Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, good location

Posted Apr 17, 2014
we had a triple room, it was nice. The hotel staff was very helpful. nice hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane

Decent hotel right opposite Nijo Castle

Posted Apr 10, 2014
We were able to book this hotel right at the last minute so weren' t sure what to expect, but it was good. The hotel is perfectly situated to see lots of beautiful cherry blossom during sakura season and has everything you might need. Compared with ultra modern hotels, the style is a little dated but everything was super clean and comfortable. The metro station is nearby as are numerous bus stops, and a supermarket and convenience store are each about 500m up the road.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location in Central Kyoto

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Outdated bathroom, no wifi in rooms, no breakfast included in an expensive room rate. The location is good though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by ROCKEY from AUSTRALIA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mother & Daughter from Sydney

Great Stay.

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
From the minute you walk in the staff are attentive and helpful. The reception is fast and efficient. The rooms are very comfortable and the lovely bath products were enjoyed during our stay. On our second day we had an all day tour planned and due to a mix up with the booking company, they didn't pick us up. Miss K Momoi at the information desk helped us make enquiries as to what had happened and when it was obvious we were not going on the tour she rang and got us on to another all day tour within 5 minutes. She arranged for the tour guide to pick us up from reception as they were already across the road from the hotel in the castle. We ended up having a lovely day. A friend staying at the same hotel was on the afternoon tour and Miss K Momoi arranged for us to be on the same bus which added to the great day. Thank you Miss K Momoi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dana from Dallas

Hotel is Acceptable, but not a Find

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location of this hotel was not as convenient as indicated on the site. The hotel was clean enough and quiet. However, arriving at 9:00 pm there was no room service and no food available at all, even in the bar. When we left in the mornings there was no place open to get even tea or coffee without a full, formal breakfast. They also offered a "voucher" toward hotel food if we filled a form and agreed they did not have to clean our room every other day, billing it as an environmental initiative and all presented in English. We filled the form, they did not clean our room, and yet there was no voucher or credit. The man checking us out had no explanation and feigned confusion. It was frustrating. So it was a sufficient hotel in that we had a clean and quiet place to sleep, but I would not return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler from Singapore

comfortable and quiet part of Kyoto.

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Kyoto Kokusai is located next to the Nijo castle. Rather quiet at night but the hotel personnel can recommend nearby food places that is of walking distance. Bus stop right in front of hotel, has easy access to Gion, kyoto station etc. Close by is a subway station as well, but I used the daily flat rate bus pass to get around mostly (the hotel reception sells it, very convenient). The service is good, especially the bell hop/main door ladies (sorry, didn't catch her name), really helpful and friendly. Room size for single is comfortable and very clean. Yes, it is an older hotel, cue the retro decor and colour scheme, but I found it quite charming.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Sunil from London

Average hotel: good base for staying in Kyoto

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Quite dated, but had fast Wi-Fi in lobby area. Rooms are basic and in need of a refresh, but hotel was well priced. Good downtown location, just down the street from Nijojo Mae metro station. Easy access to major sites by bus or metro. Staff were very friendly.
2 out of 5
by Mo

Old, tired hotel

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Cheap
Cons: A complete Reno, restaurant update
Location: Nijo castle
Ok if you need a place to lay your head for cheap, but this hotel has seen better days. Smokey lobby, thin-walled rooms, an expensive restaurant and a poor location (other than Nijo Jo). Staff are polite, younger ones are nice. The rooms are very small and beds hurt my back, but they provide free tea and the toiletries are nice. Can't understand why the floors are so dirty though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2013