Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Scottybee from Perth

Kyoto Charm

Posted Apr 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great Ryokan. Emphasised everything great about Japan (service, food, etc.). The Ryokan is in a great location and loved the traditional bathroom. It looked like our room was recently refurbished. We were greeted with a smile and an IPAD with free wifi. Would definitely stay again if visiting Kyoto.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anthony from Singapore

Traditional Bliss.

Posted Apr 10, 2014
When we arrived at Ryokan Izuyasu we were greeted with a traditional tea ceremony like candy and green tea. The rooms are fabulous and the bathrooms are to die for. Better than any Hotel I have stay at for work or for pleasure. The morning breakfast is ample and the staff are respectful of space and helpfull and friendly. I totally recommend this hotel and the next time I am in Koyto I will be booking back here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Leanne

traditional

Posted Nov 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
The owners were very friendly and helpful with any queries you had about how to get to where you wanted to go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by MEF

A true local experience

Posted Jul 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. It was a little hard to find (the taxi drivers all needed a map. It was close to Nijo Castle and Kyoto train station so that was very convenient. It is within walking distance of many shops and restaurants, and Kyoto Tower. On the downside, I agree with several other reviewers, the futons are very uncomfortable - and we like a firm bed. The door frames are low and the bathroom small but this is to be expected and was not a problem for us. Traffic noise can occasionally be heard but it didn't bother us too much. The inn is very clean. The hostess/owner is very gracious and friendly but speaks no English. It gave us a chance to use our Japanese and it worked out. There are 2 staff that speak enough English to get by if needed. One thing to note is the curfew (10pm) but this was not an issue for us. Check in is fairly late (4pm) so we just dropped off our bags and came back when we had finished site seeing for the day. They provide tea and a tea set in the room but that's it as far as snacks and drinks. Again, a very good experience overall. We got a true local feel and enjoyed our stay. If you do stay here, be sure to have the ryokan information (with phone number) for the taxi drivers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Aleks

Traditional experience

Posted Jul 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
Service was lovely, very traditional experience & breakfast. However, bathroom could be refurbished. It is located close to main Kyoto train station but there is not much to see within walking distance (we rented bikes)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Wendy

Excellent traditional experience

Posted Jun 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
I stayed one night at Ryokan Izuyasu. It is in a great location just 5 minutes from Kyoto station, and thus is very convenient for all local bus journeys to tourist sites. The traditional experience provided by this Ryokan was perfect....from the amazing traditional multi-course dinner served by the owner in traditional kimono in my room, to the multi-course traditional breakfast, the mat floors, the futon and the soba bean pillow. Despite limited English from the staff and very limited Japanese from me we managed very well. I thoroughly recommend this Ryokan to anyone seeking the traditional Japanese experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice little Ryokan

Posted Jun 22, 2012
Ryokan Izuyasu is a quaint little ryokan in Kyoto. The service and food were excellent, but what my wife and I enjoyed most was the smaller atmosphere. The size is one par with a bed and breakfast. This ryokan is a smaller one which will give you a nice sense of traditional Japan, without the feel of a busy hotel. Very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Traditional ryokan experience

Posted May 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
Ryokan Izuyasu offers an upmarket traditional ryokan experience. The room was big and clean. The dinning experience was very nice. The location is very convinient (walking distance to Kyoto Station).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average to Disappointing

Posted Mar 20, 2012
It's a very typical Ryokan which is good. however, felt more like a family run business not too professional. As a tourist I would recommend the Ryokan Ryimekan Honten in Ochanmizo in Tokyo. This one is very hard to find, only small sign outside the place. The bath is shared which is fine but it closes at about 8:30 - 9:00 pm. The choices of Futon is not the best. tiring night. The hosts are really nice people though. Won't recommend it to tourist and first timers to Kyoto.