Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amherst Island, Canada

Traditional Japanese Experience

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The hotel rents bikes and the river/bike path is very close by. Rooms can accomodate up to 10 people.
We chose this hotel because we wanted a unique experience. We loved staying here! The traditional room was everything that we expected. During the day, the room is set up for tea. In the evening, futons with fluffy duvets are set out. Thanks to another guest review, we found the laundry room on the 4th floor. The beer vending machine in the lobby made our Canadian hearts flutter. The area is quiet but bust shopping area is very close. The hotel is very clean. Highly recommend this to travellers who are looking for an interesting experience - this is not for you if you need 5 star service and amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great spot

Posted May 13, 2014
Great traditional Japanese style rooms. Walking distance to restaurants, bus stops etc. Perfect location, quiet back street whilst close to the essentials. On site bike hire available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Emilie from Seattle, WA

Mountain escape

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: The staff were wonderful. The location was great and the ryokan was cleaner and nicer than the one we stayed at in Kyoto.
Cons: Wifi throughout the hotel.
Location: We did a hike up a nearby mountain and enjoyed the views. There is a long walking trail through the towns. 3 onsens in town.
This was a great place to stay after the crowds in Tokyo. It was easy to get to by train and had a small town feel, but was still convenient and accessible. The hotel staff were so helpful and had great suggestions, and their English was some of the best we encountered in Japan. The location was peaceful. We did a great hike nearby, spent a lot of time in the onsen, and wandered about town enjoying the multiple temples.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
My stay was comfortable, and I enjoyed the traditional Ryokan room. Staff has some limitations on English communication. I had asked for additional 1 hr for check out. Person on phone at that time said it was OK. However cleaning staff came at original check out time. When I asked lobby personnel, they said no late checkout possible, and if I wanted additional 1 hr, then it will be additional $20 charge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from Australia

Nice hotel close to town

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: The traditional room. Helpful staff.
Large, spacious light and airy traditional tatami room, with balcony. Clean and comfortable. Access to roof top with beautiful views. Centrally located. 10min taxi ride to train station. Travelled with a 7 year old, staff helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Y

Nice experience

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Overall, the hotel is good. Clean, comfortable, service is good and staff are polite. Language is the only barrier. However, this is expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sandra from San Diego

Beautiful!

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice Japanese hotel and the staff is so accomodating and very nice. I would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by jolynnzxc from Singapore

Japanese Feel

Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
the hotel is pretty far from any city lights and also from train stations. train stations is 5-10mins away from hotel. this hotel from the outside looked just like a normal building, but when you proceed inside, you seem like you are transported to a japanese onsen. the room is just as what you see in the pictures. simple yet beautiful. they have personal room baths and public baths. do try public baths if you and your friends are not shy as you have to be totally naked. Hotel's pricing is slightly high but no regrets coming. you get to wear informal yukatas too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by B Ando from California

And rental bikes too

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great place for two couples to share Japanese style room, with hot baths and reasonable bike rental for exploring nearby Imperial Palace and Philosophers Path. Downside is that smoking is allowed in some areas, and smell pervades the hallway.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 6, 2014 on Hotels.com