Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portugal

Excellent traditional experience close to everythi

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Really stay in a ryokan so I don't know how faithful this is to the traditional experience. What I can say is that staff are exceptional - welcoming and friendly. Rooms are minimally furnished as is expected in a ryokan but comfortable and with all modern conveniences. We didn't have dinner but breakfasts were excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night stay in Kyoto

Posted Aug 6, 2014
A bit tricky to find, but great when you do! Very friendly staff and convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kevin from Sydney, Aus

Nice rooms, friendly service

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: clean spacious rooms
Cons: prefer the traditional japanese breakfasts
Location: Sanjo street, shopping, lots of places to eat, proximity to Shijo Street
A bit of a walk from the subway and can be tricky to find on the first day. Stayed at the top floor rooms which provided us breakfast in room every morning as well as green tea upon arrival checkin. Room was lovely with its own mini garden and also own bathroom and toilet which was great as some nights we were too tired to venture downstairs to the public bath. The lady that served us breakfast took great care to explain each dish every morning and was very attentive. Room was spacious and clean with a bar fridge provided. Not sure about the other floors but it seems the top floor rooms are nicely designed and quite large. Sleeping on Futons on the tatami mats was comfy and always welcome after a day of trekking around the sights in Kyoto. The personal send off's when you depart is cute and a nice touch to an enjoyable stay. Would definitely stay again on my next visit to Kyoto.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ricardo from Sao Paulo

Convenient location

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Close to shopping arcades, subway sta. and food market. Very good service, although English-speaking staff was an issue. Very clean ryokan and public bath. Tasty breakfast and kaiseki meals. We left our luggage for end-of-afternoon pick-up; manager/owner did not allow us to use restrooms...
5 out of 5
Recommended
by KJ from England

Brilliant hotel!!

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautiful hotel with a real traditional feel, but still with western facilities ;) Would highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by YL from USA

Great Japenese style hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
It's a great Japanese style hotel. It's very clean, staffs are nice, and right next to a very popular shopping area. But you can't check in till 4pm (they will definitely let you wait till 4pm), and have to check out by 10 am. I think this is not very convenient .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it.

Posted Apr 11, 2013
Pros: Everything was so pretty, the room itself & staff.
Location: Easy to find.
I absolutely loved this hotel. The staff were brilliant & went above & beyond expectation. The hot spring spa was beautiful & relaxing. The breakfast was so amazing. I had the best night sleep on the futon. I recommend this hotel to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York City

Wonderful initiation to a ryokan

Posted May 2, 2011
My family just returned from a wonderful initiation into the ryokan experience. On our first visit to Japan we decided to book a ryokan for one night preceding our hotel stay in Kyoto. Our criteria were price range, good reviews and proximity to our hotel. We couldn’t have made a better choice. We arrived early and the staff happily kept our bags till the 4 pm check in time. We spent that time walking in the nearby fascinating Nishki Food Market and the shopping promenades. Upon our return we were served green tea and cookies. In spite of limited English the staff was very friendly. The rooms and furnishings were tastefully decorated and the futons were comfortable. There were modern shower and lavoratory rooms in the entry area which were screened off from the eating/sleeping space. The kimonos, which were attractive and well-made, were worn down to the communal bath and to sleep. The bath and companion washing areas were a delight and we didn’t end up sharing them with anyone. Due to my daughters dietary restrictions we did not eat any meals in the ryokan but instead bought breakfast in the nearby grocery and stored it overnight in the refrigerator in the room. We all enjoyed this ryokan experience, felt it was worth the expense, and recommend the Matsui Honkon Ryokan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

An excellent location and great friendly service

Posted Aug 3, 2009
They held a banner up saying "thank you" as we got into the taxi to leave. Right upto the end this Ryokan expemplified everything that one expects when one hears of Japanese service. the room was clean and specious, the breakfast great and the walking distance to Gion given that it was Gion matsuri was convenient. Next time I am in Kyoto, I know where I will stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Real Japan

Posted Jul 17, 2008
Very very very friendly staff, good food!