Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

2 night stopover

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Modern well furnished bedroom (comfortable bed), with air conditioning, opening windows, small desk, TV and in in-room safe. Lift to our 3rd floor.
Cons: Our included breakfast was acceptable but basic.
Location: walking the old town, and observing the arriving pilgrims
Very clean and comfortable hotel within easy walking distance of old town. Public off street parking nearby (at reasonable cost). Supermarket within a few doors of hotel which is opposite Parliament building. Many good restaurants and bars in old town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from liverpool

Santiago dC great hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Hotel san carlos is handy for the old town, clean modern and friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel centrally located

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Nice hotel, excellent bathroom, but room was quite small (two beds put together rather than a double). About 10 minute walk to cathedral. Prices seem to fluctuate quite a lot at this hotel. We got a good price and were basically happy with what we got.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Bernadette Boylan from Dublin

within walking distance of all must see sights

Posted Oct 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
loved every single minute of my stay in Santiago de Comspostella
5 out of 5
Recommended
by SB from Cleveland Ohio

Very comfortable. Near attractions. Clean. Quiet

Posted Oct 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very glad I chose San Carlos for my visit to Santiago. Easy walk to St. Peter's and camino walkers. Came in on the train from Porto. Easy walk from train station to hotel.
2 out of 5
by Tim C from Texas

Not As Advertised

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Pros: The female receptionist who worked the after 5pm shift on October 6, 2013.
Cons: The lack of concern by the gentleman working the counter on October 6, 2013 before 5pm.
Location: The location was fantastic and easy access to the Cathedral.
I checked into my room and found the AC to be inoperable. I referred the problem to the desk who claimed to have fixed the problem electronically (remote AC system). It did not work. I went back down to the desk to find a new receptionist who knew nothing of the issue. All this happened within ten minutes. The female receptionist worked diligently to fix the problem. She was an asset. I moved rooms only to find the AC barely operational, the carpet dirty and the room very dated. At this point, I called it for what it was: a bad choice in hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Martin from London

All generally fine. Helpful staff.

Posted Sep 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
All generally fine. The staff were helpful, and when I wanted to extend my stay beyond the original booking they were very accommodating. Only negatives were that the breakfast was somewhat limited, and the location was further from the old town than ideal (though close to railway station, which is good if you've got heavy luggage)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location but not so good bed!

Posted Aug 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
It is a very well located hotel to get access to Santiagos' centre. The hotel has no parking of its own but there are two public parking (x2) just a few yards away from which you will get a reduced rate by having your parking ticket stamped at the hotel. Breakfast was included and varied. Staff was friendly and obliging. The room was big enough for the both of us, clean but the bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable (bad backache next morning!!!)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Martin from Santiago

Posted Jul 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Pilgramage