Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by T.T. from San Francisco, CA

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Location is convenient enough, but does require subway transfer from Kyoto station. Close to Nishiki market and awesome ramen shops like Ippudo and Gogyo. Proximity to subway makes it relatively easy to get around. Not a traditional ryokan, but the tatami styled room was nice. We included breakfast option with our room, which was definitely worth it. The Japanese styled breakfast was amazing!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frank from Freiburg, Germany

Simple Japanese Ryokan Experience

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Location: Location is very central in Kyoto and provides an excellent starting point for sightseeing.
The hotel itself provides a modern and simple Japanese Ryokan experience. However, we did not find our room to be very clean (long black hairs on the floor,...). Be aware that the staff's English is very, very basic.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alfonso from Netherlands

Poor service

Posted May 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
I think a Ryokan should be about guest service but Im not at all satisfied with the service offered here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ken from davao philippines

Posted Apr 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
it's a very nice place to experience japanese style room accommodation. it's very strategic to local tourist spots.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Park next door for kids. Right near Nishiki marke

Posted Feb 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Tatami rooms were very traditional. location awesome for downtown kyoto. Futons were not as good as other tatami rooms I've stayed in. The onsen seems to be fed from normal water and then chlorinated. Could do with some cleaning there. The bath and shower in room were a great size. The staff even offered to change our room to a larger one at no charge. Very considerate. The park next door was great for the kids. Happy with my stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK, but .....

Posted Feb 17, 2012
Hotel staff could have been more helpful if their english was better. Nicely located near Nishiki Markets and shopping streets, but a bit of a walk from Shijo subway. 10am check out time is way too early.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Simon from Sweden

Would go again

Posted Jan 4, 2012
Pros: Location, tatami room
Cons: No wifi in room
Location: Centrally located, close to shopping areas, bus stops
The experience is more like a hotel, than a ryokan. The rooms are however tatami style and feel like the rooms at a more traditional ryokan. There is NO wifi in the rooms. There is free wifi in the lobby area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

NOT the ryokan you want

Posted Mar 13, 2011 on Hotels.com
We wanted to stay at a traditional ryokan, with the tatami mats and food service. We got freezing cold rooms, and although we had the room service for supper and the following morning breakfast, we felt rushed by our server. She basically hurled our food at us, as she had a large group (of teenagers, it turned out) to also serve. I could not use the bathing room for women because there were teenage boys in there. Management told my husband to go to the convenience store on the corner to get ice. While eating, there was no music piped in, and also none available on the tv. Atmosphere needs work. Our cab driver had to call the ryokan to find out where they were located. Narrow alley. Teenagers were loud. Walls are thin. Food only average.