Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama

Excellent traditional Japanese house

Posted Jul 12, 2014
The Ryokan is close to the railway station and to restaurants and convenient stores. They rent bikes and that was a good way to visit all Kyoto's attractions. Also have a cheap laundry service. A little expensive compared to hotel rates.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Traditional and cosy. Abit cramped though.

Posted Jul 12, 2014
The staff were polite and friendly. Service attitude was good. However, the air conditioner was not functioning well and it was pretty warm at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Value for money Ryokan experience

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Location was quite good for public transport, Gion district, yet quiet and hidden down a local alleyway.
Cons: Include breakfast in the rate, like almost all hostels. If you are over 185cm tall, this Ryokan will feel tiny and you will likely bang your head.
Location: Gion district. Some of the best temples are between Nagomi and Gion district. Temples, temples and more temples. Great restaurants down by the river t
Although more of a Ryokan styled backpackers/hostel, Nagomi really pulls off the whole experience very well...and we didnt even do the kimono or tea ceremony. The staff went out of their way to be friendly, helpful and hospitable and answered our every question about Kyoto (and we had a few). I would recommend hiring bikes as a great way to see the city, which they can sort out for you. The beds were traditional futon style, the room was small (but this is Japan) and as we had a lot of luggage, traversing the creeky stairs was a challenge. But the whole experience was far better than a sterile, dull 4 star hotel. The breakfast, although not included, is very good as well. Many of the front desk staff have great English too.
3 out of 5
by T from Singapore

Not so good.

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Nice, cosy, simple layout.
Cons: Sound proof the rooms. Walls are too thin.
Location was slightly off the grid. Walk's reasonable from Gojo station. However, getting to Gion area was very inconvenient, by train or by bus. Better off taking a cab! Room was true to its pictures. Bathroom very very very tiny. We expected these which were ok. Pillows were also too soft! What we didn't expect was that the room was really noisy! We could hear our neighbours so clearly, we could have had a conversation with them. We could also hear every single step that our neighbour above us took. Constant creaking. Flushing. Water pouring............... I'd come back again, if the room was more sound proof.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by D from Melbourne, Australia

Nice ryokan, very friendly staff

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Great location, friendly, helpful staff. As long as you don't mind a quiet stay in an old ryokan building I highly recommend this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JT from USA

WONDERFUL TIME!

Posted Feb 5, 2014
We had a great 2 night stay at the ryoken. Great location. Very clean. Friendly staff. Enjoyed our room and even brought dinner home both nights just so we could spend more time in the nice setting. I think there was a mix up with room...we asked for Japanese style with futons and got American beds which were a little hard, but were so impressed with the rest of the place didnt complain. The room next to ours was empty so we got the shared kitchen and bathroom with tub all to ourselves! Would love to go back. Rented bikes for $5 which is a great deal and perfect way to explore kyoto. The trail along the river is perfect for riding...great vacation spot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely tea ceremony and kimono wearing experience

Posted Jan 24, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by 'liya from Toronto

Great to try something different.

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: The experience of trying something new.
Cons: Instructions for how to find hotel.
It was enjoyable to try something new and the staff were very friendly. Location a bit challenging to find at first.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2013