Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great place to stay while visiting Kyoto

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Several restaurants, convenience stores, and historical sites within walking distance. Free shuttle bus to Kyoto station to go anywhere you want.
Very nice hotel. The interior is very beautiful, and the room was better than I expected - medium sized, well furnished, and very comfortable. (Also, air conditioned!!) The staff are all extremely friendly, helpful, and speak English very well (I never had any problems communicating). The room service was reasonably priced and delivered fast. The laundry service was a tad pricey, but fast and convenient (there's a laundromat down the block if you'd prefer to do it yourself). The breakfast was really delicious! It's not mentioned on Expedia, but they also offer a western-style buffet which is much cheaper than the Japanese buffet. The hotel is about two kilometers northwest of Kyoto Station. They also offer a shuttle bus from the station every 15 minutes. Just wait by the McDonalds, it's much better than a twenty minute walk in the summer heat! Overall I was extremely pleased with this hotel. If I ever go back to Kyoto, I will absolutely be staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice Hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Very nice rooms and friendly staff.
Cons: Better details of where to catch the shuttle the first time to the hotel.
Location: The metro is 5 - 10 min walk so from there you can reach most parts of the city. There are a few local food choices and a temple one block away.
Nice hotel with free shuttle to kyoto station. They should make it a bit more clear on shuttle location at the station as there are two main sides that you can exit from which are opposite in direction. Clean rooms and good size for japan style hotels which tend to be a bit smaller in general. Had dinner at hotel restaurant one night with a very pleasant experience and good food. Price was reasonable for a hotel of this quality. Not as close to metro as other hotels but it was a 5 - 10 min walk which is not too bad and there were always taxis available. Friendly and professional staff. I would recommend hotel. If you find a deal through online booking sites then more of a reason to stay here as it is defiantly a good deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2014
The hotel has a free shuttle bus to and from kyoto station, which is very convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

covered all basic essentials

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: close to the station
Cons: a bit more space
Location: station, temples
a short stay in a comfortable and pleasant enviroment
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.

Nice hotel...

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Good hotel but a bit pricey for what you got. I booked the superior room however the interior is a bit old. Furniture definitely need to be replaced. The size was ok. Staffs are really helpful and friendly. Convenient shuttle bus to and from Kyoto station but last one leaves the station at 830 pm which is a bit early. Can still take the bus to the hotel. Not many restaurants or convenient stores around. Wireless was fast for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Matthew and Jim from New York City

great for a belated honeymoon in Kyoto

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Tokyu Hotel was beautiful and clean. Great for a belated honeymoon in Kyoto on a budget. The free shuttle bus to Kyoto Station was convenient for easy access to many restaurants and shopping in the evening, Also good for going to and from the Itami Airport bus. Very close to Nishi Hongwanji, if you are Jodo Shinshu. Concierge staff was very helpful, though not very good with complex questions in English. We had a terrific stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by h09 from croatia

wonderful hotel, location not so good

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: it is clean, and nice staff
Location: pretty far from everything. store 5 min walk, temple 7 min walk, kyoto station 20 min walk
wonderful hotel, location not so good since it is far from everything and even the conveniance store is pretty far. but if you can afford to be in the hotel than you can pay for the taxi to get to places as well ;) actually the kyoto station is not so far, only 20 minutes walk. but all the tourist destinations are pretty far. nice hotel though and i would definitely stay here again :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Feea from Australia

comfortable hotel

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was lovely and comfortable, most staff were wonderful, location wasn't great but hotel shuttle overcame this issue!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Toronto, Canada

Great amenities,nice location

Posted May 17, 2014
The hotel is located near the train station and quite close to local transportation including the subway. We love walking and most attractions are achievable by foot. Facilities are kept immaculate and the staff is very friendly, helpful and courteous. We would definitely stay at this hotel in the future.