Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tokyo

nice hotel in central kyoto

Posted Sep 7, 2014
convinient to subway karasuma oike stn. 15 min walk to gion side looks good staff friendly ameties good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Convenient and Pleasant Hotel.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Easily accessible, friendly staff, all expected facilities in the room.
Cons: I wouldn't presume to tell the Japanese how to improve.
Location: Nijo Castle within walking distance. Kyoto Station easily reached on one subway train from Karasuma-Oike station. Shopping and Gion not too far away,
The hotel is within a 5 minute walk from Karasuma-Oike subway station: just take the east-most exit stairs, cross one road, pass the IBM building and then take a left, about 100 yards on the right is the hotel. It has some nice flowers at the entrance. The reception is nicely presented and the staff were friendly and helpful. Watch out for the low seating in the reception, I tripped over it in my eagerness to get to the lifts! I had a double room. As with most hotels, there is not a lot of space in the room, but you get a desk, a fridge, TV, tea/coffee-making equipment, and wired internet, The hotel is close to Nijo Castle (note: closed on Tuesdays), easily walkable, and it is easy to get to Gion by subway, and also Kyoto station. I didn't try the breakfast, unfortunately, only due to a busy itinerary. The room was well taken care of every day. I chose this hotel because of its proximity to Nijo Castle, which I had seen before, but the JTB tour doesn't allow enough time here to see all the grounds and gardens and I wanted to see the whole place in my own time. Nara is also easily reachable by JR line or subway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jo R from London

Quiet, convenient location

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Good value for money. Good, central location in quiet street off Oike dori. Comfortable, clean room. Underground parking available for cars and bikes. Free computers for guest use in lobby. Choice of newspapers daily in lobby, including The Japan Times. No washing machines, but coin laundry less than 10 minutes away. Convenience store 2 minutes walk away.
3 out of 5
by Muppy from h

Over-Rated Budget Hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Although reasonably priced, I can't wholeheartedly recommend this place. The room was stifling hot when I first entered it. There didn't seem to be any temperature control. The staff, with very limited English, informed me that guests cannot control the heat and that there was no AC!!! Beware if you visit Kyoto in the summer when it's sweltering hot and humid. When I opened the room window to bring down the temperature, the latch almost detached in my hand. To be fair the latch was promptly fixed when I informed them. The walls are so thin that one can hear neighbouring guest chatting and coughing. All in all, an OK place to stay in a pinch, but there's got to be better deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by GJ from Brisbane

Friendly staff.

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: Good place to refresh before overnight trip on bus to snow.
Location: Close to bus for the snow.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Low budget hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
We book 4 nights at this hotel and we stayed just one! The hotel is in a bad shape, rooms are very small and smelly. The bathrooms are smaller than the ones in a cruise. If you are a non-smoker you will go crazy here, even the non-smoking rooms smells like ash-trays! There are plenty better options in Kyoto for the same price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ben from Germany

Jap. Business hotel - all you need

Posted Oct 25, 2013
Clean, friendly (yet basically non-english speaking) staff, small rooms, no frills. No (western) breakfast but Starbucks is around the corner. Perfect location for sight-seeing as 1min walk to subway (at crossing of both lines). Free wi-fi in the rooms. Beware! When entering hotel name into google maps it provides wrong location way futher out!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Oct 4, 2013
We stayed here for 3 nights and thought that the place was pretty good. Almost everything is walkable, subway is 2 mins away.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Convenient location, small rooms (even for Japan)

Posted May 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location was quite convenient. It is about 2 blocks form the intersection of the 2 Kyoto metro subway lines. However, the rooms themselves left something to be desired. I am accustomed to small Japanese hotel rooms, but this room did not even have a closet -- just a pair of hooks on the wall. For 2 people on vacation this was very frustrating. The hotel also had no laundry facilities. Also, fairly unique for hotels in Japan, the building was entirely non-smoking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Daniel from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Central location in Kyoto

Posted Apr 12, 2013
While the hotel felt quite dated, the room was sufficiently clean and also significantly larger than most of the other hotels I stayed in Japan. They did use a more dated physical key that you had to leave at the front desk whenever leaving the hotel, instead of the more standard key cards used at most hotels.