Ratings based on 216 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Isolated ryokan in Kyoto

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Rock garden next to the dining area
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Located in the West side of Kyoto, so closest sites are Arashiyama Bamboo Grove and Kinkaku-ji.
Pleasant experience in nice, quaint ryokan. Located very far from center of Kyoto or any other sites. Public baths were located outside, so it was a little strange to walk around outside with your shower things to get to it. Also, the hours were unclear on when we were able to shower or use the bath. Breakfast was mediocre, ingredients did not seem fresh. However, facilities were clean and comfortable. Very affordable price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom california

Very authentic place. Wonderful staff

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Mainly the fact that it was an authentic place and the very kind staff but everything was perfect
Location: Quite remote but easy transportation (bus, taxi, ...). On the other side it is in the nature which is great (quite, beautiful gardens).
Fantastic. Very Japaneese and at the same time, all modern amenities (good English speakers, wifi, restaurant).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap pension in Kyoto

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: Staff
Cons: Tidiness, noise insulation (even for a Japanese-style room)
Location: A bit far off Kyoto's center (buses are quite rare, especially on weekends) but not bad to start on temple visit circuit.
The pension and the food is what you would expect for such low price. The staff is affable and talkative (provided that you speak Japanese). However, I found that the rooms (located in a different building) lacked a bit of comfort. More strangely, I could not find how to switch off the light that is in the room's alcove (even though I live in Japan and am well familiar with the electrical system) and had to sleep with it on all night. Also, I fond the neighboring guests (at lest two separate parties) to be unusually noisy, even for that price range of accommodation. It is not the staff's fault of course but the rooms being located a certain way off from the main building, I did not want to have to dress up and brave the rain to make a complaint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Very Accommodating, Hospitable, and Traditional

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Traditional Style, Cleanliness, Privacy, and the Friendly staff.
Cons: I just wish this Ryokan was a little closer to the main parts of Kyoto, but honestly, once you learn how to access the buses and taxis its not bad
Location: There are some Shrines near by that are pretty sweet, and of course the main parts of Kyoto are about 20-30 minutes out.
Hello All, During my stay in Japan i ended up sleeping in 7 different places ranging in different styles and exclusivity. This Ryokan was one of my favorite stays. The staff here made sure to make us feel welcome, comfortable, and confident. We had no tour guide and I knew very little Japanese, once Miya (One of the main staff) recognized that she went out of her way to make sure we knew what to do and where to go. If in Kyoto I highly suggest staying here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 長崎市

節約は美徳と感じられるワールドワイドで良心的なホテル

Posted Jan 13, 2015
シンプルに寝泊まりするには適した場所と思います。外で思い切り美味しい物を食べたりお金を使うため宿代節約と他のホテルが一杯で予約が取れない為に泊まったが意外と夜良く眠り翌日快調でした。又私以外は当日宿泊者すべて外国人さんでしたが、マナーは意外と良かったですね〜。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by WANLINGfrom 台灣 TAIWAN

很好的經驗 但從京都四条河原町 周六夜 最晚一班車 7:55就要返回旅館

Posted Dec 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
a nice place worthy to visit~however in a warmer season. too cold indoor in winter. Nice garden view and nearby area is fine. 不錯的地方 建議連住兩晚 位在往高雄方向的郊區 有時間附近環境走路閒晃也不錯. 庭園風景很好 但溫暖一些的氣候再到訪 冬天房間內有點冷
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by SANGYONGfrom korea

좋습니다 전체적으로

Posted Dec 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
위치가 교토시내랑 멀어서 교통비가 좀 들어간다는 거 빼고는.. 이만한 가격에 이 정도면 정말 좋은 여관이라 생각합니다.. 물론 10만원 20만원이상의 료칸만큼은 아니겠죠.. 하지만 이 가격에 료칸에서 체험할 수 있다는.. 꽤 좋은 경험이 됐습니다 ㅎ
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Wingfrom HK

人間天堂

Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
根本人間天堂...除了地點比較偏遠了一點 很美的庭園,超舒服的塌塌米,人超好的各位人員 餐飲也是超棒的~ 冬天的話去洗澡要很大勇氣.. 但房內的暖腳燈和茶具令人覺得像住在自己家一樣 一整個超喜歡的...一定會再去! 題外一下,旅館內的京人形超級美啊!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by SANGYONGfrom korea

좋습니다

Posted Dec 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
전체적으로 좋았습니다, 저렴한 가격에 료칸에서 좋은 체험을 할 수 있어서 좋았습니다 다음에 일본에 또 가게 된다면 여기서 숙박하고 싶습니다 ㅎ
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

不推荐!

Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
老板人很好, 给我们换了房。 但是床垫是潮湿的, 被子重的很!接待的那栋楼最旧, 而且有难闻气味, 清洁度也不行。可能是家族管理的原因吧! 建议老板可以换被褥了!