is a beautiful city
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2013
Pros: Immaculate & comfortable room with very attentive staff.
Cons: VERY difficult to find off the main road in a residential neighborhood, so better directions including subway stops, buses & detailed map would help.
Location: Nice hotel with free shuttle to subway station convenient to many historic shrines & temples, but not many restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2013
A very good hotel in a quiet neighborhood. One drawback is that the location is away from shops and restaurants (but if this is what you want, this super!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very friendly and helpful service

Posted Sep 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room was clean and spacious. Staff at the concierge spoke good English and were very helpful regarding restaurant recommendations, getting around, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deb from Cincinnati OH

Great hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Kyoto is a large city and this hotel was away from downtown . It is across from the palace grounds. Mostly cabbed it easily. A few restaurants near
We had 3 in our party and the room was impeccably furnished, clean and comfortable. In accordance with our reservation, there was a 3rd bed made up and thought a roll away it was large and comfortable for an adult. The bathroom was outstanding with a huge soaking tub. The concierge was especially helpful to visiting Americans. There is coffee and tea in the room as well as all bath amenities including a complementary toothbrush. The breakfast buffet is great, we paid for it, try to get it in your room rate. The staff was very nice and mostly spoke english, some things do get lost in translation but we found that all over Japan. Just take that in stride. The lobby is very nice and open to all floors in that style so was rather hot in August for an air conditioned space. Did not try the pool so can't comment. The hotel seems rather new.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from San Diego

Not just a hidden gem -- a treasure chest

Posted Aug 16, 2013
Pros: Everything.
Very near Old Imperial Palace Park. Tucked into a uiet local neighborhood. All amenities were terrific, especially the luxurious shower and bath combination. There was a nightly music festival celebrating the history of the hotel with world class performances in the lobby. Several restaurants. I dined in the traditional Japanese restaurant and had one of the most beautiful and delicious meals of my life. Not cheap mind you, but Michelin *** quality 5-6 course meal for about $100 USD.