Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Our 3 Night Stay in Kyoto : Sept 14

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Location. Plenty of transport options close by : walking was great with plenty of food places also. Shopping .........where do you start ! Terrific !
Cons: Not much except the size of the room. We found it a bit small but no complaints given all the other great reasons to stay here.
Location: Outstanding location. Don't be concerned that it looks like it is miles out of Kyoto (Shinkansen). It is located smack in the middle of want you need.
The Royal Park Hotel turned out to be the smallest room we had on our recent 3 weeks in Japan however we moved a couple of pieces of furniture around and it was terrific. Great location, great staff and very comfortable. After 3 nights we were pretty happy with this hotel : definitely not a Sheraton or Hilton, but we would rate it as a 4 out of 5. It has everything a couple would want in a great location, close to the trains, buses etc : about 20 minutes taxi from the Shinkansen : Kyoto is such a big place and is a MUST to see. We found it to be a good base for our travels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place to Stay!

Posted Oct 9, 2014
This hotel exceeded our expectations and for a great price. Of all the hotels we stayed at over our trip to Japan this was the nicest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel in an excellent location.

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: We liked everything!
Cons: A minor problem was the stated 2pm checkin time was very strictly observed. However our cases were in our room when we did check in.
Location: Location is excellent. Walking distance to Gion (old town) and near metro and bus routes. Lots of restaurants nearby and also enormous shopping arcade
Hotel staff were very helpful. The room was excellent. Japanese hotel rooms tend to be small, however our twin room provided ample space for us. The hotel has a very modern feel, and the rain shower in the bathroom was brilliant!.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Andrew from Toronto

Loved it!

Posted Jul 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Was an amazing stay! was surprised by the size of our room, everyone was so helpful, the staff even spoke English. Huge thanks to the concierge which really helped us and recommend restaurants and places to go. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Great place in Kyoto

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Great location with wonderful bakery for breakfast just below the hotel, a market nearby, very close to the river and lots of night life. The staff was very helpful making reservations for us for dinner. The room was large enough and the shower was heaven after a day in the heat. Definitely recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Location..

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Contemporary Modern designed hotel, large rooms, super clean, great facilities, absolutely close to everything ! Excellent location Right next to Gion and some wonderful shopping strips. Delicious bakery next door. Bargain online price. Awesome boutique hotel. Will defiantly stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chan Family from Singapore

Very good hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Location of hotel is very good, near many restaurants and shopping and transportation. The English-speaking lady conceige was very helpful. She gave very clear instructions on transportation and recommended some very good restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: The bathroom Size of the rooms Friendliness of the staff Location
Cons: A little more storage space for clothes in the room, maybe some drawers.
Location: Excellent location for the river, shopping and the Geisha district. The Golden Pavillion was a short bus journey away
The hotel was in easy walking distance of two tube stations, and a short walk from the river .The entrance was a little dark and the front door 'hidden' but once inside I couldn't find anything negative to say about this hotel. The staff were very helpful and did everything they could to ensure we had a good stay. They were very knowledgeable about Kyoto and helped us to negotiate around the city, giving advise on bus routes etc. We had a very pleasant surprise when checking in, as we got an upgrade to a twin corner room. This room was very spacious and the wet room was fantastic. We didn't eat at the hotel as there were so many place to eat nearby. The location of the hotel is great as its easy to get to the main attractions from this hotel, whether it's by bus, train or subway. The Geisha district is within walking distance, as is the river. I would recommend this hotel and would stay again if I went back to Kyoto.