Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

People

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is located at center of all attractions of Kyoto. Great places to meet really adventurous people. Service is great. Safe place to stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Therese

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dee from Canada

Great

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Location: 30 Minute walk from the JR station, close to museum, aquarium, temples, and mountain for hiking
Had a great stay here over several days. Super friendly staff & Good food. Definitely will stay there on my next visit to Kyoto.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kyle from Portland, OR

First hostel experience - loved it.

Posted Dec 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Santiago was a great experience - this was my first time staying in a hostel, and I had very low expectations. Even if I hadn't expected nothing, this was still better than almost any motel/hotel I've ever stayed in. It was clean, the beds were very comfortable, and the service staff was great. I would definitely stay here again, and plan on it, next time I'm in Kyoto.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jennifer Kim from College Point NY

Good location.

Posted Nov 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel was near the bus stop and you could take multiple different buses to Kyoto station. It was also near Kiyomizudera and within 15 minute walking distance of the Gion area. The dorm bed could fit two people and it felt like you were in your own room once you had the curtains drawn. The cafe downstairs was really nice and you could sit there from 6 pm without buying anything if you wanted some light and space to plan for the next day. The only downside was that you had to pay to use their towels and that you had to go downstairs to use the showers. The showers were really tiny and you had to open the door partially if you wanted to turn around. The staff was really nice and you could buy the one day bus pass directly from them.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fadilah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Hollie from Oregon, USA

Posted Nov 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was my first time ever staying at a guesthouse and it was much better then I thought it would be. The location is great! Right down the hill from the Kiyomizu temple and just around the corner from the Gojozaka bus stop. The beds were clean and comfortable and there was wifi on all floors! It's a great little place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Very convenient and clean

Posted Sep 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
The guesthouse was very neat and clean. Very good location as the path to the famous temple is just opposite the temple. The bus stop for major buses in Kyoto that bring you to almost all tourist spots is literally just one minute walk from the guesthouse. Staff was very helpful and friendly too. Would definitely come back for seconds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Tori from Usa

Santiago Guesthouse

Posted Aug 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Santiago Guesthouse is such a gem in the middle of the wonderful Kyoto. The location is within a 10 minute walking distance of Gion and there are many shrines worth visiting within a mile radius of the hostel. Very clean, wonderful staff, and the showers were to die for after a long day of site seeing! A wonderful experience overall!