Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great spot

Posted May 13, 2014
Great traditional Japanese style rooms. Walking distance to restaurants, bus stops etc. Perfect location, quiet back street whilst close to the essentials. On site bike hire available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Emilie from Seattle, WA

Mountain escape

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: The staff were wonderful. The location was great and the ryokan was cleaner and nicer than the one we stayed at in Kyoto.
Cons: Wifi throughout the hotel.
Location: We did a hike up a nearby mountain and enjoyed the views. There is a long walking trail through the towns. 3 onsens in town.
This was a great place to stay after the crowds in Tokyo. It was easy to get to by train and had a small town feel, but was still convenient and accessible. The hotel staff were so helpful and had great suggestions, and their English was some of the best we encountered in Japan. The location was peaceful. We did a great hike nearby, spent a lot of time in the onsen, and wandered about town enjoying the multiple temples.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from Australia

Nice hotel close to town

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: The traditional room. Helpful staff.
Large, spacious light and airy traditional tatami room, with balcony. Clean and comfortable. Access to roof top with beautiful views. Centrally located. 10min taxi ride to train station. Travelled with a 7 year old, staff helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Y

Nice experience

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Overall, the hotel is good. Clean, comfortable, service is good and staff are polite. Language is the only barrier. However, this is expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Moy from Perth

Nice stay

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room is clean, comfortable bedding. Very convenient location even though it is not right in the middle of activities. Only 5 minutes walk to bus stops and 3 stops to shopping area. The bus route leaflet from the hotel is very useful. It tells you bus stops location & bus number to get to most tourist attractions without hassle at all. Laundry room needs to be upgraded as only 3 washing machines were working & dryers did not work at all. All in all, we enjoys the stay and helpful staffs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Brisbane, Australia

Handy place to stay

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Ryokan style room was spacious for a family of four. Hotel was located in a handy location to catch the subway (or a short taxi ride) to the main areas. A few supermarkets were handy - no too much choice for eating out close by though. The traditional Japanese breakfast served at the hotel was really nice. Overall a good ryokan style experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lisa from Marlborough, MA, USA

Great location, easy to train/bus

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by NM from Australia

Service plus

Posted Dec 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Staff very helpful stayed 6 nights with family of two adults and three children 6,9,11 in very comfortable room. Breakfast service with full maid service was beyond what we expected. location was a brisk 10 min walk to subway. Be warned if you need a taxi any where book we'll in advance, the hotel while very helpful does not run the Taxi service. We enjoyed the grand bath in the basement. Will stay again when in Kyoto....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice staff, true japanese

Posted Aug 23, 2013
Pros: I hope to come back
Very kind people, true japanese life! Rooms are comfortables, true tatami-style