Ratings based on 1,308 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel, okay restaurant

Posted Apr 27, 2015
The hotel was amazing and the room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was quite spacious too! It was very clean and the bad was great. The staff was courteous and helpful. The restaurant wasn't great and charged a lot, so I would recommend eating off property when staying at this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2015 by manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Expedia 4/28 Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our location, your room and the service from our staff. We apologize for the fact that you did not enjoy our restaurant and found it expensive. We are somewhat surprised by this since we are competitively priced in addition to offering discount coupons for our in house guests. We wish you would have shared this with us when you were here, for we could have found a way to satisfy your expectations. If you do return to Kyoto may we suggest that you do try our Kotoran Spa. A good massage will do wonders for you after a long day of sightseeing. Again we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to get to serve you again sometime in the future. Best regards, Renaud Payette General Manager Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Fine Hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: The spa was very relaxing.
The hotel was fine. Not great. The room was constantly too warm with no way to cool it and there were constant electrical noises emanating from various parts of the room. The bed was a typical western style "hard" bed (as many Americans would have it; Europeans may be more comfortable with the style). The room was rather cramped and the bathroom was tiny for a 5'7" person.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear DC _Traveler, Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are thankful that you appreciated the services of our Spa. A good massage will do wonders for you after a long day of sightseeing. We do apologize for the hard mattress, but like you said this is the standard in Japan. More like a tatami. Like wise for the size of the bathroom. Japanese people are accustomed to tight bathrooms, unlike the larger ones you find in the western world. Again we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to get to serve you again in the near future. Best regards, Renaud Payette General Manager Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a great place to stay!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
The hotel is very average and the room size is too small. The AC was not working properly and the room gets too stuffy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. I understand you were disappointed with several of our service offerings. We wish that we would have been made aware of this sooner so that we could have addressed them for you. We sincerely apologize for all the misgivings which you found with our hotel, we hope that they did not spoil your impression and rest of your trip to Japan. Please believe me when I say that we are attending to all the issues which disappointed you. Again we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to get to serve you again sometime in the future. Best regards, Renaud Payette General Manager Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom hk

不錯的選擇

Posted Mar 10, 2015
酒店地點適中,附近有好多食肆,商場,交通方便,房間乾淨整齊,wifi上網速度算正常,能放2個大行李箱,值得一試 ;)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ipswich UK

Good value hotel in an excellent location

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: Location, courteous staff and value for money
Cons: Room safe should be provided
Location: A large number of shops, including departmental stores, and restaurants close by. Walking distance to the Imperial Palace and Nijo castle.
The hotel is in an excellent location close to the underground train subway and a wide range of restaurants and shops, some of which can be found in an underground connected to the subway. The latter can be useful if it is raining. The hotel is also within walking distance of both the Imperial Palace and Nijo Castle. The hotel staff were both friendly and helpful. Our room was fine although the bathroom small, there was no in room safe( although we understand valuable could be put into a safe at the reception) and the bedside lighting rather dim for bedside reading. We found the bed comfortable, the shower worked well, toiletries and green tea was provided and the wifi worked well. The breakfast was of buffet style and presented a reasonable variety. The hotel had a certain buzz around the place which we quite liked. Overall we thought although not of the highest standard, the hotel was excellent value for money and in a great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Rob, Thank you for your generous comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are thankful that you appreciated our location, courtesy of our staff and that you found value for your money. We apologize for the absence of in room safes. Although not common in Japan and not necessary as in other parts of the world, it is something that we plan on adding in our rooms in the not too distant future. As you may have noticed we are located within walking distance of so many of Kyoto’s main attractions and only one block away from the river and only minutes away from Gion. May we suggest that a great way to discover Kyoto is by bicycle you can cover more ground and see so many incredible sights. Perhaps when you return to Kyoto you can try our classic Lounge Haven and relax in our leather sofas while you sip one of our famous cocktails. Again we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to get to serve you again in the near future. Best regards, Renaud Payette General Manager Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom korea

Good location

Posted Feb 25, 2015
good location Unprofessional crews . . . . .
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ek, Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are thankful that you appreciated our location. I understand that you were disappointed with the professionalism of our staff. We are at a loss to comprehend this for we have never received such a comment. This is usually one of our stronger points. We wish that we would have been made aware of this sooner so that we could have addressed your concerns. We sincerely apologize for the misgivings which you found with our hotel, we hope that they did not spoil your impression and rest of your trip to Japan. Please believe me when I say that we are attending to all the issues which disappointed you. Again we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to get to serve you again sometime in the future. Best regards, Renaud Payette General Manager Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

交通便利

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: 便利性
Cons:
離四条河原町近,周邊可逛街的店與美食也多,服務人員親切,英文對話流利,值得推薦,若可提供自助洗衣的服務,對旅客更方便!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maui, Hawaii

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: We opted for the breakfast included option, which we were very satisfied with.
Great location a block from the train station. Lots of dining and shopping options near the hotel, as well as convenience to bus stops. Gion district within 15-20 minutes walking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gute Lage zu Sehenswürdigkeiten

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Gutes Hotel in der Nähe zu wichtigen Sehenswürdigkeiten in Kyoto. Bushaltestelle und Metro vor der Tür. Gute Auswahl beim Frühstücksbuffet, guter Deal in Kombi mit Übernachtung.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Nice staff!!! Nice location Can communicate in English !
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your generous comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are thankful that you appreciated our location and service from our staff. Thank you also for mentioning our staff’s English skills. I’ll be sure to share this with them to motivate them to keep trying. Perhaps if you return to Kyoto you can try our classic Lounge Haven and relax in our leather sofas while you sip one of our famous cocktails. Again we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to get to serve you again in the near future. Best regards, Renaud Payette General Manager Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa