Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anonymousfrom Florida

Good, but may be too expensive for what you get

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: Decent location, clean rooms, helpful staff.
Cons: Adjust the room rates to be more inline with the size of the rooms offered. Reduce the breakfast choices and concentrate on making it taste good.
Location: Shijo-dori is a night-life area with tons of shopping to the east of the hotel. You won't run out of stores to go into.
My wife and I spent 5 nights at this hotel on our honeymoon in Japan. While the hotel is very "upscale" looking, it's really just a standard western-style hotel with the usual Japan-sized rooms (ie. tiny). Maybe there are larger rooms, but ours definitely wasn't. It was fine, but the price should have been adjusted to match the room size. The breakfast was disappointing (lots of choices, but badly maintained) and quite expensive ($15 / person). We had trouble finding breakfast options near the hotel, since it seems like a shopping oriented area on Shijo-dori. Lunch and dinner is easy to find but you may need to walk up to 15 minutes in order to find something different each night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Markfrom Australia

Great central location

Posted Apr 28, 2014
We loved Kyoto. The staff in this hotel were very friendly and helpful. Everything in the facility was well maintained and very clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Denisefrom NZ

Kyoto stopover

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Location was good, yukata provided in room was great, lots of English information, helpful staff and clean and inviting.
Location: It was centrally located and using bus, train or taxi (all easy to get to) you could go where you wanted!
My daughter (10 years) and I wanted to stop in Kyoto on our way to Osaka. This hotel was great for us - good location, helpful staff, the room was tiny but perfectly formed! The public bath was a great addition to the hotel and we decided to give it a go (using the guide the hotel had provided) and we loved it. There was a guest laundry we could use. I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a stay in Kyoto - small room but all amenities you would need and a public bath for an additional Japanese experience too.
3 out of 5
by Felfrom singapore

Great location, small rooms and bed.

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Location of the hotel was great close to the subway and walkable distance to nishikki market. Minus point was the room had a semi-double bed which was really small so the 2 of us had to squeeze for 2 nights. For the price I paid SGD$230/night. Could have gotten something better if I booked earlier.
1 out of 5
by agatafrom singapore

Caustrophobic rooms

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Nothing, all was very bad !
Cons: they should re plan the all hotel to be in line with international standards
Location: ok location but you need always a taxi to visit the city ..
Small roms, small beds, the lobby like a seaport, no bell men, all confused. For a western looking a decent stay with a regular bed, this is the place to skip !
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rip off hotel!

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Charged 1,000 yen when we did not check out on time. When asked why we were not informed there was a charge (as this has not been our experience in any other Japanese hotel), we were told "we do not tell the guests about the charge". Totally ridiculous. The staff were morons!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really great for tourists

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Staff is really friendly and helpful it close to some great shrines and temples not to mention great shopping!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tedfrom CapeCod Mass .

Great hotel for first time visitor

Posted Sep 18, 2013
I have never been to Japan before and don't deal with big cities often .I picked Ueno because it is a quieter area of Tokyo . I chose wisely and this hotel made it easy .It is located directly across the street from Ueno station. The desk staff spoke enough english to communicate and provided all printed and map information in english . Lots of attractions within walking distance . Tokyo is an amazing place Ueno is a great place to base from . Definitely come here , if you come from the US you won't believe how pleasant a city can be till you come here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very convenient location just off of Shijo Street - near the subway and many bus lines