Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berlin, Deutschland

Traditionelles Hotel (Ryokan) in Kyoto

Posted May 5, 2015
Das Hotel ist verkehrsgünstig gelegen. Wir hatten ein japanisches Zimmer mit eigenem Bad gebucht. Das Zimmer war bestens ausgestattet und sehr geräumig. Ebenfalls gab es ein großes japanisches und sehr leckeres Frühstück, das in einem traditonell ausgestatteten Frühstücksraum serviert und ausführlich erklärt wurde. Ausstattung, Service, Sauberkeit, Essen waren einfach hervorragend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

舒适的和式酒店

Posted Apr 14, 2015
酒店环境很棒!布置也很舒适,工作人员非常尽责~虽然不靠近京都车站,但是酒店附近有电车和巴士,找起来也不难。去各个景点的车也很多,出行便利。下次去京都游玩还想住在这里~~
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

5 day stay at Ryokan sawaya honten

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Really close by the kyoto university hospital, so it was easy to find. Very friendly staff, I presumed it was the owner and his family. They we're very helpful and we're able to help us in English. The rooms were spacious and clean, very comfortable. Close by is a hub of the Keisan metro line, it's a 5 minute walk from the Ryokan. My brother and I stayed here for 5 nights, we rented a bike for several days and we're able to see most of Kyoto during these days. It was a very pleasant stay, would definitely stay here again if I visit Kyoto again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to various sites

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Newness, clean and helpful staff
Location: Most things can be reached by bus or subway which are close by.
Good location and reachable from the JR Line by bus. Use the one day bus pass available at the hotel to move around town. With the map and the most helpful directions of the staff we found this a very good hotel to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milan, Italy

Authentic Ryokan and lovely staff

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: The staff is really welcoming and helpful The traditional style makes you feel in the old Japan
Location: Just a small walk to the Imperial Palace. The area is full of restaurants. Subway and bus stop are less than 5 mins walk.
The ryokan is just 5 mins walk from the subway stop, and less than 2 mins walk form the bus station. It is a really safe area, really close to a lot of restaurants and he Imperial Palace. The staff is super friendly, they speak basic English and give suggestions on what to visit, and where to eat. The onsen is excellent and clean, a total relax after a long day walking! The room is very comfortable and equipped with everything you may need: - the dining area has Japanese table and chairs: teapot, cups and dishes, and chopsticks, we even had tea and tea biscuits every day :-) - the sleeping area has two comfortable futon and a heater, two large wardrobes with slippers and yukata, towels and hairdryer - there is also a western style area with desk and chairs and TV - the toilet is equipped with a TOTO washlet - bathroom with sink, shelves and a thub; shampoo, conditioner and body lotion are provided
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Shellie from Tustin, CA

Traditional Japanese ryokan w/ modern conveniences

Posted Mar 25, 2015 on Hotels
We really wanted to try a ryokan experience on our recent 11 day trip to Japan and I'm glad we did; however, a futon experience isn't for everyone. The room for 3 was very spacious. It would have easily fit another 3 people. We slept on a futon on the floor with a very cozy comforter. The room has a desk, plenty of closet space and a small table with a full tea set (every day we were provided with a full pot of hot water and cookies). They provide robes and socks for everyone (there are no shoes permitted anywhere except the immediate entry way of the lobby). They had traditional Japanese style, but with modern conveniences, like lots of plugs for charging devices, a tv, hairdryer, etc. We actually had a little suite with a foyer, bathroom, then sleeping area. The traditional breakfast was a real treat! I really enjoyed using the ladies' bath area (my husband/son never checked out the men's area) after a long day of walking and found it very relaxing. There is a subway stop about 5 minutes away, but it's not on the JR line, so we couldn't use our JR passes. There are also bus stops within 5 minutes. The ryokan is located a bit off the main street in a small alley, so it was a little challenging to find, but Google Maps on our phone was a real life saver. We found it reasonably convenient to the major attractions we wanted to see because we had plenty of access to public transportation. Overall, I had a pleasant experience and would recommend it to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jennifer from Newcastle

Ryokan Sawaya

Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
The staff were very helpful with reasonable English. The washing machine was a godsend and the breakfasts devine. It was not a far walk to either the subway or 100 tourist loop bus and there was plenty of places to eat nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Riikka

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 23, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Erinomainen majatalo

Posted Mar 16, 2015 on Hotels
Mukava ryokan. Kaikki tilat uudennäköisessä kunnossa, erittäin siisti, myös kylpyosastot. Ystävällinen henkilökunta. Hyvä japanilainen aamiainen. Ilmainen WiFi. Hyvät bussi- ja juna/metroyhteydet lyhyen kävelymatkan päässä. Tosin Kioton asemalle matkustukseen saa varata n. puoli tuntia bussilla.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

會考慮再入住

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: 環境舒適和餐點
老闆人很好, 也會用簡單的英文盡力回答問題. 房間不大但舒適, 餐點也精緻. 不介意交通的話, 環境不錯, 附近也有不少餐廳可選擇.