Ratings based on 202 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Words fail me

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything it was that bad had to move to tower hotel
Location: No local amenities close by will have to travel 20-25 minutes to Barcelona by bus or train.
I cannot recommend this hotel it's not a 5 star as listed requires a major revamp.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st Albans, England.

Convenient location for airport and city.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The rooms were clean and comfortable and the shower was fantastic. Air conditioning worked well although a little noisy at times.
Cons: The equipment supplied with the kitchenette. There was no kettle or glass tumblers. A small kitchen knife would also have been helpful.
Location: There are bus stops and Metro station within easy walking distance. The main hotel pool and gym facilities are expensive.
We felt we knew what to expect of the Fira Suites, having read lots of reviews. Our arriving flight at Barcelona was delayed so we missed the free hotel shuttle. However there is a great train an bus service into the city and the No 46 bus drops you off outside the hotel. You have to check in at the Hesperian Tower hotel which is next to the suites. The staff were all friendly and spoke good English. The facilities at the main hotel are very expensive. We found a local little shopping street nearby, across the road and were able to have a drink or coffee and pastries. We also bought provisions from the local mercado. The room we very clean and comfortable and the shower was fantastic. We had a toaster but not a kettle which was frustrating - we heated water for tea in the microwave! The hotel has a No 46 bus stop outside which can take you as far as the Placa Despanya but the real gem of where the Fira Suites are situated is the L1 metro stop which is a five minute walk away but be warned - it is situated in the hospital car park! Look out for the red Metro sign. Tickets to travel are cheap and the network is comprehensive. We had asked for a room with a balcony but when we checked in our room did not have one. We complained and moved to a balcony room the next day. The views are not photogenic. We had a great view of the university and hospital across the road!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stevenage, England

Very nice hotel!

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Room was nice and comfortable. Ambiance was really lovely and made you feel at home, if that's possible! I would defintely stay here again.
Cons: The Bouquet restaurant is unnecessarily expensive and the food/service is not good. My husband and I were made to feel very unwelcome.
Location: Close to Metro. There's a local restaurant - La Flama - not too far away; visit for a nice Spanish meal. A handful of basic shops around as well.
My husband and I stayed at the Fira suites Had a 1 bedrm suite plus kitchenette - lovely. Food/Dining: I highly recommend getting a breakfast-inclusive package. The food served at breakfast - buffet style - was one of the best I have eaten at any hotel. Great variety of food, nice waiters who offer you tea/coffee when you walk in, lovely ambiance :) HOWEVER, if you want to have a nice, relaxing dinner, please do to attempt to visit the Bouquet restaurant (think its on the 14th floor of the Hesperia Towers). My husband and I had a very nasty experience. We had called from our room at the Fira suites and made a dinner reservation for two. On getting there, the host did not make us feel welcome at all! I imagined he felt we won't be able to afford the restaurant, so he told us we had an option of seating at the bistro and having a cheaper meal. We were so appalled. For crying out loud, we had called to to make a reservation for a proper dinner! Anyway, I regret that we did not leave right at that moment. After he gave us 1 menu to stare at and decide if we want to do bistro or main restaurant, he walked away and left us standing by the counter for about 5 mins. Long story short, the food was not commensurate with the amount we paid. The host was quite mechanical throughout out dinner.. at some point, he took our wine glasses off the table just because we hadn't asked for any wine! How rude! Honestly, it was as if he wanted us to just leave. Miserable dinner experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich UK

Good hotel within easy reach of Barcelona.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Space in apartment. Marvellous breakfasts. Excellent staff.
Cons: The self-catering facilities need to be fully supplied. No wine glasses, no corkscrew, one saucepan with loose handle, no kettle, no small plates etc.
Location: Drab. Like a Council housing estate, and rather run down. Lots of litter and graffiti. Basic eating only. One medium size supermarket.
Helpful staff. Plenty of room in apartment, but not fully supplied with cooking, eating, and drinking equipment for those who wish to use these facilities. Excellent breakfasts in main hotel adjoining. Buses and metro to and from central Barcelona within easy walking distance. Small local eating places very near, but limited menus and fairly basic. Area rather drab (estate apartment blocks, and everything rather run down) but good for local atmosphere, with plenty of locals about the place. I'd suggest a main meal in Barcelona during the day and a few drinks/tapas locally in the evening, or you could do a light meal in the apartment (supermarket very near). Take your own corkscrew!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire

Good and bad

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Room was clean
Cons: Make charges and facilities clearer. Staff could be more helpful and engaged.
Location: Location is very convenient for the airport but not so much for the city although there is a metro stop very close to the hotel.
Ok, upgraded room to one with a balcony which was the best decision we made. Staff not very helpful or friendly. Extra's such as charges to use the pool where not made clear. Good that there is a shuttle to the airport and city centre but limited times, morning or evening for the town. Good public transport (metro) located nearby. All in all, ok but definitely not fantastic. Due to the location I feel this hotel is probably more suited to business travellers and I think the weekend prices are reflective of this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Posted Jul 16, 2014
We found the rooms spacious and well furnished. the staff was excellent and the Housekeepping was wonderful. Liked the facility....beautiful lobby and the restaurant - although expensive - was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shetland

Nice hotel near airport and metro

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Very nice hotel, would highly recommend to anyone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Far from Downtown Barcelona

Posted Jun 27, 2014
The hotel was nice, not super clean. You can't expect much for the price. I wouldn't it recommend if you want to spend your time knowing Barcelona, it's 30 minutes away and at night it's lonely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic apartment.

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: N/A
Cons: The following need to be provided, a kettle, draining board and some mugs and larger glasses.
Location: The location is quite isolated a 3 stop ride on the Metro to Rambla Just Oliveras for the nearest suburb for a variety of good bars and restaurants.
It was overall very positive. We liked the apartment. It was spacious and well furnished. The staff were friendly and helpful, cleaning was always thorough. The location was near (5 mins walk, yes really) to the beginning of the Metro Line 1 Hospital de Belivige which was convenient for getting into the city which took about 20 minutes.