Ratings based on 761 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wichita, kansas

Clean hotel great employees

Posted Mar 28, 2015
The hotel was clean and the associates were helpful and friendly. However, the room was small especially the bathroom.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice because walking distance to beach

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Bed was unclean and pool environment small and too close to major street
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom College Station, TX

Very nice hotel, friendly staff, great location

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness, free shuttle service, room view, and quiet.
Cons: Elevators weren't working very well during stay - one out of order, the other felt rather old and slow
Location: Near UC San Diego, the Scripts Institute of Oceanography, the beach, and downtown La Jolla.
Everything was clean, generally very quiet. The valets were very courteous and shuttled me to and from UCSD when asked. Nice view from my room and all services were provided promptly and at a high level.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Delray Beach

Great hotel, nice staff.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Stayed a few days with my husband and it was great. Walking distance to beach and downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by shannon foster, Hotel Management
I am thrilled to see that you and your husband had such a wonderful trip to our hotel Maria! Don't be a stranger...come back and visit again soon. Cheers! Shannon Foster
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom brookline, mass.

4 day get away

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Cons: Fitness equipment and fitness center temperature.
The hotel is funky and very convenient to beach. The hotel staff were so nice. The nightly wine hour was unexpected yet very appreciated. Expect to see more dogs than kids as guests so if you don't like or are allergic to dogs stay away. The fitness center could be better, with only one treadmill and elliptical trainer I had to wait to use them and the room was exceedingly warm. Overall a very nice experience and I would stay there again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Shannon Foster, Hotel Management
Thank you Debbie fro the 4 star review! I'm thrilled to see that you had such a wonderful visit to our hotel and that the team took such wonderful care of you, I may be biased but I think they are the absolute best! We can't wait to welcome you back again soon. Cheers! Shannon Foster
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 78

Tres bien pour qq jours

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Location: Surf diva est une tres bonne ecole de surf qui en plus parle francais. Aller au memorial des veterans pour une belle vue sur San Diego.
Hotel proche de la plage, accueil agreable, belle decoration à l'entree du hall, chambre neuve. Par contre, il faut avoir une chambre en hauteur pour voir la plage et du meme cote il y a une station essence dont la proximite ne gene pas, sauf pour la vue.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Shannon Foster, Hotel Management
Thank you Surf78 for the 4 star review! I hope you'll come back and visit us again when you visit La Jolla! All my best, Shannon Foster
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Wonderful, welcoming staff

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Loves: Coffee, location was perfect for both La Jolla and Dan Diego, ocean view, restaurant on 11th floor and the mussels, Tiki Torch entryway and THE STAFF is superb. Everyone from the top down was helpful and welcoming and kind. Likes: room very nice, beds nice but low, Big TV, Improvements: + 1 towel rack, maybe label light switches? valet sometimes cumbersome as it's not really necessary in this part of town. DNA: didn't use pool, bar or bring pets but looked nice! Weird but ultimately cool: Shower with shade to the room to let in natural light. Definitely coming back!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Shannon Foster, Hotel Management
Thank you Tim for staying with us and for taking the time to write such a lovely review about the hotel. I love that you love our staff, they are our best asset and we are lucky to have each person on our team. Thank you very much for the detailed feedback, especially the areas of opportunity. We are always looking for ways to improve, we will absolutely keep your feedback in mind as we assess our operation. We can't wait to welcome you back! All my best, Shannon Foster
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Darling boutique hotel with the nicest staff ever!

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: The lobby, the view, the cleanliness of rooms, the robes in the closet, and the staff.
Cons: It was perfect.
Location: The beach is a few blocks away. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance.
I have never been treated better by the staff of a hotel. The room was fantastic! All the amenities one could need and the hotel itself is very charming. The view from the restaurant on the 11th floor is amazing. The lobby is very warm and inviting and the attention to detail in this hotel is incredible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Shannon Foster, Hotel Management
Thank you Brownie for this absolutely fantastic 5 STAR Review! I couldn't be more thrilled to receive this feedback. I'm so happy to see that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and that you were able to visit our restaurant as well. We can't wait to welcome you back! Cheers! Shannon Foster
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Their restaurant is excellent and the rooms are big.
Beware, they are pet friendly, so you can be on a room next to a barking dog.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2015 by Shannon Foster, Hotel Management
Thank you vlad for the 4 STAR review! Although we are pet friendly, we do offer rooms on non-pet floors. While we do deep clean all of our rooms once our pet guests depart, if you prefer a room away from pets, feel free to let us know and we'll be happy to block you accordingly during future visits. Cheers! Shannon Foster General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2015
My wife and I stayed at Hotel La Jolla not too long ago. Everyone was very nice, from the valet to the front desk. My wife and I actually just got married, and the hotel was nice enough to bring up a complementary bottle of sparking wine to the room (which actually tasted really good!). The accommodations were stylish and modern. The bathroom was stocked with nice smelling soaps and shampoos and such. The bed was comfortable. The room was quiet. Check out was effortless. Really, we couldn't ask for anything more. We definitely would consider staying there again when visiting the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2015 by Shannon Foster, Hotel Management
Dave from Philly, this is an amazing review - thank you so much! I love everything about what you wrote and couldn’t be happier that you chose us for your post wedding getaway. Please come back and visit us again soon...possibly for your anniversary? We’ll have a bottle of sparkling wine waiting for you. Congratulations! Shannon Foster