Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

舒适的和式酒店

Posted Apr 14, 2015
酒店环境很棒!布置也很舒适,工作人员非常尽责~虽然不靠近京都车站,但是酒店附近有电车和巴士,找起来也不难。去各个景点的车也很多,出行便利。下次去京都游玩还想住在这里~~
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Amsterdam

5 day stay at Ryokan sawaya honten

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Really close by the kyoto university hospital, so it was easy to find. Very friendly staff, I presumed it was the owner and his family. They we're very helpful and we're able to help us in English. The rooms were spacious and clean, very comfortable. Close by is a hub of the Keisan metro line, it's a 5 minute walk from the Ryokan. My brother and I stayed here for 5 nights, we rented a bike for several days and we're able to see most of Kyoto during these days. It was a very pleasant stay, would definitely stay here again if I visit Kyoto again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to various sites

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Newness, clean and helpful staff
Location: Most things can be reached by bus or subway which are close by.
Good location and reachable from the JR Line by bus. Use the one day bus pass available at the hotel to move around town. With the map and the most helpful directions of the staff we found this a very good hotel to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Milan, Italy

Authentic Ryokan and lovely staff

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: The staff is really welcoming and helpful The traditional style makes you feel in the old Japan
Location: Just a small walk to the Imperial Palace. The area is full of restaurants. Subway and bus stop are less than 5 mins walk.
The ryokan is just 5 mins walk from the subway stop, and less than 2 mins walk form the bus station. It is a really safe area, really close to a lot of restaurants and he Imperial Palace. The staff is super friendly, they speak basic English and give suggestions on what to visit, and where to eat. The onsen is excellent and clean, a total relax after a long day walking! The room is very comfortable and equipped with everything you may need: - the dining area has Japanese table and chairs: teapot, cups and dishes, and chopsticks, we even had tea and tea biscuits every day :-) - the sleeping area has two comfortable futon and a heater, two large wardrobes with slippers and yukata, towels and hairdryer - there is also a western style area with desk and chairs and TV - the toilet is equipped with a TOTO washlet - bathroom with sink, shelves and a thub; shampoo, conditioner and body lotion are provided
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

會考慮再入住

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: 環境舒適和餐點
老闆人很好, 也會用簡單的英文盡力回答問題. 房間不大但舒適, 餐點也精緻. 不介意交通的話, 環境不錯, 附近也有不少餐廳可選擇.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom metz france

sejour kyoto de 2 jours

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: onsen accessible dans l'hôtel..super agréable
Cons: accueil pas très chaleureux
Location: hotel en face du chu de kyoto... facile à atteindre à pied depuis le centre.. metro proche
hotel difficile à trouver mais pas trop mal situé par rapport au centre de kyoto à pied
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nim Ho Rickey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom singapore

Excellent!

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Booked a room for two only 1.5 weeks prior to our trip and was pretty worried the room may not meet our expectations but it exceeded them eventually! The room was so spacious and mattresses were so comfortable, didn't even felt like we were sleeping on the tatami. The ryokan's common area was very nice and staff were pleasant and helpful! Location wise, this is 25 mins from Kyoto station with a direct bus 100m away from ryokan. There are a few buses which go to Gion within 15 mins. Ryokan is easily accessible with convenient stores and a mini mart nearby. There are buses to the main attractions in Kyoto as well. Highly recommend you to stay here! Don't expect too much for the onsen though! It's just a small tub in small room. But overall, this place is great! We stayed for three nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by MING-HUNGfrom taiwan

值得一住的地方

Posted Dec 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
一切都非常良好,不過不知道為什麼旅館wifi都連不上~ 唯一能挑剔的點:))