Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Stayed there 2 nights, it's more like a family inn than a business hotel, the owner is very kind and helpful, speaks English. The facility is a little bit old, just like an old uncle's house, but that's ok for tourists like us, most of the time we are out in the city.
1 out of 5
by Cindy from Singapore

The room is very dirty and pillow is smelly

Posted Oct 17, 2013
Pros: Free Wifi
Cons: Clean sheets, clean rooom please
Location: Near Kyoto station
Lousy. Really dissapointed with the overall cleaniness
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dina from Toronto

Station Ryokan Seiki

Posted May 25, 2013
It is what you pay for. Cleanliness could be better. Very convenient location, steps to Kyoto Central Station for a fraction of the price for a family of five.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

On vacation? Or under arrest?

Posted Mar 28, 2013
The Tatami floors were filthy. The place had foul odors of smoke. Felt like a cross between a Japanese prison and hospital- with the constant coughing and sneezing from every direction. Also internet did not work- had to leave to locate a place with working wi-fi. It seems not that the owners are bad people- it's just that they simply do not care.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Manda

okay.. could've been better

Posted Jan 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were excited to stay at a traditional place, and settled on the Seiki Ryokan. It was quite "modern" considering that we were looking for traditional... complete with tvs, elevator, etc, etc. But we still enjoyed the experience. The couple running the ryokan were VERY friendly, they were the BEST part about staying at this location. The location was great, short walk to the main station. Unfortunately our bedding was quite old & somewhat discoloured; it put me off a little bit, but it had still been laundered and was probably "clean" .
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Irish aged traveller

Great location but I would not put a dog in it.

Posted Nov 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
This place lists itself as an Ryokan but it is really is not. Noisy, unpainted, old mattresses and lumpy pillows with a duvet that actually looked like a dog used to sleep on it. The only upside is the location, which is three minutes walk from the railway station. I suppose if you are in your 20's this place would be "cool, man ".
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Katherine

Close to train station

Posted Nov 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
It is my first time to stay in a hotel owned by the local. Nice host that speaks a little English. It is convenient to move around the city by bus. I wish they can provide a firmer pillow so that we can have a better sleep. The overall experience was good. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Edmund T

Comfortable room

Posted Jul 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
Although the lobby and movement within the hotel building was very cramped, the hotel room itself is comfortable and spacious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Shruti

Close to Kyoto station

Posted Jun 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel is located very close to the Kyoto station.