Ratings based on 1,424 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Would not Recommend

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Kyoto Royal Hotel and Spa was unlike anything else my husband and I experienced in Japan... and not in a good way. It starts out well, steps away from a subway station which is very conveniently located. The lobby is large and suggests a classy hotel. However, looks are deceiving. The front desk employee who checked us in spoke fluent English, but did not smile once. The check-in process did not make us feel welcome (with the exception of the sweet lady who helped us with our bags), and although there was nobody behind us in line, we were not given a map of the area and had to find one on our own. While the furnishings are new and clean, the room and bathroom are small, so no brownie points. There is no in-room safe, which is an important feature in a good hotel. The WiFi is also spotty. We quickly learned that the door lets in every single noise from the hallway, as we were placed between what sounded like an unchaperoned school group who enjoyed slamming doors and running up and down the halls, and some noisy tourists who thought it would be a great idea to shout down the hallway at one another. We informed front desk after suffering through an hour of this in the late evening, but that did nothing to stop the noise. It did eventually settle down around 11pm and we were able to sleep until it started again at 6:30am. In short, save your money and go to a hostel... it'd be more peaceful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2015 by manager, Hotel Management
Dear Cicy, Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for whatever got you off on a wrong foot in our hotel. We rarely get comments like yours and we wish that we would have been made aware of your discontent while you were with us so that we could have attended to them. All we can say is that we failed and that we sincerely apologize your making your stay less than comfortable. If you do return to Kyoto may we suggest that you do try our Kotoran Spa. A good massage will do wonders for you after a long day of sightseeing. Again we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to get to serve you again sometime in the future. Best regards, Renaud Payette General Manager Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

agréable et bien placé

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: emplacement
Cons: parler anglais de base
Location: commerce, boutique, restaurant, et bar
très bien positionner mais le personnel ne parle pas anglais ou très peu
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Great location and hotel amenities such as spa, lobby bar, restaurant. However, be aware that the beds are very hard. Thankfully the hotel staff brought us extra pillows and an extra comforter, but it was still hard to sleep well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2015 by manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our location and surrounding neighborhood, but we apologize for the fact that you were disappointed with the comfort of your bathroom. We wish that we would have been made aware of this sooner so that we could have addressed this for you. Perhaps when you return to Kyoto you can try our classic Lounge Haven and relax in our leather sofas while you sip one of our famous cocktails. Again we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to get to serve you again sometime in the future. Best regards, Renaud Payette General Manager Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Decent hotel with a good location in downtown Kyoto.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your generous comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are thankful that you appreciated our location and proximity to so many of Kyoto’s sights and your accommodations. As you may have noticed we are located within walking distance of so many of Kyoto’s main attractions and only one block away from the river and only minutes away from Gion. May we suggest that a great way to discover Kyoto is by bicycle you can cover more ground and see so many incredible sights. Perhaps when you return to Kyoto you can try our classic Lounge Haven and relax in our leather sofas while you sip one of our famous cocktails. Again we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to get to serve you again in the near future. Best regards, Renaud Payette General Manager Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Prime Position

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: Service was excellent. Cleanliness of rooms excellent, however are a little small, but expected for Japan. Breakfast buffet very good.
Location: Close to trains, buses and shopping.
This is our third time in Japan and second stay at this Hotel. The Hotel's position is close to everything. The staff are lovely and very helpful. Would highly recommend this Hotel to friends. We stayed with friends whose room was smaller than ours. They asked for a larger room and were accommodated at no extra cost....that's service !
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Stella, Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the service from our staff. You may have noticed that we are located within walking distance of so many of Kyoto’s main attractions and only one block away from the river and only minutes away from Gion. If you do return to Kyoto may we suggest that you do try our Kotoran Spa. A good massage will do wonders for you after a long day of sightseeing. Again we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to get to serve you again in the near future. Best regards, Renaud Payette General Manager Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gutes Hotel in zentraler Lage

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Das Hotelpersonal ist sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Die Ausstattung des Hotel empfand ich als sehr gut, und die Lage ist zentral. Empfehlenswert!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your generous comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are thankful that you enjoyed our location and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. You may have noticed that we are located within walking distance of so many of Kyoto’s main attractions and only one block away from the river and only minutes away from Gion. If you do return to Kyoto may we suggest that you do try our Kotoran Spa. A good massage will do wonders for you after a long day of sightseeing. Again we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to get to serve you again in the near future. Best regards, Renaud Payette General Manager Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Irvine, CA

Bad End to an Otherwise Great Trip

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: proximity to nightlife and vibrant street activity.
Cons: Everything.
This hotel was horribly disappointing. The room was dated, small, poorly appointed, and the overall experience at this hotel was not pleasant. Kyoto was lovely as was the surrounding neighborhood. I'll find a better hotel for my next visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Eric, Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our location and surrounding neighborhood, but we apologize for the fact that you were disappointed with the comfort of your room. We are at a loss to understand what you did not like about your room you were assigned a room built only 2 years ago. We wish that we would have been made aware of this sooner so that we could have addressed this for you. Perhaps when you return to Kyoto you can try our classic Lounge Haven and relax in our leather sofas while you sip one of our famous cocktails. Again we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to get to serve you again sometime in the future. Best regards, Renaud Payette General Manager Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Noumea

hotel bien situé

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: sa localisation
Cons: le matelas du lit
Location: Le quartier est proche des boutiques souvenirs et des arcades commerçantes. Beaucoup de restaurants et du quartier de Gion.
La chambre est correcte avec une salle de bain pas tres grande et au 4eme etage on a une vue sur une ruelle heureusement pas trop animé le soir. Le personnel est serviable et sympathique. La bonne surprise est la localisation de l'hotel qui est très bien situé par rapport au metro, aux boutiques et arcades commercantes et proche du quartier de Gion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Nice hotel

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, room
Cons: Pillows and bed were a little hard for my 88 yo mother, but I thought it was fine.
Location: Kyoto
Nice hotel close to shopping and food. Within walking distance to gion district and a few temples. Quick check in, English speaking staff, nice, clean rooms. Hotel showed a few signs of wear, but still very nice. Couldn't figure out why lights went on and someone was there within 3 minutes and showed us how to use it properly.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ei, Thank you for your generous comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are thankful that you appreciated our location and proximity to so many of Kyoto’s sights and our neighborhood. Thank you also for mentioning the service you received from our staff and their English speaking skills. As you may have noticed we are located within walking distance of so many of Kyoto’s main attractions and only one block away from the river and only minutes away from Gion. May we suggest that a great way to discover Kyoto is by bicycle you can cover more ground and see so many incredible sights. Perhaps when you return to Kyoto you can try our classic Lounge Haven and relax in our leather sofas while you sip one of our famous cocktails. Again we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to get to serve you again in the near future. Best regards, Renaud Payette General Manager Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2015
Good location, clean hotel with friendly staff. Able to walk to Gion and train station
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your generous comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are thankful that you appreciated our location and proximity to so many of Kyoto’s sights and our neighborhood. Thank you also for mentioning the service you received from our staff. As you may have noticed we are located within walking distance of so many of Kyoto’s main attractions and only one block away from the river and only minutes away from Gion. May we suggest that a great way to discover Kyoto is by bicycle you can cover more ground and see so many incredible sights. Perhaps when you return to Kyoto you can try our classic Lounge Haven and relax in our leather sofas while you sip one of our famous cocktails. Again we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to get to serve you again in the near future. Best regards, Renaud Payette General Manager Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa