Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff. Good location.
Location: Ladd Marsh has great bird watching
Fine hotel. Train noise but I think everything in the vicinity would experience that.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Can't believe this motel was rated #2 in LaGrande

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: Price. Wifi was good
Cons: Just about everything else
I chose this motel because it had the #2 rating on Tripadvisor after the Best Western which was about $90 more a night and seemed very overpriced. The person who checked me is looked disheveled and not that interested in what he was doing. The bed was uncomfortable and poorly made with many wrinkles in the bottom sheet. The TV was so low quality it was unwatchable. The bathtub drain did not work properly. I stayed 2 nights and housekeeping did not replace towels or make the bed as I am used to at other places. I have stayed other places that were fixed up older motels and quite comfortable and not much more money but this place is not even trying. It's just an old, cheap motel. I needed to leave at 4:30 AM and a police cruiser came through the parking lot checking me out. Someone may have called them.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

A Place to Stay the Night

Posted Apr 24, 2013
The evening desk person who checked us in did her job, but lacked a warm, welcoming manner. When we told her we had a room, she was like, "Oh? You do? How did you get it?" (Expedia). Also, her attempts at small talk were more creepy than friendly. It was just my sister and me traveling; she asked us our ages, commented on how young we were, asked if we were by ourselves. Perhaps we were unsettled because we've watched Taken and she was foreign. (Indian, maybe?) The room was clean and the beds comfortable. However, both bath towels had holes in them. The location is nice in that it is on the same street as Safeway and downtown. I didn't sleep well. There were train whistles throughout the night. I did appreciate the breakfast munchies in the lobby (bananas, mini muffins, and pastries).
3 out of 5
by Brandon from Idaho, USA

eh....not to great

Posted Apr 14, 2013
Pros: NA
Cons: sleep number beds
Location: in town
the beds were very uncomfortable and hard to adjust the settings to a comfortable one. the shower ceiling was damaged and cracking and the wallpaper was scotch taped together in room 254
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Snowbird

Should have stayed somewhere else

Posted Apr 5, 2013 on Hotels
We stayed at the Royal on our return home from the winter away. Although the price was reasonable, we had to pay an additional amount to have a ground floor room. Although there were new beds, comfy, the amenities were lacing - no coffee maker, no hair dryer, no paper or pen to use. Housekeeping staff wrote a note to enjoy our stay on the back of a used envelope. There was coffee in the lobby at 7:00 but it was so weak and not hot hardly worth the effort. I no this is a 'bare bones' motel, but we will spend another few $$$ and go somewhere else nex year when we are driving through.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Alice

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 1, 2013 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2013 on Hotels
About what you would expect from a budget hotel. Fine for an overnight stay. Front desk was super helpful, and gave us a queen/double room instead of a double/double. Room was clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Sep 28, 2012
Pros: great location downtown.
Great price. Walking distance to good restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2012 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 9, 2012 on Hotels