Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pankaj from United Kingdom

Convenient location

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: It has a lovely 'zen type' waterfall/bamboo garden on the lower ground floor. It is possible to have some quiet contemplation time here.
Cons: The bus needs to be larger/ or reorganise its seating.
The hotel bus runs regularly from Kyoto station. The bus has little space for bags - so they have to take up seat space - which is rather narrow and sometimes awkward. The hotel is located next to a couple of temple complexes and easily within walking distance of the station (20-30 minutes). Rooms are okay with all the relevant facilities but bathrooms/en-suites are rather cramped.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by noof from bahrain

Very lovely and nicely decorated

Posted Apr 11, 2014
The hotel was far from station but a shuttle is provided to roam the area. I wish it would be provided until 10 pm
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by flyguybry from Vancouver

Satisfying stay

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: It was modern, clean, and central.
Location: It's near a park, near Kabukicho if you want that, near the Park Hyatt where Lost In Translation was filmed.
The rooms are small but it has everything you need: laundry (hang dry only), trouser press, hot water kettle, fabric freshener, tea bags in lobby, microwave in room, small fridge (just turn the switch on), and flat screen tv and free wifi. Great for single travellers, not that expensive, and free breakfast. Near a subway and you can walk to the central and busy Shinjuku station, and there are several restaurants nearby including McDonalds right next door, a curry place at the corner and 7-11 for emergency sustenance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Chris from Massachusetts, USA

Classy stay in Kyoto

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a very swank hotel in Kyoto. It is not located near any specific sites, but it is near some train access. It is a decent, but doable, walk to castles and temples and JR Kyoto Station. The interior is pretty fancy and the courtyard was very pleasing to look at. The curb, door, lobby and room staff were very friendly, and there was a lobby area setup for loitering and wifi. You could also get a small in-room wifi unit. The lobby did have a bit of an odd odor. I think there was some spillover from the restaurant smoking. There are a number of ritzy in-hotel eating establishments. They are a little pretentious but tasty. There was a live jazz pianist and singer on Saturday night which was appreciated. Their bar menu seemed limited and overpriced and the drinks were a bit weak, but it offered a nice relax after walking and touring all day. The young waitress on jazz night was super nice and very patient with the language barrier. On this trip I was a solo traveller and did not seem out of place amongst other solo travelers, couples, families with older (teens) children and businesspeople. I don't know if I would bring young kids to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Samantha from Los Angeles

Nice hotel but no WIFI

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel - room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom very nice. My only complaint was that there was NO WIFI in the rooms. You had to go down to the lobby to use it and that was a bit of a pain since as traveling internationally I lived off of using the WIFI.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Michael from Australia

Very nice Hotel in an OK location.

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything about the hotel is great! The rooms were clean the facilities were good and the service was excellent! The only down side was the location, a bit of a walk from Kyoto station (they do offer a mini bus service). Apart from that, it was a shortish walk to the subway to go out and explore the town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very good hotel. The rooms, like most Japanese rooms, are slightly on the small side compared to Western hotels, but are of a high quality. The front reception desk is a little hidden away for some reason.
3 out of 5
by Virginia from Auckland

Nice hotel but in a wasteland

Posted Nov 20, 2013
Pros: good size room, decent shower, shuttle bus to the station, Japanese decor in lobby, in-room fridge, wifi,
Cons: concierge service increase hours, better air conditioning (with cooling as well as heating), thinner/cooler duvet on the bed - it was very hot
Location: There is hardly anything in short walking distance, everything is a long walk or short taxi. I would suggest staying in downtown Kyoto instead.
This is a nice hotel that obviously holds itself to high standards. The room was comfortably appointed and good size as was the bathroom. The staff generally didn't speak any English, except for the solo Concierge who was very helpful when we were able to speak to her, but she didn't seem to be there very often, which was frustrating. I was disappointed that the hotel is located in a rather barren part of town, with nothing much in short walking distance. We ended up taxiing every time we went out to save our sore feet the extra walking. The shuttle to the station is nicely done, and that was handy. If you wanted a quick and easy dinner it was better to take the shuttle bus to the train station and eat there than to eat near the hotel or in the hotel. Overall though this was a pleasant hotel I would say it's better suited to conferences/weddings/events, and not the best choice for sightseers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by L15143 from Pittsburgh, PA

OK for an overnight stay.

Posted Nov 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall, an OK business hotel. Not 4 Star service hotel. 3 Stars at most. Hotel does not offer enough staff or encourage personal interest in guests. Seemed more like a Group Bus Tour Stop to me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com