Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chu

The basics in a great surrounding area

Posted May 22, 2014
Took 1.5 hrs to get there by public bus from Kyoto Station. From bus station to hotel another 15 mins walk. But can also call the hotel for pick up. Inside is quite basic and you have to make your own bed. Shared bathrooms and public hotspring. Walls are very thin, people next door can easily be heard talking. Stayed 1 night. Sufficient to explore the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted May 5, 2014
Located about 15 mins fro the bus stop the hotel will collect you free of charge. Room was very spacious clean and tidy Staff helpful You cook your own meal at the table but don't worry the supply very simple instructions. Great fun. And yes as to be expected for a traditional inn, you do have to remove your shoes on entering and making up your futon bed. It's what it's all about.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Onsen Experience

Posted May 4, 2014
Location: The location is very scenic and peaceful. You can walk through Ohara and see the temples. Also, you can take a bus and train (1 hour) to Kibune.
I really enjoyed my stay at this place. It was nice to get out of the city and into the countryside in the mountains. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and cozy. The baths were small but pleasant. The food was delicious. I enjoyed walking around the area, and going on hikes in nearby Kibune (1 hour by bus/train).
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Bart from USA

Expérience Temples and Ryokans without the crowds

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
We spent our first 3 of 21 days in Japan at this quiet Ryokan in Ohara just outside of Kyoto, and we are glad we did. It was quiet and the neighborhood was absolutely charming given it was mostly pedestrian. We saw three wonderful temples without the craziness of tour groups and tour busses. But mostly we enjoyed gently orienting ourselves at the ryokan. Not having to think about where we were going to eat was relaxing especially since the food served at Ohara No Sato was tasty and nutritious . The staff was incredibly friendly and offered to give us a ride to the station when we were leaving as it was pouring out. Getting to the ryokan was a simple and lovely 10 minute walk up a footpath from the bus station. We highly recommend this ryokan and in fact are considering returning before we leave the country.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vi from Sydney

Felt perfect to me!

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: Nearly everything! The outdoor onsen was the reason I chose the hotel and it certainly didn't disappoint! Staff was super super super amazing too!!
Cons: The wifi was a bit weak and I could not connect to it at all.
Location: I only stayed one night so I didn't get a chance to explore but I know there are quite beautiful temples and gardens around.
After spending 5 days in Tokyo, I decided to choose a location more local and more in the heart of Japan and chose this hotel based on previous reviews on Expedia. It was already amazing to have the drive up there from Kyoto to see such traditional Japanese houses and the culture emerging. The onsen was amazing, room was small but super comfortable because you make your own futon! It was a great experience and since we went in winter, it was snowing too! It was such a beautiful image to wake up too- right in the heart of nature and Japan's snow. The rooms are reasonable size, considering you sleep on the floor anyway. Beautiful views so it makes up for it. The tv is super small, so don't expect any HD quality movies or anything. The toilet is separate from the room which can be inconvenient for some people but it's just like back home so it's not too much of a hassle. I think to have the best experience at this hotel, you must go to the onsen and if you don't, it might not be a suitable choice as it is a bit of a travel to get to the hotel. I took a bullet train to Kyoto, then an hour long bus from Kyoto to Ohara. However, staff was nice enough to pick us up AND drop us back to the bus when we had to check out. Such a great place to stay if you're looking for a place to relax and away from the fancy hotels and contemporary styles. I recommend this to anyone who wants a piece of the heart of Japan with them when they go!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

inconvenient location

Posted Dec 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Inconvenient to get to (1 hr by bus fr Kyoto Station); had some friendly staff; they did not help w bedding ; the bath smelled bad in the morning:(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with very good price

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: hot spring
Very nice outdoor hot spring. The staff was very friendly. It is more of local resident house than a formal Ryokan. We stayed the same place for 2 days and definitely will go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely getaway in the mountains with an onsen!

Posted Oct 27, 2013
My mum, sister and I stayed here for a night while we visited Kyoto. It was our first onsen experience. The service was great, the food was excellent. My only advise is to get there before it gets dark and don't use public transport. We got a bit lost as we arrived late and could not find a taxi to takes us from the train station to the hotel. If you get there early you'll make most of the experience. Great place, great food - would definitely recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yuko from Canada

Enjoyable stay in Japanese countryside.

Posted Jul 5, 2013
Pros: Staff were friendly and helpful, enjoyed the outdoor baths.
Cons: It is a bit of a walk to the bus stop. The walls are thin, so if you have noisy guests it could be a problem.
Location: Located in a nice, quiet countryside setting. The temples in the area (or rather the gardens of the temples) were amazing.
We had a very nice stay at the ryokan. We stayed two nights. When we arrived it was drizzling and so we called the hotel and they were able to come pick us up. Which was greatly appreciated since its a good 10 minute walk. The room was a Japanese style tatami room and was large enough to comfortably accommodate the three of us. We had to take out and put away our own futons, but that was fine since we knew it was a minshuku rather than a proper ryokan. We actually preferred that since we didn't have to worry about when the staff was coming to take down and put up the futons at night and in the morning. The baths are hot spring. Not very large but enjoyed the outdoor baths in a beautiful garden setting. Meals are taken in large room with other guests. We had the miso nabe the first night and sukiyaki the next. Japanese style breakfast were also included. They were all very good. Not much choice in terms of types of food so if you're not really into miso and other traditional Japanese food, I would not get a meal plan. The second night, the staff offered to drive the guests 5 minutes to a spot where you can see fireflies. That was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We love it!!

Posted Apr 30, 2013
The whole insensitive is just too authentic. We opened our room balcony door and salutary petals r welcoming us everywhere. we love it. Ryan including my little boys who r just 4 and 2.