Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cali Bradberry from Boise Idaho

Great Hotel

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Loved the Screen. Dinner there was AMAZING. Service was great. Would definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Docboc from Bavaria

Modernistic hotel in the heart of Kyoto

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Pros: The decor and service.
Location: Its near the Imperial Palace, but not much to see otherwise, in terms of "tourist" attractions. There are a few restaurants in the area.
From the moment we entered the lobby to the restaurant, the bar, and the room, we were struck by the simple elegance of the decor. We'd booked a semi-suite room but were upgraded to an Executive Suite room. This was a huge suite, but we found the decor a little over the top. The walls were red, black, and orange, and the ceiling was also dark. Plus, there was no window in the living room, which made us feel a bit claustrophobic. We had dinner at the restaurant, and the food was absolutely delicious, and the service impeccable. All in all, this was a true boutique hotel experience--no swimming pool, no gym, no sauna, but warm, hospitable staff and with unique decor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Joan from Kyoto

exceptional for running the Imperial Palace ground

Posted Oct 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
High quality hotel offering huge rooms, beautifully appointed. Quiet location and friendly staff. Our special treat to ourselves, as we do not usually stay at hotels of this calibre. Not overly expensive (North American standards) considering the quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Aleks from Toronto, Canada

Unique, classy, conveninent yet off beaten track

Posted Oct 18, 2013
Pros: The rooms were very classy and unique.
Cons: Availability of a hot tub, gym, sauna, or steam room.
Location: Location was excellent - close to imperial palace and away from the immediate crowded Kyoto center.
Hotel staff was very accommodating! It was one of the most unique boutique hotels I have been to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by yoko-sf from San Francisco

not your boring hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great neighborhood, funky rooms, complementary beverages upon check-in, rooftop bar is nice, one block from famous Ippodo Tea Shop
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great boutique hotel!!

Posted Jul 27, 2013
Excellent boutique hotel right next to the Imperial Palace Gardens. Most attentive hotel staff I've ever encountered. Some reviews say that the staff have poor English but my partner and I had no problems at all and we don't speak japanese. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and would definitely recommend this hotel to those wanting a unique experience in Kyoto.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mattars from dubai

Great designer hotel. Helpful staff.

Posted Jul 24, 2013
The rooms are very nice very well equipped. The entertainment system is really cool. We stayed in the suit. It was really spacious. The staff helped us on various occasions in getting us reservations and restaurents suggestions And bookings. They made our stay very enjoyable. The location if the hotel is really central. We also enjoyed the small boutiques on the hotel street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Duncan from Australia

Great stay

Posted Jun 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our room was amazing, blending modern hotel comfort with a traditional Japanese feel. The staff were very friendly / helpful and were able to communicate in English pretty well. The location was great, with many quaint little shops, restaurants and bakeries surrounding the hotel. However you will need to walk a few blocks to get to either the subway or the main shopping areas but this wasn't an issue for us as there is so much to see on the way.
3 out of 5
by Reviewer from Australia

Quirky hotel - take care which room you book

Posted May 27, 2013
Pros: Good location Good amenities provided in room
Cons: Room 101 a bit run down No wi-fi in room
This hotel is a bit quirky and certainly worth a considering if you're looking for somewhere unusual to stay. The location is quite good to access the main shopping district, and has a good selection of local restaurants. The hotel and room was clean and the amenities were excellent, however, we stayed in room 101, which feels a bit tired and run down.