Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice ryokan for the price

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Good price, well located, friendly staff. Rent bike to ride around town.
Cons: bathrooms are a bit outdated.
Tried this relatively cheap ryokan (all others were 300 usd per night). Pleasant experience, staff is really nice and the ryokan is well located. Would recommend to friends. You should definitely rent bikes to ride around town (available at the hotel).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Inexpensive hotel near plenty of shopping.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
A short one night stay in Kyoto. The hotel was an inexpensive traditional Japanese establishment. The staff was great and large public bath was excellent. Overall it was a great experience for the price. The continental breakfast was fair. We missed the cutoff to order a traditional breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bart from Boston, U.S.A.

Excellent location for restaurants, markets, walks

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were not on the food plan at this ryokan since there were so many restaurants nearby so the strong points for us were 1. Location: absolutely in the center of a hopping neighborhood but still on a quiet street; 2. Service: impeccable; and 3. The baths were clean, lux with all the amenities you could possibly need. Another highlight for us since we have been bouncing around from campsites to small ryokans to western five star hotels was the washer and dryer on site.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by JeannePlantation from Florida

Good location and experience

Posted Apr 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay at the Watazen. I wanted my family to experience a Ryokan but I knew that would be challenging with two small children ages 8 and 11 in tow. We really enjoyed the traditional experience of Watazen without the stress of having the kids follow too many rules. My only comment is the common area carpet is in poor condition. Everything else in the hotel is lovely so the stained carpet doesn't give a good first impression. I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable, with extremely good service.
Cons: Slightly garish style of decoration.
Location: Lots of restaurants and in walking distance of the Gion district
This is not exactly a ryokan - it is a modern hotel decorated in traditional style with futons However, it was in a lively area, the staff were charming and helpful, , the room was spacious and clean and the price was very reasonable. There was a laundry room in the basement and a wonderful spa. I can't really fault it and would absolutely recommend it as a mid-range hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL STAFF; HOTEL IN GOOD LOCATION
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels.com