Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Room was for the State Track Meet at UW LaCrossse

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Updated carpeting
Location: Surrounded by many restaurants and bars. Near the river & close to UW LaCrosse
Amazingly I was able to get this room the night before I needed it, most other hotels were completely sold out but this was available on Expedia. It was a little more than I wanted to pay however I got a suite and I was desperate for a room. The facility & room were nice but nothing spectacular. The location is great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2015 by Ray, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are currently undergoing renovation to bring all of our rooms above and beyond the standard here in Downtown La Crosse. We already have brand new bathrooms in all of our rooms and we are making preparations for the finished rooms which will be done within the next few months! We hope to see you at next years State Track meet to see our finished product. Have a wonderful day! Sincerely, Ray Assistant General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Stay nice, but very frustrated with restaurant.

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable.
Cons: New staff needs to be hired to deal with catering at the restaurant. Very frustrating to try and book anything. Glad we went elsewhere!
Location: Within walking distance to many of the bars and shopping.
Our room was very nice and comfortable. However I was very disappointed in the staff at Busters restaurant. I had called a couple months in advance to try and schedule a rehearsal dinner. I left several messages and never received a return phone call. Apparently they didn't need the business. The morning of my son's wedding we did stop to have breakfast/lunch about 11:00am. We were the only ones in the restaurant. We were told that we would need to pick either breakfast or lunch. The food took a long time to come and was not very impressive when we did get it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2015 by Ray, Hotel Management
Thank you so very much for your review! I am glad to hear that your room experience was pleasant. I want to extend to you my apologies for the inconvenience and misfortune you experienced in our restaurant. I will be sure to take the necessary actions to ensure that this will not happen to any more guests. I appreciate you giving us this opportunity to improve ourselves. I hope you have a wonderful day, and should you ever return to La Crosse again, we would love the opportunity to make your stay exceptional. Sincerely, Ray Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WI

Great location!

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: Wish they had a shuttle to get you to places a little further and breakfast included
Location: The La Crosse Queen cruise was a great time and all of the local bars are fun
The best part of this hotel is the location compared to downtown and the river. It was a decent room, but it was so nice to walk a block and be home at night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pricey cost for what you get

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Rooms were dated... and smelled terrible of cigarette smoke.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay stay

Posted Apr 1, 2015
The hotel is nice and located in a great spot. They do not offer ANY type of breakfast and the hot tub was a cool tub. The room was nice but nothing special. Location is definitely the best feature.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Donald from Mukwonago

Good times at LAX

Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels
Our stay was very short (only one night), but we had a very nice time at the hotel pool, and the room was big and comfortable. We would definitely stay there again. The location right in town was great for walking to restaurants and bars. Parking was very limited in the hotel lot.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2015 by Ray, Hotel Management
Dear Donald, Thank you so much for your review! I am glad to here that you enjoyed our pool and our rooms! We do our best to ensure that our guests receive the fullest satisfaction during their stay. Although parking is limited downtown, we do our best to ensure that every guest has a parking space available in our designated spaces, which is why we have rented spaces in the parking structure next door. If you ever come back and we don't have a parking space available for you in our designated spaces, we would be more than happy to accommodate you and help resolve the issue in every way possible. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you next time, here at the Holiday Inn & Suites of La Crosse. Sincerely, Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burnsville MN

Great hotel downtown.

Posted Mar 9, 2015
I had a very good check-in experience. The staff was very friendly and informative. The room was located on the first floor. It was very clean and the beds were very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Ray, Hotel Management
Dear ThunderMN, Thank you so much for your review! It is our mission to equip all of our staff with every tool we can, to ensure the best experience Downtown La Crosse has to offer. If you ever return to the area we would love to serve you again, here at the Holiday Inn & Suites of Downtown La Crosse! Sincerely, Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Charles from Milwaukee

A cold winters night

Posted Mar 5, 2015 on Hotels
Had a wonderful stay. Hotel is close to everything you need. It was clean comfy and friendly . Would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2015 by Ray, Hotel Management
Dear Charles, I have to say how thankful I am for your review. I am so very glad to hear that you greatly enjoyed your stay! Our location is second to none when it comes to Downtown La Crosse in my opinion, and I am also glad to know that our staff was able to service you to your fullest satisfaction. Should you ever return to the area, we would enjoy the opportunity to serve you again! Sincerely, Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Neil from Black River Falls

Downtown La Crosse, nice place to stay.

Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels
It was a fun place to stay for a night out with the wife, the staff was very friendly, the hotel mood was festive. The room was very comfortable and clean. This hotel is right downtown La Crosse, almost in the center of everything. My wife and I parked the car in the parking ramp, and there it stayed until we left La Crosse. Coffee shops were close by, many great places to eat, and right across the street from the La Crosse Center. The "Buster's Grill" in the hotel was a nice place to eat.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2015 by Ray, Hotel Management
Dear Neil, I could not have said it better myself. Thank you so much for your review! Should you and your wife ever need another night out, we would love to see you again at the Holiday Inn & Suites of Downtown La Crosse! Sincerely, Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Business trip

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Very close to the meeting place.
The hotel staff was courteous and answered every question I asked. Not too happy with the $5.per day parking charge.