Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Helsinki, Finland

Beautiful Ryokan. Wonderful Gardens

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: The location seems to be far from the city, but actually it is very easy to take the buses in different points of the cities.
A real Japanese experience. The staff were very kind, they have information on the buses and other things. The service is very good, the breakfast is great, the offer the Japanese and western breakfast and both are very good and not expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carolyn from Brisbane

Real Japanese experience

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Real experience of Japanese culture. I went with my daughter and grand daughter.
Cons: English speaking
Location: Short bus ride to city or to Kinkaku-ji Temple
This was a great experience with a taste of the Japanese sleeping and eating life style. We had the traditional Japanese breakfast and evening meals on site. The rural area provided access to a beautiful experience only a few bus stops away in the area of Kinkaku-ji Temple.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan from Switzerland

Lovely ryokan

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Really nice ryokan. Very near from nice temple and shrine! Has a bus stop from JR so with my JR Rail pass bus was free :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Shiva from Melbourne Australia

Great guesthouse experience

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: The rooms and the gardens.
Location: Takao nature walks were superb but some climbing invovled so need to be moderately fit. Close to Zen temples.
Great place to stay, clean with helpful staff including an English speaking staff, beautiful gardens and reasonably priced and delicious home style food. transport to downtown Kyoto was an issue as there are only two bus lines which run every 30 minutes and less frequently on weekends and evenings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lou Burdman from Kyoto, Japan

Nice facility a little off the beaten path

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed our stay, though iy was somewhat difficult sleeping on the floor. Staff was helpful, and, and food at attached restaurant was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sarah

Our favorite!

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
We absolutely loved staying at Ryokan Yamazaki! The owners went above and beyond to make us comfortable, the ryokan and surrounding location was gorgeous, and the cost was very reasonable. We were also able to get a good meal at the ryokan for a decent price. The only thing that people might consider a downside to this place is that it is not conveniently located. Between the JR train and a taxi or bus from Hanazono Station, it takes about 30 minutes to get from Kyoto's main station to the ryokan. If you don't mind it being a little out of the way (which was exactly what we were wanting), then you should definitely give this place a shot!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leny from Philippines

RYOKAN YAMAZAKI

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: The serenity of the place. They have a restaurant. The annex has better accommodation facilities and a bigger garden.
Cons: More Information regarding its accessibility
Location: Quite a walk to convenience shops and not so frequent scheduled stops of the bus at the Takahana station.
Mr. Yamazaki was very helpful because he could speak good English. He was very accommodating and helped us with our concerns. Had we known it was accessible by a one-ride bus to Kyoto station, we could have stayed longer. Maybe, that would be very helpful to all those who would like to stay more information on accessibility to the place. We went to the place by train and by bus which was a long route. We could have saved on transit time and enjoyed the place longer. Overall, we liked our stay in the ryokan. The garden was so picturesque!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by S from Salt Lake City, UT USA

A Quiet and Relaxing Place with Welcoming Staff

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: We felt it was a unique experience that you should have when visiting Japan. The cost was reasonable as well.
Cons: The western style breakfast is very simple, toast, coffee or tea, and one egg. It could be improved with fruit or fruit juice.
Location: We were able to walk to the Daikaku-ji shrine about two miles from the ryokan through residential streets and farms.
We had never stayed in a Ryokan before and wanted to try one. We booked a deluxe room with our own private bathroom for 3 nights. You take your shoes off when entering the building and leave them downstairs. There was wifi in the common area with a table and pillows for sitting on. The room was simply furnished with tatami mats, soft futons for sleeping, a small TV, a table and hot water kettle for tea. . We used the common area for planning our days activities. There is a restaurant located on-site, so we had the western style breakfast in the morning for convenience and if we needed any other refreshments there was a family mart nearby. One night we had dinner at the restaurant and it was very good and reasonably priced. You should be aware when booking this Ryokan that it is located in a residential area on the northwest side of town. We did a lot of walking to get to bus stops and when we were tired or lost we took taxis.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Harry from Singapore

Nice but too off the city

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Its setting and area, quiet and very beautiful.
Location: Strolling around during autumn would be great.
I have been staying here for one night. It's truly a ryokan and I enjoyed it that way (even though I don't like shared bathroom). Room was clean, the garden was beautiful and I have no complaint about staff. The only downvote is its location, a little far from the city and attractions. Having said that, the scene in that area will be very beautiful during autumn. I was too relying on the One-day bus pass, but that pass doesn't include JR bus, which is the fastest way to go to the hotel. It took me one hour and a half from Kyoto Station to reach the hotel (2 buses, one of them ran hourly). I took JR Bus when going back to Kyoto Station (consulted by the staff) and only needed 30 minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Les from Sydney

Nice traditional accommodation

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The owners are very friendly and the elderly woman speaks english. She is so kind. We were aware that the hotel's location is not central, which was no problem at all, as we stayed 2 nights in Kyoto close to Gion and spent the next 2days here. There are nearby attractions to check out even on foot, this is what we have done on our first stay and took the train on the second to Arashiyama. We had a nice stay, the only negative was the bathroom being outside and our cold can of caffe latte went missing from the fridge after the first night. Bizarre but not important.