Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Scottish Inn, Sparta, WI

Posted May 21, 2014
Cons: Fluffier pillows.
We liked the room. It was clean and seemed to have recently been remodeled. The only drawback was location: within a couple of blocks of the railroad tracks. Four trains went through during the night. Would have liked fluffier pillows. Overall, very good place.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by harry from minnesota

our stay

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: price
Cons: as i said, a vent fan would help and either add breakfast or quit advertising it.
no continental breakfast as advertised and no vent fan in bathroom. after shower had to wait half an hour for mirror to unfog to comb hair. also, the manager took best parking spot for himself.
1 out of 5
by Patrick from Michigan

You get what you pay for.

Posted Nov 21, 2013
Pros: Nothing, beware you get what you pay for. Knew better but figured I would give it a try due to price and location. Planned stay was very short.
Cons: Customer service. Due to snow storm was stuck in prior town as roads were closed and requested refund but refused. Other chains wouldn't be a problem.
Location: Did not explore area as plan was to only to stay long enough for nights sleep, then on the road again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Minnesota

nice for the price

Posted May 31, 2013
Pros: affordable, close to trail.
Cons: small, older (ok shape) chairs etc.
Location: A little noisy, but close to a little drive in restaurant, parks etc. ..easy to find.
This is an older place with very small rooms, but mine was very clean with a newer TV and the staff very nice. It is also close to a park and the bike trail. "Nice for the price".
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Travel On By This One.

Posted Apr 18, 2013
This motel of 1950s vintage has been sustained beyond its useful life. WHile the bed and sheets were clean and comfortable, the towels were ancient and hardly absorbent. Overpriced for the experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by amy from Sparta, WI, USA

couples

Posted Apr 15, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Loud vehicles
Good experience there bed wasn't the most comfortable
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel review from traveling comedian

Posted Jun 28, 2012
I stayed at the Scottish Inn while doing a comedy show in Sparta, WI. It was old fashioned but clean and the staff had a language problem but they seemed friendly. It was what I expected from an economy hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eddy from North Liberty, IA

Pleasant Surprise

Posted Sep 28, 2011
We found this while looking for a place to stay during Oktoberfest in La Crosse. It was a great deal, they had amenities like a microwave, blow dryer, and iron, were upgraded to a king size bed, and it was quiet and comfortable. The owner was friendly and concerned for our comfort.
2 out of 5
by Eileen from Madison, WI area

Not At All Impressed

Posted Aug 2, 2011
Room was musty/moldy . . . I had to go to Walgreens and purchase air freshener. My socks were black just walking on the damp carpet . . . said WiFi in room but only 1 bar and could not get any service at times. No outlets available near table to plug in laptop . . .Found on outlet behind matress that already had two extensions cords plugged into it but no outlet cover and prongs were bent and touching matress. TV had cable channels as advertised but most channels did not have any volume. There was not ANY counter space in bathroom-just the edge of a small single sink. Bed claimed to be queen, but I have my doubts as I have a queen at home - bed was supported by plywood and 1x4's. There was a gap all the way around the door to the outside so bugs, heat and cigarette smoke coming in - no soundproofing between rooms, could hear people on both sides talking and hear their TV, Outside the office area was 'trash' and I mean scrap metal piled, a 4-wheeler stacked with junk . . . hotel right at main intersection which was convenient, however had semi's brake shifting all night long (1st stop light coming into town from interstate) It is NOT a facility that I'd ever return to or recommend to anybody else. Was not worth paying money for . . .
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from janesville wis

good family run motel

Posted Jun 15, 2011
this is a good place to stay that isnt expensive