Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom hong kong

Generally, it is Ok!

Posted Jan 12, 2015
The location of hotel is generally ok! About 15 minutes, you can walk to the busy shopping street and train station. However, if taking bulk baggage without driving a car or having a child/baby together, it is so inconvenience. Moreover, the facilities especially at public bathing area is old and dirty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Comfortable traditional Japanese inn

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: The hotel fit our needs. It was clean and conveniently located and the breakfasts were very tasty!
Cons: It was difficult to figure out the thermostat. We were finally able to find someone to help us, but it would be helpful to have English instructions.
Staying in this traditional ryokan in Kyoto was a highlight of our trip. The room was clean and the staff, although not all proficient English speakers, were as helpful as possible. The ryokan is located about a 5-7 min walk from the closest subway and about a 15-20 min walk from a main shopping area. Though we did not eat at any of the nearby restaurants, they all seemed quaint and inviting. There is a convenience store and several vending machines at the corner. Our favorite part of our hotel stay was the breakfast! I traveled with my sister and two nephews, and if you are up for trying a Japanese style breakfast (not Western), this alone, was worth our stay. Beautifully presented and very filling, it was a great experience for my family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London

Traditional Japanese Ryokan hotel in Kyoto

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Breakfasts good with excellent service provided. The hotel staff were also very helpful but their level of English was basic. Hotel central in town.
Cons: Communication about the style of hotel and facilities provided.
Location: Room facilities were fine with a safe deposit box provided. Excellent restaurant within 200 yards of hotel. Good bus routes a short walk from hotel.
We were surprised to see the type of the hotel when we arrived as we did not realise that it would be a traditional Japanese Ryokan hotel. However we enjoyed our stay in the hotel which was a different experience for us. The hotel provided us with a map of Kyoto, a local bus map and a bus map of the town. All were very useful. The temples, castle and their gardens were all quite stunning as the trees were all in their autumn colours. Everyone that we met in Kyoto was very helpful with directions and advice.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom 新潟県

期待外れの宿とスタッフ

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: ない
Cons: スタッフの対応。忙しさのあまり接客がお粗末。
Location: 加茂川、京都御所、二条城に近い。
期待をして宿に着いたが、いきなり宿泊予定先の「お宿いしちょう」ではなく本館に回された。予約時、朝食はバイキングのはずだったのに、それは違いますと言われ、普通のお膳料理の朝食だった。子どものために、朝食がバイキングの宿を選んだのに意味がなかった。子どもたちは残念がるばかり。 フロントの対応が最悪。翌日朝一で清水寺に行きたいので、「何時から入れますか?」と聞いても分からないと言われ、しまいには、「ご自分で調べてください」と言われた。もう何も聞こうとも思わなかった。気分が悪くなる。 せっかくの京都旅行を楽しみにしていたのに、いろいろな面で宿には不満が残った。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Piafrom Sweden

Excellent

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Travelled with kids, 12, 10 and 8. It was generally difficult to find hotels that accepted 5 people, but they did here and we had no problem fitting in the room. We were a bit hesitant before going about the "sleeping on thin mattresses"-thing but it wasn't a problem. The mattresses they roll out are fairly thick and they are comfortable. The kids loved changing into kimonos (you get the kid sized ones in reception) and going to the Japanese onsen (bath). The Japanese style breakfast was a fun experience even if we had to run out for coffee afterwards (only green tea served). The location was great - we walked to Gyon in the evening - and you could buy bus passes in the reception.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by yongchinfrom 서울

교토 료칸

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
찾기 힘드네요
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by JONGWOOfrom 대한민국

조용한 료칸스타일 호텔

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
다다미 스타일 방에서 묶었구요..공용목욕탕이 있어서 숙소에 들어오면 피로를 풀기에 좋았습니다. 스탭들도 친절했고 방도 넓어 괜찮았습니다. 가와라마치 마루타마치 정류장에서 버스이용해서 청수사 금각사 니조성 니시키시장등의 이용이 가능합니다. 주말에다가 일본 연휴라 그랬는지 가격은 조금 비쌌는데 한방에서 우리4가족 이용하기에 불편함이 없었습니다. 주변에 편의점, 타코야키점, 라멘집, 돈까스집이 있어 요기도 가능했고 주택가에 위치해서 조용한점도 좋았습니다.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by John

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
整體不錯;家庭房四人日式床房間空間很大;睡五六人都可;走路五分鐘就有大超市;生活方便;這裡賣的抺茶較便宜;鴨川就在旁邊;早晨可以運動跑步;地鐵丶公車都很方便搭乘至景點如嵐山景點、二條城丶伏見稻禾丶錦市場等等;但住房費沒含早餐,一樓有提供簡單早餐費用為日元550元;相當一份大的三明治及一杯咖啡量;若不會說日語者到此時;出門可帶一份飯店的地圖;坐計程車回來時較易溝通。