Ratings based on 1,440 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great Location

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: The staff could smile more
Location: Great location across the road from train station and bus stop, plenty of restaurants nearby, plenty of shopping and a short bus ride to the temples.
we stayed 3 nights at this Hotel, The location was perfect right across from the train station and bus stop. Restaurants close by. The room was very small but ok for 3 nights. The room was very clean and quiet. the only negative was the staff wasn't as friendly as at the other hotels we stayed at in Japan. with the exception of the cleaners who said hello every morning with a smile. But overall a pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ottimo hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Ampiezza della camera e praticità della posizione dell'hotel
Cons: Situato su via commerciale (suggerirei una camera ad un piano non molto basso)
Location: Posizione molto buona (circa 200 metri dalla metro) a pochi passi dalle vie dello shopping e a 10 minuti a piedi da Gion (quartiere geishe)
Hotel in ottima posizione sia per lo shopping che per la vicinanza con la metro Camera molto ampia per gli standard giapponesi con tutti i confort connessione wifi gratuita
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glendale, California, USA

Great Location

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Location/excellent staff
Cons: Eliminate the rainy season !!!
Location: The location: across from the Nishiki Market, lots of restaurants, convenience stores, the river.
The hotel has a great location. It is across the street from the Nishiki Market, close to sub way station, with lots of different restaurants and convenience stores around and a short walk away to the river.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2015 by manager, Hotel Management
Dear Doru, Thank you for your generous comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are thankful that you appreciated our location, neighborhood and the service from our staff. We apologize for the typhoon. Gion Matsuri is supposed to mean the beginning of summer and this year we had the unfortunate visit of a typhoon. As you have noticed we are located within walking distance of so many of Kyoto’s main attractions and only one block away from the river and only minutes away from Gion. May we suggest that a great way to discover Kyoto is by bicycle you can cover more ground and see so many incredible sights. Perhaps when you return to Kyoto you can try our classic Lounge Haven and relax in our leather sofas while you sip one of our famous cocktails. Again we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to get to serve you again in the near future. Best regards, Renaud Payette General Manager Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: good location, nice staff, room is not big but you got everything, close to bus station and train station
Cons: should at least have instant coffee inside the room
good location at reasonable rate, friendly staff, got cafe and restaurant close by
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2015 by manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your generous comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to read that you appreciated our location, but we apologize for the fact that you were disappointed with the size of your room. Thank you for mentioning the service you received from our staff. Thank you for your suggestion about having instant coffee in the room. In Japan hotels and ryokans traditionally offer green tea, yet for our western guests coffee may be more appreciated. We’re also glad to read that you found our rate reasonable. If you do return to Kyoto may we suggest that you do try our Kotoran Spa. A good massage will do wonders for you after a long day of sightseeing. Again we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to get to serve you again sometime in the future. Best regards, Renaud Payette General Manager Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Would not Recommend

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Kyoto Royal Hotel and Spa was unlike anything else my husband and I experienced in Japan... and not in a good way. It starts out well, steps away from a subway station which is very conveniently located. The lobby is large and suggests a classy hotel. However, looks are deceiving. The front desk employee who checked us in spoke fluent English, but did not smile once. The check-in process did not make us feel welcome (with the exception of the sweet lady who helped us with our bags), and although there was nobody behind us in line, we were not given a map of the area and had to find one on our own. While the furnishings are new and clean, the room and bathroom are small, so no brownie points. There is no in-room safe, which is an important feature in a good hotel. The WiFi is also spotty. We quickly learned that the door lets in every single noise from the hallway, as we were placed between what sounded like an unchaperoned school group who enjoyed slamming doors and running up and down the halls, and some noisy tourists who thought it would be a great idea to shout down the hallway at one another. We informed front desk after suffering through an hour of this in the late evening, but that did nothing to stop the noise. It did eventually settle down around 11pm and we were able to sleep until it started again at 6:30am. In short, save your money and go to a hostel... it'd be more peaceful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2015 by manager, Hotel Management
Dear Cicy, Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for whatever got you off on a wrong foot in our hotel. We rarely get comments like yours and we wish that we would have been made aware of your discontent while you were with us so that we could have attended to them. All we can say is that we failed and that we sincerely apologize your making your stay less than comfortable. If you do return to Kyoto may we suggest that you do try our Kotoran Spa. A good massage will do wonders for you after a long day of sightseeing. Again we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to get to serve you again sometime in the future. Best regards, Renaud Payette General Manager Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

agréable et bien placé

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: emplacement
Cons: parler anglais de base
Location: commerce, boutique, restaurant, et bar
très bien positionner mais le personnel ne parle pas anglais ou très peu
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Great location and hotel amenities such as spa, lobby bar, restaurant. However, be aware that the beds are very hard. Thankfully the hotel staff brought us extra pillows and an extra comforter, but it was still hard to sleep well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2015 by manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our location and surrounding neighborhood, but we apologize for the fact that you were disappointed with the comfort of your bathroom. We wish that we would have been made aware of this sooner so that we could have addressed this for you. Perhaps when you return to Kyoto you can try our classic Lounge Haven and relax in our leather sofas while you sip one of our famous cocktails. Again we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to get to serve you again sometime in the future. Best regards, Renaud Payette General Manager Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Decent hotel with a good location in downtown Kyoto.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your generous comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are thankful that you appreciated our location and proximity to so many of Kyoto’s sights and your accommodations. As you may have noticed we are located within walking distance of so many of Kyoto’s main attractions and only one block away from the river and only minutes away from Gion. May we suggest that a great way to discover Kyoto is by bicycle you can cover more ground and see so many incredible sights. Perhaps when you return to Kyoto you can try our classic Lounge Haven and relax in our leather sofas while you sip one of our famous cocktails. Again we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to get to serve you again in the near future. Best regards, Renaud Payette General Manager Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Prime Position

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: Service was excellent. Cleanliness of rooms excellent, however are a little small, but expected for Japan. Breakfast buffet very good.
Location: Close to trains, buses and shopping.
This is our third time in Japan and second stay at this Hotel. The Hotel's position is close to everything. The staff are lovely and very helpful. Would highly recommend this Hotel to friends. We stayed with friends whose room was smaller than ours. They asked for a larger room and were accommodated at no extra cost....that's service !
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Stella, Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the service from our staff. You may have noticed that we are located within walking distance of so many of Kyoto’s main attractions and only one block away from the river and only minutes away from Gion. If you do return to Kyoto may we suggest that you do try our Kotoran Spa. A good massage will do wonders for you after a long day of sightseeing. Again we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to get to serve you again in the near future. Best regards, Renaud Payette General Manager Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gutes Hotel in zentraler Lage

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Das Hotelpersonal ist sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Die Ausstattung des Hotel empfand ich als sehr gut, und die Lage ist zentral. Empfehlenswert!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your generous comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are thankful that you enjoyed our location and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. You may have noticed that we are located within walking distance of so many of Kyoto’s main attractions and only one block away from the river and only minutes away from Gion. If you do return to Kyoto may we suggest that you do try our Kotoran Spa. A good massage will do wonders for you after a long day of sightseeing. Again we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to get to serve you again in the near future. Best regards, Renaud Payette General Manager Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa