Ratings based on 219 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Francoise from Tahiti

Perfect location. Extremely friendly staff.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very close to the subway stations. Nice night walks in Pontocho and the covered arcades. Excellent restaurants in the neighborhood.
Wonderful stay in Kyoto and the surroundings. Amazingly beautiful during the cherry blossom festival.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Doha Qatar

Excellent service

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Service, space
English sponken very well Good service between station to hotel for free shuttle
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jose from miami

The Best hospitality i had ever seen.

Posted Jan 18, 2014
All the employees are very genereous And have the Best Customer Service in all the hotels I had visit
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by j3p from geneve

Hotel with mixed features

Posted Jan 1, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Renovate it
Location: See review
Hotel gas an excellent location; right next to main shopping street and close to important metro and train stations. It is a 5 star hotel but facilities are now outdated and old. Staff is friendly but concierge too timid with advice about what to do in kyoto. Breakfast is good but room too small capacity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 11, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from Australia

Great location, good service:

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Pros: Very clean, room servicing excellent, staff helpful, very central so shops, restaurants, plenty of sights within walking distance
Cons: Larger room size for the price, complimentary water
Location: Right on Kyoto central canal which has great bird life and flora. Shopping, markets, restaurants Imperial palace 10 mins
Room was smaller than expected for the price: Shuttle bus service makes for an easy arrival: Staff able to guide me regarding finding a coin laundry and various other queries. No complimentary water which I always think is a bit stingy when you are paying more than $100 a night and this was well over that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maxime from Monaco

High standard hotel in a good location

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Pros: The possibility to relax at the swimming pool and the old-school charm of the hotel. The great attention and availability of the staff.
I have stayed many times in Kyoto, but the Okura hotel is by far the best experience I have had. Similar to the Japanese Family brand luxury hotels in Tokyo and Osaka, it has all the charm of the top hotels from the 1970s. They have kept up the hotel perfectly and it is very comfortable. I enjoyed the central location for visiting the temples (usually by taxi, or by underground for going to Fushimi Inari or Arashiyama) and especially the proximity of the nightlife area of Gion : Kiya-Machi riverwalk begins opposite the hotel and both the restaurant alley of Ponto-Cho and the high-street shopping district are within a pleasant 10-minute walk. The hotel enabled me to conduct my business meetings comfortably as well as take my family to the tourist sites. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Nov 7, 2013
Pros: Location, comfort, view
Location: Lots places to eat nearby, close by to a number of sightseeing locations, right on top subway station
Literally on top of a subway station makes it easy to get to/from. The beautiful Kamo river right around the corner which made for some excellent walks/sightseeing and a great place to have lunch. Room size was decent for Japan and the bed was actually quite comfortable. For those who don't mind spending the day walking around, there are quite a few great tourist destinations within walking distance. The view of the city from the room (west side of hotel) was also really nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classy hotel with history

Posted Nov 6, 2013
Pros: The friendliest hotel staff on our trip to Japan. Very helpful with inquiries and directions.
Location: The location served as a good reference point to travel around.
The room was very spacious twin share and the view was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Washington DC

Very nice hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: Location, views, facilities, staff.
Cons: Could be more flexible about check-in time.
Location: Walkable area, lively, places to eat, for fun, and not far from the temples, etc
Very nice hotel. Good location, good facilities and helpful staff.