Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

Normal

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: Old but nice feel of japan traditional house.
Cons: noise of next door, baby crying all night!!!
Location: all nice place are around
Saw 2 cockroachs and told front desk. Baby next room crying whole night......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Nice stay - something different

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: Small and different. Staff are great and speak english.
Cons: Not much
Location: Take the 50 bus from Kyoto station.
We enjoyed our stay. It is a little isolated, with few restaurants nearby but a walk in the small streets is interesting anyway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice central location

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Couple in a twin room. Rooms were nice and comfortable and staff very nice. The hotel was in a nice central location and had very useful tourist and restaurant guides. The rooms however are a bit dark at night and the walls are paper thin so can be a bit noisy if your neighbours are out late.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2014
pretty good experience overall, i love it, thanks. the staff were a bit too polite though
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by louisfrom France

sympa

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
La propriétaire est une petite dame très sympathique...c'est très propre, facile d'accès, au bord de l'eau... Par contre même si la chambre est individuelle cela ressemble qd même à une auberge de jeunesse
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by ATSUSHI

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 14

Average stay in Kyoto.

Posted Oct 17, 2014
When I arrived here the staff were dressed up in cute kimonos. The lady who orientated me to the place was nice but her co-staff member could use a smile and some patience when trying to explain what I couldn't understand from the other lady. Overall the stay was average. Cant say it was anything special compared to the other places I have stayed in Japan. The one thing I was really disappointed about was that I wasn't shown where the public bath was when I arrived. It was located in the building next door and I only found out as I was checking out to get my suitcase in their storage room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Wei Lingfrom Vancouver

Very nice and friendly staff

Posted Oct 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very friendly staff. I am staying in a single room with private bathroom, room is clean. The only thing is that the room is right by the entrance therefore when people going in and out I could hear the sound clearly from the room...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom west country UK

Ryokan at a reasonable price

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: It is a quirky place. The staff were really helpful and spoke good English. The room was fine and the futon also fine. The shower and loos weren't too
Cons: A lamp in our room would have been good. The stairs up to our bit were a bit difficult - rather steep to get your luggage up. No TV, but we managed!
Location: It is in a quiet part of Kyoto, amongst houses in small streets. It reminded me of where I used to live in Tokyo. Not too far to walk to bus stops or
We liked this place! Most of the guests were younger than us, but that wasn't a problem. the room was fine, not too small and the futon ok too. I could have done with a lamp. And a TV I suppose. The loos weren't too far for a night time trip! There are rules of the house, but they are put in a cute book, so that seems ok. The kitchen and laundry facilities would be really useful if you were staying for a while. Its very quirky, and set in a typical quiet residential area. We found it a bit difficult to get a nearby breakfast, and eat locally, but we managed. Go north to the main road where the Fresca convenience store is and turn right...you'll find something. Be prepared to walk in Kyoto! The city is stuffed with amazing places, but you need more than the 2 nights we had.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels.com